• Can Robbie cut the mustard?

Can Robbie cut the mustard?Shane Breslin 10:21:55
    02/12/2008
    Robbie Keane cut a disconsolate figure as he walked off with almost half an hour remaining at Anfield on Monday night. Even at this early stage of his Liverpool career there must be some doubt about his ability to make the grade on Merseyside.With Fernando Torres, the club’s undisputed number one frontman, sidelined by injury, the visit of West Ham presented Keane with a glittering opportunity to stake a claim for a lasting place in Rafa Benitez’s starting line-up.

It was a chance lost, though, as he became the first to bite the Benitez bullet following an anonymous and leaden-footed hour.

As the unproven French youngster David Ngog limbered up on the touchline, the Setanta Sports camera focused on Keane.

Looking disbelieving when his number flashed in the fourth official’s lights, he shook his head in a swirl of anger and frustration on the long walk to the dug-out, to a back-drop of gleeful “What a waste of money” chants from the travelling Hammers.

Perhaps the sight of Ngog, a tall and awkward forward with just half an hour of Premier League experience behind him, was the true source of Keane’s incredulity. Ryan Babel, the gifted but enigmatic Dutchman, would have been the choice of many Reds fans to replace him, but the decision to call Keane ashore could not be disputed.

So, having scored in just one of Liverpool’s 15 Premier League outings this season, and that against bottom club West Brom, what does the future now hold for Ireland’s captain?

He will certainly never receive the sort of service which plays to his strengths, not once Torres and Steven Gerrard remain the forward fulcra of the Liverpool side.

All of Keane’s best performances have come alongside a centre forward foil, whether it was Niall Quinn for Ireland or Teddy Sheringham, Fredi Kanoute and Dimitar Berbatov at Spurs. Ironically, Peter Crouch could have been his perfect partner but the big England international left Anfield two weeks before Keane’s arrival.

Torres, for all his wondrous capabilities, is not that type of player. He is the blueprint of the perfect lone striker, making it a long-shot that the pair will ever work well in tandem.

Indeed, there is a growing body of evidence which suggests that, given a fully fit squad and a big-game scenario, Torres will lead the line ahead of an advanced Gerrard, with Javier Mascherano and Xabi Alonso holding the midfield together.

In that system, there would be no room for Robbie.

After six years at Tottenham, where he shrugged off the journeyman tag to become one of the most coveted strikers in the land, Keane realised a boyhood dream by completing a move to Liverpool in the summer.

But despite Liverpool’s current position at the top of the Premier League table, that dream is beginning to turn sour for Ireland’s record goalscorer. Comments: (Click here to post your comment)1 I think this blog is way over the top. You can look to much into the stats against Robbie. Simple fact is, since the beginning of the season Keane know’s he on that pitch for a mere 60-70 mins max. That surely is affecting his game, Benitez is in someways playing with Robbies head in all the wrong ways. With Torres not fit, surely in the Benefit of LFC Keane should be your main focal for attacks. Gerard is best player in world in my opinion, is Torres is world class? if you cannot play with another striker how can you be ? Can he be coached to play with Robbie ? He done it with David Villa in the summer, why not Robbie ?
    The Goonners - 11:15:39, 02/12/2008 Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

2 The fact is he is getting enough chances to be up there with the top scorers in the premier league yet has only scored to goals and that was in 1 game. I don’t think Robbie is good enough and thats a fact.He runs around like a headless chicken waving his hands in the air all the time it’s ridiculous. I think he would be good in center mid as an attacking midfeilder as everything he gets the ball he lays it off. I think his confidence is gone but i don’t think this is a good excuse for missing the kind of chances he is missing. He has been playing like this for Ireland for years and he should not be the irish captain.
    Mark J - Dublin - 11:44:33, 02/12/2008 Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

3 I think there is a large grain of truth with the above blog. Torres is best-suited to the lone strikers role and Liverpool are alot more effective when they play the one-up-front formation. If Keane can’t play in the hole and needs a foil to hold the ball up for him, then his futures limited at Anfield...Rafa likes to have options. I think he sees Kuyt and Keane as a different way of playing than Torres and Gerard. Kuyt is the ever-present in this arrangement because he is adaptable. I don’t ever see the Torres/Keane partnership working seemlessly. If anything it’ll be Keane who has to change his game to succeed at Anfield. That, and learn to take his chances more ruthlessly when they do come along. Early days but to date he hasn’t convinced he can do either.
    Eddie Singleton - 11:48:42, 02/12/2008 Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Robbies just been found out thats all. He was always over rated IMO. He has been rubbish for Ireland for years. Its a pity. But there ye go.
    Paul DCFC - 12:09:24, 02/12/2008 Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Whats missing is Babel rides the pine over Ngog , Rafas forward subs leaves me baffled , Babel deserves a three game run out.

We need an extra forward, Keane is a waste of money , Obafemi Akinwunmi Martins , Eto , Mido , Yakubu (not injured), Amr Zaki,Darren Bent,Gabriel Agbonlahor , should be targets with a heavy slant on Martins, Eto ,Mido and Zaki .

