When will Newton Sterling get his callup?

• When will Newton Sterling get his callup?

Davis' strike rescues Tivoli
    published: Monday | November 6, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

Village <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">United</SPAN> and Tivoli Gardens played to an exciting 1-1 draw in their Wray &amp; Nephew National Premier League game at the Edward Seaga Sports Complex yesterday.

Tivoli dominated the first half and created numerous scoring opportunities but failed to capitalise against a very weak Village defensive unit.

Jermaine Taylor, Jameel Thompson and Orane Simpson all missed clear scoring chances.

Village's best chance fell to Dervon Clarke but his effort was just wide of the target.

In the second half, Village's coach Cassman Williams made a number of adjustments to his midfield which paid off when Newton Sterling put them in front with a penalty kick at the 60th minute, after substitute Luke Tate was brought down inside the 18-yard box.

STRAIGHT RED CARD

Ten minutes later, Tivoli's situation got worse when midfielder Steve Green was shown a straight red card for insulting referee Kevin Thomas.

Green was awarded a foul after being brought down. Apparently, he thought the player should have been penalised with a card and launched a tirade against the referee, who pleaded with him to "calm down".

Green, though, continued to prolong the argument and basically left the official with no choice but to eject him.

Despite that, Tivoli continued to fight and secured a point with a goal at the death.

One minute from time, captain Fabian Davis gave Tivoli the equaliser with a spectacular 35-yard right-foot shot which went like a rocket over the head of goalkeeper Leighton Murray.

As a matter of fact, Tivoli should have taken all three points as in time added, the unmarked Taylor got a 'gift', but, with the gaping goal at his mercy, he headed the ball on to the crossbar.

"Well, I am a bit disappointed because we played well up to the point we scored our goal," said Williams. "Our main downfall was after we scored our player relaxed a bit and allowed our opponents to come at us."

Calvert Fizgerald, coach of Tivoli, said: "I am very disappointed because we created a lot of chances which we should have converted and playing at home we needed these three points.

"I think that we dominated the final 10 minutes but our finishing was just off today," added Fitzgerald.

Tivoli Gardens 1

Fabian Davis (89th minute)

Village United 1

Newton Sterling (60th minute)</DIV>

RE: When will Newton Sterling get his callup?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Lucky escape</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>Davis' leveller denies Village victory</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>BY ANDREW HANCEL Observer staff reporter
    Monday, November 06, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Tivoli Gardens ..........................1 Davis (89th) V illage United............................1 Sterling (57th, penalty)<P class=StoryText align=justify>Amagnificent strike at the death by skipper Fabian Davis denied Village United three points against 10-man Tivoli Gardens at the Edward Seaga Sports Complex yesterday, as action continued in the Wray &amp; Nephew National P remier League (NPL).<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=330 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Horace Howell (left) of Tivoli Gardens shields the ball while being tightly marshalled by Village United's Jeff Pearce during yesterday's Wray &amp; Nephew National Premier League game at the Edward Seaga Sports Complex. The game ended 1-1. Photo: Garfield Robinson) </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>W ith the points appearing safe in Village's bag, Davis spoiled the party when he unleashed a powerful shot from 25 yards to score after being gifted acres of space.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Striker Newton Sterling, who had an outstanding game, gave Village a well-deserved lead in the 57th minute from the penalty spot, after Jameel Thompson fouled Luke Tate inside the box.
    Tivoli's Steve Green was given his marching orders by referee Kevin Thomas after earning himself a second yellow card.
    In wet underfoot conditions, Village coped better, and with Sterling leading the charge, proved a handful for the host.<P class=StoryText align=justify>On the half-hour mark, Sterling almost gave his team the lead from their third corner, but his flashing header missed the target by mere inches.
    "I am very, very disappointed in the result today," mourned V illage's coach Cassman Williams. "The central midfielder just wasn't following instructions... all he needed to do was stay behind the football and distribute to the two front-men."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Though Village had more ball possession during the exchanges, it was the host who created the first real scoring chance, when Denroy Gordon's dipping 30-yard free-kick was parried for a corner by goalkeeper Leighton Murray.
    Jermaine Taylor, Tivoli's striker, could have put the game beyond Village's reach with more than a handful of excellent opportunities, the most striking being in time added when his free header from inside the six-yard box sailed over the bar.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Tivoli's head coach ,Calvert Fitzgerald, was a relieved man. "I am very happy for the one point, but as you can see we are just not scoring goals, because right at the death we even got a clear header...," he said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In the Under-21 match-up, Tivoli swamped Village 9-1. T eams: T ivoli - Damion Crooks, Dwight Heron (Nicholas McCreath 78th), Denroy Gordon, Jameel Thompson (Roland Dean 67th), Kasai Hinds, Horace Howell, Victor Thompson, Jermaine Taylor, Oraine Simpson, Fabian Davis, Steve Green. Subs not used: D Pinto, R Murray, D Planter, W Walker, D Johnson Booked: Thompson (30th), Green (62nd &amp; 72nd - ejected) V illage - Leighton Murray, Emeil Thomas, Jeff Pearce, Newton Sterling, Deveron Clarke (Luke Tate 45th), Nigel Ellis, Troy Smith, Sherdon Bryan (Jamie Ramsey 78th), Everett Williams, Omar Allen, Ian McAnuff Subs not used: E Hart, C Williams, E Kingston, A Williams, R Reid Booked: Thomas (51st), Sterling (81st), Tate (90th+) Referee: K evin Thomas Assistants: Garnet Page, Malaki Brown Fourth Official: Delroy Willia

hasnt he played for the national team several times and even travelled with them as well???

He got most of his breaks in the inaugural Digicel Cup campaign, I believe. Since then, not much time from even Wendell! But he is indeed quality, a team player, fast, good ball sense and a good shot. And if you want size, they don't come much bigger. He is taller and stronger than a Nandi Lowe!

In the Digi Cup he got a lot of playing time but didn't really prove his worth and had to play second fiddle to Roland Dean &amp;Teofore Bennet. Perhaps he has now improved and deserve another likkle run. Can't hurt fi throw him on when we 2-0 up in a friendly.