• 'Yes, we can!'

'Yes, we can!'
    Boyz face Canada in make-or-break match
    By Ian Burnett Sport Editor
    Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Jamaica will attempt to snatch 'victory' from the proverbial jaws of defeat when they host Canada here at the National Stadium at 8:00 pm in today's final round of the penultimate stage of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2010 FIFA World Cup Finals.

Sitting in third position in Group Two, dubbed the 'Group of Death', behind leaders and regional powerhouse Mexico and Honduras, Jamaica's Reggae Boyz are faced with a number of possibilities if they are to snatch one of the two berths to the CONCACAF Final Round of qualifying which takes place between next February and October.

Jamal Campbell-Ryce (centre) juggles a ball while Jamaican teammates (from left) Tyrone Marshall, Marlon King (partially hidden) and Andy Williams look on during a training session at the National Stadium on Monday. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

One thing is sure: Win by seven clear goals and the Boyz are through to the next phase regardless of what happens in the game between Honduras and Mexico, which will be played simultaneously in San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

Complete Story ...

Do or die! Jamaica must win to advance

published: Wednesday | November 19, 2008

Audley Boyd, Assistant Sport Editor

JAMAICA'S REGGAE Boyz face a do-or-die challenge in tonight's CONCACAF Group Two World Cup qualifier against Canada at the National Stadium, having to beat the North Americans to enhance their hopes of advancing to the final round of qualifiers. Kick-off is scheduled for 8 o'clock.

The Boyz are in a three-way tussle in the quadrangular group play-offs for two spots, with Mexico and Honduras who will meet in the group's other match in San Pedro Sula, Honduras, tonight.

Mexico in the lead Mexico lead with 10 points, one more than Honduras, while Jamaica are next on seven. Canada, the other team in what had rightly been dubbed the 'Group of Death' - given the quality of its opponents and the expected competitiveness - have only secured two points thus far and are out of contention.

yes we can?!! people think that we can't? YES WE WILL!!! that is the battle cry....

I'm with you - YES WE WILL!

How about an 8pm power cut..

I'm with you - YES WE WILL!
          ... at The Office...say for 45 minutes or so?

...and...?

Remember it is Canada that has no pressure...and...trus mi Mexico will be going for a win, so Honduras shall have all the pressure they need...or better said, we would like then to have!

Thats a helluva idea, know anybody at JPS

suh rico....yuh feeling any more confident than your doom and gloom of a couple months ago?

Originally posted by Rico View Post
                  Thats a helluva idea, know anybody at JPS
                  working the problem... even as I type.

...and...?

Remember it is Canada that has no pressure...and...trus mi Mexico will be going for a win, so Honduras shall have all the pressure they need...or better said, we would like then to have!
                    It would be good to know the size of our task at half time... wouldn't it?

...and I am saying why put additional pressure on our players...just do the best we can!

I really think our hopes lie in a Mexico win! We must just win our match and tell the chips fall where they may. If we can score upwards of 7 goals - good!