Lets face it, we shot ourselves in the foot.

• Lets face it, we shot ourselves in the foot.

Before anyone get it wrong, I do appreciate the efforts in the last 3 games, so lets get that out of the way. Now, we have ourselves to blame for the position we're in.
    1. Simoes: Yes, I will hold up my hand and admit I welcomed the return of Simoes, but I have to admit that his arrogance started the demise of this crash. Insisting on using inexperienced and local players instead of the more experienced professionals is sheer madness. Maybe we wouldn't have won in Mexico and Honduras, maybe we wouldn't even win in Canada, but having the best players playing in those 3 games may have made the team click a little better in the home games.
    2. Burrell: The Captain has to take the blame for bringing back Simoes and for not insisting that the BEST players be selected for the qualifiers. Tappa coached the team for 2 games prior to the arrival of Simoes and won them looking good. Putting Simoes in charge of the team was clearly the wrong choice. Burrell have to take responsibility for that.
    3. Players: Everytime I look at the table I get upset. The players in the last 3 games should have been more aggressive and scored more goals. We went into these last 3 games with 1 point and a GD of -5. I can forgive the 1-0 victory against Mexico as we needed 3 points to get out of the hole we were in and we got it. The problem I have more than anything is with the Honduras game. We needed to score more goals in that game and we only walk away scoring 1. That left was in the position of a cliffhanger hanging on by the finger tips of one hand with no rope.

The game last night the Canadians sent a not so strong team, we needed to score 7 but at half time we were up by only 1? We should have killed off that team. Yes we scored 3, yes we hit the frame of the goal twice .. very unlucky ... but the reality is we NEEDED 7. We shot ourselves in the foot.
    4. Crazy Fans and So-Called Experts: There are a set of jokers fans and and another set that label demselves as experts who loved to mention the abundance of talent in Jamaica. Mi really affi wonder if thats the hype that Simoes fell for and decided to pick some likkle no name baller fi play gainst Mexico leaving the Claude Davis and Stew Peas in the wilderness. I heard one so called expert on NNN last night talking about how close we came using a local coach. I hope he, the other experts and the many crazy fans realize that the local coach did the most sensible thing and that is picking the BEST player.
    I guess this is it for Pepe. Thanks General. You went out with a bang!!!
    Last edited by Karl; November 20, 2008, 09:56 AM.

So what about our ranking to be in this group of death? What about us not playing any decent international for a year and a half?

There is a lot of blame to go around.

Boxhill included, I'm sure!

lazie.....while agree with most of what you have said.....the talent in jamaica is NOT the finished product and there is an abundance of that.

for me i do not know that the results of the first 3 games would have been different, what i do think is that we could have given a better account of ourselves. honduras is a very good team...let us not forget that. in fact you will notice that they won the group therefore it was never going to be easy to beat them by more than 1...in fact we did VERY well to beat them.

at the end of the day, the result may have been the same but many of us feel that the first 3 games represented an opportunity lost.....certainly with the benefit of hindsight our strongest team could have gotten a result in canada...that is where i think we suffered. at the time we were happy with 1-1 but ... who knows.

I guess he takes no blame?

Yuh 'fraid a Lazie?
            ...or are you afraid to tell Lazie as it is?

lazie.....while agree with most of what you have said.....the talent in jamaica is NOT the finished product and there is an abundance of that.
            Lazie has not one reason to dispute abundance of talent. Fact is the evidence shows there is an abundance of talent.

This is the same Lazie who states as fact that we do not have the necessary expert football teachers. He just falls into the group who have inborn insecurities and lack self-belief. He knows...he, as I have called attention to, that the teaching (youngsters through to seniors) is not there...yet.

...for me i do not know that the results of the first 3 games would have been different, what i do think is that we could have given a better account of ourselves. honduras is a very good team...let us not forget that. in fact you will notice that they won the group therefore it was never going to be easy to beat them by more than 1...in fact we did VERY well to beat them.

at the end of the day, the result may have been the same but many of us feel that the first 3 games represented an opportunity lost.....certainly with the benefit of hindsight our strongest team could have gotten a result in canada...that is where i think we suffered. at the time we were happy with 1-1 but ... who knows.
            Why do you ignore our lack of preparations after elimination in 2004 (2006 Qualifiers) to the stop-start efforts under Simoes (just before and during the matches against the Bahamas) and those under "Tappa"?

Not fair to our players, our football, the fanz and the country! ...and that's fact!
            Last edited by Karl; November 20, 2008, 10:15 AM.

Boxhill included, I'm sure!
              Nuh bodda wid dat!
              How many of the years 2004 through to present was Boxhill in charge of making the TEAM?

Just about the entire time?
              Well?

the players have to share some of that responsiblity too for some very poor results. There is no reason for us to be picking 6-1, 5-1 and 7-0 when we are using experience players like Claude, Stew Peas, Fuller and a bunch of UB40s.

No matter who a the coach so they have to share some of this reponsibility as well if they call themselves professionals.

Why do you ignore our lack of preparations after elimination in 2004 (2006 Qualifiers) to the stop start efforts under Simoes (just before and during the matches against the Bahamas) and those under "Tappa"?
                  You're saying preparation was continuous until Boxhill took over, right?

excuse you? yuh seh whey yuh haffi seh. i've said my piece!

the players have to share some of that responsiblity too for some very poor results. There is no reason for us to be picking 6-1, 5-1 and 7-0 when we are using experience players like Claude, Stew Peas, Fuller and a bunch of UB40s.

No matter who a the coach so they have to share some of this reponsibility as well if they call themselves professionals.
                      Well?
                      If the players were never called for more than 2 years...and thus never prepared to play as TEAM...you blame the players?

btw - When did this set of players receive 5-1, 6-1 or 7-1?
                      ...at under some "grab-a-team" few days nonsense?

excuse you?
                        What for? For asking if yuh fraid Lazie or...?
                        Don't thing so!

yuh seh whey yuh haffi seh. i've said my piece!
                        That is true...but a lie me-a tell pan dat omission of mention on lack of preparations of the TEAM?

The game last night the Canadians sent a not so strong team, we needed to score 7 but at half time we were up by only 1? We should have killed off that team. Yes we scored 3, yes we hit the frame of the goal twice .. very unlucky ... but the reality is we NEEDED 7. We shot ourselves in the foot.
                          A couple days ago I stated two things we needed to do in the Canada game: (a) Win and (b) score 7 goals without conceding any. Obviously that urgency was not shared by everyone as some left it up to Mexico to help book our passage to South Africa. Even Karl chimed in to kill my argument and I left it alone. Now here we are! We have been suckered by the Latinos who made sure that their continental bredrins sneak into the Hex at the expense of the Islanders.
                          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

"at under some "grab-a-team" few days nonsense"

Not much better now, is it?

We have to do better. One of the problem with many of the Jamaican player is they take no responsiblity whatsoever.

When playing as a team there are times when you have to forget about everything else and realise that as a team it reflects on you, not just your coach and your manager.

fraida a lazie fi wha?!! mi cya'an seh mi agree wid him? look how much mi disagree wid him.... suh what was that all about?

btw did the team have any more preparation for the last 3 games than it did for the first or was one of the significant features the personnel and tactics?