• Harbour View FC praises Brazilian coach

Harbour View praise new Brazilian coach
    Ainsley Walters, Star Writer

JUREIDINI - File WHEREAS the nation has been seething at Rene Simoes for the Reggae Boyz' failure to advance to the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, another Brazilian coach is being hailed by Harbour View's management as the best thing since sliced bread.

http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/...s/sports2.html

Juredini said it was not a situation that local coaches did not know the game, they were simply not professionals.

Creatures of habit
    "We felt much more needed to be done. In the professional world, you see how evolved people are. We all are creatures of habit, operating at the highest level in a Jamaican environment.
    "We also have limitations because our coaches have not been fully exposed to professional environments. It's not that they don't know the game. They do not have have experiences as professional players or coaches.

Professionalism, he said, was sorely lacking.

"It's a complete work day, attracting commitment and professionalism in how you conduct yourself in training," he added.

"We want to expose the players and club to a fully professional environment. We sought the advice of people, who have day-to-day and year-to-year club experience. So, we chose this coach and, so far, he has galvanised the professionalism of the entire club."
    Sometimes, though, I wonder how much professionalism HVFC wants in our football.

Hail up to Clyde and the HV execs for making this step to further professionalise the league (though it's only but one team). It would behoove the other top teams to try and secure the funds/sponsorship in order to to bring more professionalism into their organizations.

Messrs. Bicknell (WH), Seaga (TG), Reid (PMU) and Roberts (AG) should promptly make a similar move. Though, in the case of waterhouse one wonders if they are willing to go the extra mile given their recent refusal to sign Tegat Davis even though Tegat may not necessarily represent the total package of a Waldemar de Oliviera!!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Excellent talk by a man who is attempting to position his club towards advancing in world football!

I am sure Clyde knows it takes more than a 'few matches' (part of one NPL season) to really get on track! ...but good start and good talk!

3rd time is a charm!

Talk about setting the pace, even if the other clubs cannot hire a coach outside of Ja, the word will leak out and the competitive advantage that HV derives from this move, if it does translate to a continued domination of the local scene then a few wins on the Concacaf club scene, then everyone else (who is serious about progress) probably starting with TG and AG will be jumping wagon to copy HV practices.

Tegat is talking about $70,000 per month!?!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Talk about setting the pace, even if the other clubs cannot hire a coach outside of Ja, the word will leak out and the competitive advantage that HV derives from this move, if it does translate to a continued domination of the local scene then a few wins on the Concacaf club scene, then everyone else (who is serious about progress) probably starting with TG and AG will be jumping wagon to copy HV practices.
              If it doesn't translate into some CONCACAF victories, it will not be considered worthwhile. Read Tegat's story:

'Tegat' back with Village
              published: Thursday | November 27, 2008

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Paul 'Tegat' Davis ... I intend to make a difference. - File
              WESTERN BUREAU:
              THE ON-again, off-again love affair between Digicel Premier League (DPL) outfit Village United and former national striker Paul 'Tegat' Davis, who severed ties with the club in August, is on again. Davis, who was recently linked with DPL contenders Arnett Gardens and Waterhouse, returned to the Trelawny team last week, replacing Dr Dean Weatherley, the man who had replaced him after he parted company with Village on the eve of the season.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports1.html

The HVFC coach is making a little more than JA$70,000 a month, so the feeling from many quarters is the results must come, maybe not this year, but certainly by next.

It is not just about hiring outside coaches as other teams have done and the results have not been much better and for some like Waterhouse it got worst.

The thing is hiring the right coach and giving him control to implement real changes.

Some of these clubs with their structure can't change.

The HVFC coach is making a little more than JA$70,000 a month, so the feeling from many quarters is the results must come, maybe not this year, but certainly by next.
                  Less than U$1000.00
                  ...or less than a taxi-driver in New York? ...a 6 day a week...working moderately New York taxi-driver grosses $900.00 per week...exclusive of meals and gas! The gross with meals and gas runs $1200 - $1400 per week.

Unlicensed drivers/unlicensed cars again minus gas & meals - gross a minimum of $120.00 per day (These figures are 1998 figures)

I know I used to drive a cab in New York.

I think you made an error Mosiah?
                  Did you mean J$70,000.00 per week?
                  Last edited by Karl; November 27, 2008, 01:46 PM.

how much the NY Taxi driver pay fi rent or mortgage?

Is there a difference in the cost of living in Ja?

Karl, did I not tell you what Tappa was making as national coach?

I am sure you did...and I know I do not remember!

how much the NY Taxi driver pay fi rent or mortgage?

Is there a difference in the cost of living in Ja?
                          Nuh care wah yuh seh...that TD's/coach's salary still looks very low!

Reliable sources have it at $85,000. Per month!

a few years ago it was for free.