• Arsenal name Fabregas as captain

Gallas's outburst has cost him the captaincy of Arsenal to Fabregas
    Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has chosen 21-year-old Spaniard Cesc Fabregas to replace William Gallas as captain.

Gallas, 31, was stripped of the captaincy for Saturday's 3-0 defeat at Manchester City following controversial comments about his team-mates.

But Wenger revealed the Frenchman will play in the Champions League group game against Dynamo Kiev on Tuesday.

Wenger said: "Fabregas will be the captain, permanently. I do not have to explain to you why."

He added: "I believe the captain is the voice of the club towards the outside, and is one of the leaders of the team.

"However, I do not believe in just one man in the dressing-room who sorts out all of the problems.

No, I do not regret making Gallas the captain in the first place

"A successful team is a shared leadership inside the dressing room. Fabregas will be one of the leaders, but not the only one."

Gallas was widely criticised last week for publicly accusing some team-mates of in-fighting, insulting behaviour and lacking bravery.

His captaincy has been under scrutiny since a game against Birmingham last season when he kicked an advertising hoarding and remained sat down on the pitch for several minutes following the final whistle after Arsenal conceded a late leveller.

He was left out of the squad for Saturday's humbling defeat and forced to train on his own in London, but was back in the fold for Sunday's training session and is set to win back his place in the side.

"Gallas will play on Tuesday, but Cesc will be the captain, I have made that decision," said Wenger.

Asked if he thought he had made a mistake over the appointment of Gallas, he said: "No, I do not regret making him captain in the first place."

Wenger believes Gallas, who signed for the club from Chelsea in August 2006, still has a big future at the Emirates Stadium.

"William is a player that I rate and a man I rate. I have a big respect for him. He was working as captain in a very difficult media environment," said Wenger.

"He was under big pressure from the press and at some stage you do not want that high pressure to affect him or the team. But for the man and player I have a big respect.

"I cannot stop suggestions. For me he is a player who is committed to the club and can be even stronger as a player.

"He took all the problems of the team to his heart. It can be a new start for him and make him stronger."

Fellow French defender Gael Clichy, who was tipped by some to take over as skipper, says he believes Gallas has been harshly treated by the English press since the Birmingham game.

"For seven months we were top of the league and William did not have any critics, but one moment, one game, that is all it took and everything turned then," said Clichy.

"The media have tried to get into peoples' heads, saying he is not good enough, but he has been sensational for us.

"He is a great player and we all want to tell the fans that we respect William a lot, he adds experience to our team and we want to achieve great things together."

Arsenal are already rank outsiders to win the Premier League, lying in fifth place, 10 points behind Chelsea and Liverpool having lost five league games.

The Gunners have picked up only 11 points from a possible 27 and, coupled with the captaincy situation, Wenger has come under increasing scrutiny as their season threatens to fall apart.

But the Frenchman said: "When you do not win, nobody jumps off the roof, but the frustration does kick in.

"It is a good opportunity now for us to show we have strength and ability - you know how it works, you go from fantastic to a catastrophe, but real life is somewhere in between.

"Even if we are frustrated right now, it is not all doom and gloom. We have a strong belief in our ability and we have a good opportunity to show we care about the club tomorrow."

Removing Gallas as Captain - Well Wenger went down a path I had hoped he would not take.

Did Wenger bow to outside pressure?
    Cesc will need Gallas' help to keep control and motive the young cocky...so far, 'achieve nothing'...GUNNERS!

Good luck, GUNNERS!
    May you turn in a superb performance in the Champions League and (sorry, Tiila & Balla) take out Chelsea next week-end!

FORWARD, GUNNERS!

did he NEED outside pressure to make that decision? you give me WAYYYY too much credit!

what would have been even worse is not to do anything........ah for TH14....~sigh~

Thumb up Twan? Cesc may be a good midfielder, why yuh think he is going to be a good captain? Watching his attitude on the field, he needs guidance. If they took it from Gallas, there is Clichy and Alumnia.

Whats up with Kolo Toure? The fact he isn't French has caught up to him?

fabregas or almunia are french?

maybe Wenger ran out of options. Why isn't Kolo in the team? Mi notice him a run in off a subs bench of late when he was the one holding down the back line fi Arsenal. Wha? Him nuh good again?

so are they french or aren't they?

One a keeper, the other run the midfield. Why is Silvestre starting over Kolo? Is it because the drunk they have coaching the French team is looking at Arsenal backline as the French defense?

Know what .... lets put the facts on the table.

DOMENECH EYES ARSENAL DEFENCE

Arsenal's back four represents the way forward for France, according to embattled coach Raymond Domenech.
                  The 56-year-old was widely expected to lose his job after Les Bleus' toothless showing in Euro 2008 and things have got little better since then as a horrendous start to the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign saw them lose to Austria 3-1.
                  Despite that, Domenech has been assured of his job until the end of his contract in 2010, and he is looking to the Emirates Stadium to improve his lot.
                  Domenech has recalled Mikael Silvestre, who is relaunching his career at Arsenal after his summer move from Manchester United, for next Wednesday's friendly against Uruguay.

http://www.football365.com/story/0,1...496675,00.html

Thumb up Twan? Cesc may be a good midfielder, why yuh think he is going to be a good captain? Watching his attitude on the field, he needs guidance. If they took it from Gallas, there is Clichy and Alumnia.

