Don't blame me - Burrell - JFF boss says Boyz' failure to qu

• Don't blame me - Burrell - JFF boss says Boyz' failure to qu

Don't blame me - Burrell - JFF boss says Boyz' failure to qualify was Simoes' fault

PRESIDENT OF the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Captain Horace Burrell, has come out firing back at critics, saying that the failure of the Reggae Boyz to qualify for the final round of the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying was not in the hiring of professor René Simoes ...
    Last edited by Karl; November 22, 2008, 05:52 PM.

Whom else should we blame ? all his moves has cost us $$$ , to sack Bora on the condition of not playing our best , shows two things ,1) He is meddling in team selection , 2) If his whishes arent respected you will be done away with.

Then to hire a man who goes against your 1st principle not selecting the best (Rene Simoes selected 98 vets with a mix NPL experience ) and hides behind discipline and Jesus to excuse the best from team selection , and you MR president hide behind the he didnt have time excuse shows one thing callous ineptness.

All of Burrells moves have been a disaster.Up there with a next president

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Let's go over some things. When Burrell took back over the reigns, Bora was being paid US$83k per month and with nothing to show. That situation was untenable to say the least. Prior to Burrell's return, he had already secured major sponsors who demanded a recognised foreign coach at the helm. His intentions were to try to recapture the vibes of the 98 campaign - hence Simoes. With the limited time and the dearth of sponsorship, Simoes was the right choice. He was already a familiar face to the Jamaican public and sponsors. It is so easy to cast blame, but what everyone seems to forget is that it takes major money to effectively run a national program with so many teams and personnel. Burrell did what he had to do, and acted at the right time in firing Simoes. It is time to move on and get back focussed on the job at hand - rebuilding the team.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

At least he was proctive and get rid of Simoes, albeit a game late. Having said dat, mi nuh like how Burrell a sound bout Tappa. Burrell say no local coach is ready to be a permanent coach of the senior team, because in away games the team need a coach of some stature.

Burrell fi move an guh way, acting like im wah discount Tappa's accomplishments. Somebody must tell him dat the only stature that counts is the stature of the players on the field. When di whistle blow fi start de match nothing else matters.
        Burrell a gwaan like like if barnes is strategically inept, his international stature will over come it.

Tappa does not deserve this kind of doubtful statement coming from the Captain.
        Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
        Mitty

he could have hired Barnes instead of Simoes 2nd time around?

what you want him do create more conflict than what in the press at the moment?

Tappa may have get the results on the field but what about the administrative side of it? We simply don't know.

He hired Barnes and Barnes is now the TD so he was not going to contradict that and say Tappa is ready and should be the coach. What he is going to do is try and build Tappa over a year time and if Barnes choose to walk well no doubt Tappa will be the man.

tell unnuh what...tell burrell he can blame me..i'll be the fall guy!

"Tappa does not deserve this kind of doubtful statement coming from the Captain."

I agree with you Mitty.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

All in hindsight. Nobody knew what kind of team Simoes was going to pick.
                  He hired Tappa to help but it seems like Simoes just wanted his TEAM.

that is his right as the head coach, no?

that is his right and he lived by it, He had the necessary experience and was a obvious choice so we can go back and say all we want but he choose his players and died by it.

Let's go over some things. When Burrell took back over the reigns, Bora was being paid US$83k per month and with nothing to show. That situation was untenable to say the least. Prior to Burrell's return, he had already secured major sponsors who demanded a recognised foreign coach at the helm. His intentions were to try to recapture the vibes of the 98 campaign - hence Simoes. With the limited time and the dearth of sponsorship, Simoes was the right choice. He was already a familiar face to the Jamaican public and sponsors. It is so easy to cast blame, but what everyone seems to forget is that it takes major money to effectively run a national program with so many teams and personnel. Burrell did what he had to do, and acted at the right time in firing Simoes. It is time to move on and get back focussed on the job at hand - rebuilding the team.
                        Continue building the TEAM!

Are you saying Tappa should assume some tasks on the admin side of the JFF? Anyway, Burrell is contradicting his actions as we had a coach with stature in away games and the team did not benefit.

Which lead me to believe that if our last three games were not at home Burrell would not have considered Tappa for head coach.

I know we all were disappointed not qualifying for the hex, but 24hrs after we won 3-0 him say local coach nuh qualify fi a permanent job. Captain need fi straighten up im talk, he should not have said that to the media. Like hoime wins nuh count pan resume... NONSENSE
                          Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                          Mitty

"Are you saying Tappa should assume some tasks on the admin side of the JFF?"

No not saying that. Long term coaches have to plan and deal with their own administrative things. I am not saying Tappa can't or don't know but I don't know if that is what Burrell is saying he needs to improve.

Don't watch the media becaus a few month ago them claim tappa barge into a game out west with a bag a man and that his behavior was not in line with a national TD. Trust me we are too frickle.

I dont think Bora would have picked such a weak team in the first round