Tappa as coach..

• Tappa as coach..

Perhaps it is not my place..and I haven't commented on Jamaican football in some time...but..has Tappa not proven his worth from these 3 games..and the two friendlies from the spring?? I know they were all home games...however...it is very interesting that he has won all 5...without conceding any goals...

For me...it seems with this campaign finished...Tappa must be given the opprtunity to continue to develop as a manager. He has more than proven himself worthy and has done as well, if not better, than anyone else in recent times. Please correct me if I am wrong here. Nothing against John Barnes...but Tappa is the man for the job. He has played at the highest levels overseas..he obviously has the support of the players...the business community and the powers of finance in Jamaica must put their support behind a local coach who has proven himself in Tappa.

Bill, I could not agree with you more. I know he has not proven himself outside of JA but 5 games undefeated (including Mexico and Honduras) meant something. I think it was a bit premature when JA signed Barnes. Nothing against him but this is the time Tappa should be developing as a coach. Just my thought.
    "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

it is difficult to argue with that......

Unless Barnes has a change of heart and or starts doing silly things there is no sensible reason to remove him.

Tappa has a decision to make on whether or not he remains as Barnes assistant or seek a job elsewhere.

Bwoy it is going to be interesting to see how Burrell handle this. He may just send Tappa away for a year to Hull or some other club, and not renew John Barnes contract after that.

It is interesting to see our development over the next 4 years.

My brethren told me he had a long chat with you. Congrats to your former team Longwood as they are the champion in that division.

the most impressive thing about tappa's team...3 defenders, 5 clean sheets and all victories!!!!!

I have always been for local talent, players and coach. However, I must state again that John Barnes has been beside Tappa right throughout this campaign. Minutes before kickoff, outside the locker room, Barnes and Tappa were pouring over a writing pad, talking about strategy and tactics. (Or they were playing tic-tac-toe.) Barnes then took his place up in the grandstand and Tappa did his thing on the field.

This is not to take anything from any of them, but just an observation.

what about tappa's first 2 games? barnes had a hand no doubt but tappa's brand stamped BEFORE barnes.

We like to make the distinction between friendlies and the real thing. Why not now?

Not sure if this debate is worth our time. Barnes is the coach. And for the foreseeable future, even while acknowledging the rise of Barack, corporate Jamaica will continue to doubt our locals.

Locals need to step up like Barack too.

Them deh behind with a bag a complain. Them need fi walk wid them chart, briefcase or whatever and go inna these coporate boardroom and sell their dreams too.

Yes Simoes did that.

you can make that distinction if you want to....that is your perogative. i asked a direct question though.

What about his first 2 games?

Yes, easy to blame the local players and coaches when they are not the ones who do the hiring and the selecting.

the most impressive thing about tappa's team...3 defenders, 5 clean sheets and all victories!!!!!
                            Yup!
                            Great job!

We put the blame solely on coporate Jamaica and I guess our locals have no role in making sure they are seen and heard instead they sit under tree and complain that "a only foriegner one get it". We need people to buck the tide, make these coporate people have to hid from them, people who can articulate a vision like Borack did.