Whats up with Kolo Toure? The fact he isn't French has caught up to him?
                    well the responsibility that he now has should change his attitude as he is now in the leadership role !! he now has to look in the mirror and not to someone else, when things go wrong. Also, it kinda ties him to the club as Barca will most certainly come calling with the circus that is going on now.

Almunia- not sure how much of a future he has at the Emirates, as he is second rate.
                    Clichy- would have been a viable option too.
                    Toure- the root of our problems lies in our defence and Kolo has not been up to scratch..therefore..Silvestre starting over him..

Your line about "French" is null and void, cuz Cesc as you know is Spanish, therefore cant see thee French bias that you are hinting at.

Bottom line is..Gallas had to go..anyone but him...cant get any worse than him.

did he NEED outside pressure to make that decision? you give me WAYYYY too much credit!

what would have been even worse is not to do anything........ah for TH14....~sigh~

Him good or him not good? Mek up unnu mind!

Gallas set for recall but will not apologise

• Arsenal ex-captain could return against Kiev
                        • Paris St-Germain stand by with six-month loan offer

Arsenal's William Gallas may not have played his last game for the club. Photograph: Tony O'Brien/Action Images

Arsène Wenger has suggested he could recall William Gallas to his starting Arsenal line-up for tomorrow night's Champions League fixture with Dynamo Kiev at the Emirates Stadium.
                        The manager stripped Gallas of the captaincy and left him out of the team that lost 3-0 to Manchester City in the Premier League on Saturday, a result that gravely undermined the club's title hopes, after his fiery criticism of his young team-mates. Gallas appears to have a problem with the young generation of stars and he does not want to make personal apologies to the players that he offended, particularly to Robin van Persie.
                        But he worked out with the squad at Arsenal's London Colney training ground yesterday and he regrets the unsettling nature of his comments. If he does return against Dynamo, for a tie in which victory would ensure Arsenal's progress to the knock-out stages of the competition, it is unlikely he would do so as captain. Wenger has Cesc Fábregas available again after his suspension at City - the Spaniard is seen as a captain in waiting - while the goalkeeper Manuel Almunia wore the armband at Eastlands.
                        "Cesc Fábregas will be available for Tuesday and maybe Gallas," said Wenger. "The most important thing for us is to keep strong, united, focused and not panic. We haven't lost our football in three days so therefore, let's go and win our next game. That is difficult, I don't deny that, but there's no need to be desperate as well."
                        Despite Wenger's disappointment at Gallas' comments last week, in which he accused team-mates of lacking heart and pointedly criticised one particular player, whom he did not name but is known to be Van Persie, the manager has claimed Gallas still has a place there.
                        "Of course he has a future at the club," said Wenger. "It just doesn't help to talk about it. Nothing disturbed us before the [City] game. I believe it was a flattering victory for them, and we have had worse weeks than this."
                        Gallas is understood to have addressed the squad just prior to their departure for Manchester last Friday, by which time he was aware of his omission and that his future as the team's captain was in serious doubt. His pride, though, could work against any notion of reconciliation. Gallas, at 31, is a member of the older guard and he is close to the former Arsenal players Thierry Henry and Emmanuel Petit. Henry did not get along with Van Persie and Gallas could not bear to grovel in front of the young Dutchman and lose face in front of his friends.
                        There remains the possibility of an escape route back to France should Gallas be unable to regain favour at the Emirates. Paris St-Germain, with whom he has long been linked, are believed to be willing to sign the player on a six-month loan deal once the transfer window opens in January and would be prepared to fund a large proportion of his £90,000-a-week wages.
                        The French club, coached by the former Rangers manager Paul le Guen, have revived this season after last year's toils and beat Lyon, the league leaders and reigning champions, on Saturday night. Their president, Charles Villeneuve, is a close friend of Wenger's and signalled the ambition of the club over the summer with the signing of Ludovic Giuly and Claude Makelele from Roma and Chelsea respectively, and Gallas is on warm terms with Makelele. PSG also tried to sign the veteran France defender Lilian Thuram from Barcelona, only for the player to fail a medical, and they have risen to fifth place in the league this term.
                        Gallas was born in Asnières-sur-Seine in the suburbs of the French capital and, while he is a former Marseille player, he has made no secret of his desire to play for his hometown club. PSG, propelled by the goals of Guillaume Hoarau, have the feel of a club on the rise which may now prove appealing to the 31-year-old if he cannot salvage his Arsenal career.

he is a good player, but not a leader, CAPTAIN !!