We will not win the EPL with Robbie Keane playing a central role.Rafa rigid way might cost us a title.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"Peter Crouch could have been his perfect partner but the big England international left Anfield two weeks before Keane’s arrival."'

Wha wrong wid Rafa? Him frighten the forward them or what? how many forwards lighting it up have gone there and fail recently?

Cisse, Belamy, Pennant, the preda start with V, Babel is yet to prove himself, Kuyt is managing but not execptioal.

The only forward who have done wonders is Torres.

Crouch did ok but he was pushed in the backfor most of his time there.

X a question for you

Whats missing is Babel rides the pine over Ngog , Rafas forward subs leaves me baffled , Babel deserves a three game run out.

We need an extra forward, Keane is a waste of money , Obafemi Akinwunmi Martins , Eto , Mido , Yakubu (not injured), Amr Zaki,Darren Bent,Gabriel Agbonlahor , should be targets with a heavy slant on Martins, Eto ,Mido and Zaki .

We will not win the EPL with Robbie Keane playing a central role.Rafa rigid way might cost us a title.
        After reading this article and watching your likkle side so far this season, would you say that your "big" coach Rafa, would love to have Fuller in his team to select over Robbie? Is Robbie a better forward than Fuller?
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Fuller over Robbie a rucks is a rucks irrelevant of the cost ask Shev !

Crouch is a Rucks !

Fuller over Robbie a rucks is a rucks irrelevant of the cost ask Shev !
              I bet the Spurs fans would have a different opinion a year ago; so would Ramos.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

In football you have strikers and supporting strikers.Supporting strikers are not as clinical and are used as the go to guy when the main striker is injured or out with cards, such is Keane , Fuller & Crouch.

The Spurs set up , Keane played off Berbatov, Rafa is forced to use him as the sole striker because of Torres injury.

He just isnt clinical , a supporting striker will always be his role.20 million pound RUCKS ! RAFAs worst buy.

"He just isnt clinical , a supporting striker will always be his role.20 million pound RUCKS ! RAFAs worst buy."

Yuh start contradict yuhself now. I thought Rafa was the best thing since slice bread for you. So was Robbie bought as a supporting striker? Is Fuller being used as a supporting striker or the main striker at Stokes? If Rafa is such a good coach, how is it that Robbie performed much better under Ramos?

Wait .. man a cuss now. Who always complain all dem want is a 20 million quid striker? Unuh get one now.

Wait, what were your comments after KEane was signed again?

"Rafa has made some impressive moves this season . Its ours this season , no question in my mind ."

Nuh waan nuh one claim me a tell lie pon dem. http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...60&postcount=2

Wait ... another bold prediction ..

"Lat season we lost by 3 losses and 2 draws.The addition of keane will give us 4 extra wins and a draw in my estimation, add Barry to it and its 5.

Its ours hands down the treble. ....

Its our time."

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...61&postcount=3

Re read my post .The answer is there about Keane.Fuller is being used by Stoke as to what they can afford.

So good coaches dont buy RUCKS ? Fergie , Wegner , Mourinho etc .Have you ever wondered why they buy , sell and release players?

"He just isnt clinical , a supporting striker will always be his role.20 million pound RUCKS ! RAFAs worst buy."

Yuh start contradict yuhself now. I thought Rafa was the best thing since slice bread for you. So was Robbie bought as a supporting striker? Is Fuller being used as a supporting striker or the main striker at Stokes? If Rafa is such a good coach, how is it that Robbie performed much better under Ramos?
                        Nuh ongle dat ... him never claim dat Keane would be bringing 12 goals to Liverpool?

Still impressive , with the Rucks.

Re read my post .The answer is there about Keane.Fuller is being used by Stoke as to what they can afford.

So good coaches dont buy RUCKS ? Fergie , Wegner , Mourinho etc .Have you ever wondered why they buy , sell and release players?
                            Good coaches nuh buy Rucks? That means Rafa a nuh good coach then? What has been the player turnover at Liverpool since Rafa tek charge? A brothel nuh turn over tricks as much as Rafa. In him next life him should be a pimp.

Well he has 2 , 10 more to go.season nuh done yet.

Keane form will come – Rafa Written by Max Munton on December 2nd, 2008 </B></B>

Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez has backed out of form striker Robbie Keane to find his goalscoring ways, despite a disappointing start to his career at Anfield.
                              The Republic of Ireland international signed for the club from Tottenham Hotspur in a £20million summer move, but has only scored four times and only played three full 90 minutes for the club.
                              But Benitez, who’s team are coming under pressure for not scoring enough with star striker Fernando Torres out injured, believes the chances will come and Keane will put them away.
                              He says, “Robbie is a better player than the one we are seeing now. We know what kind of player Robbie Keane is. He needs people around him to pass the ball well.
                              “I believe he will be okay, he will score more if we create chances for him. But if that does not happen we have to use players with different qualities to open up the game.”
                              Rate this article: