• We are on the same page – Barnes, Whitmore

JFF Press Release
    We are on the same page – Barnes, Whitmore
    Both head coach of Jamaica’s national football team John Barnes and his assistant Theodore Whitmore yesterday expressed surprise and disappointment with concerns being expressed in the media and the general public about who is in charge of the national team as they prepare for crucial World Cup qualifier against Canada on Wednesday November 19, 2008.

The concerns arose out of Monday’s Training session at the National Stadium where Barnes was seen giving instructions to the team while Whitmore observed from the background.

“From the Cayman Islands Theodore indicated what the team would be against Canada. He indicated what the formation would be which is completely different from the formation against the Cayman Islands because it was his remit to select the team and formation for the Canada which I accepted and supported,” said Barnes who officially took up his position on November 1 but will not be responsible for this game.

“At our first training session last night, which was going to be a very gentle session, he asked me to make some observations on “his team and his formation”. In the more crucial training session which is the night before the match, Theodore will make his own observations and his own tactics on his team and his formation,” he added.

Whitmore, who will have responsibility for this game agreed with Barnes’ position.

“I am very surprised by the reaction to training last night,” Whitmore said yesterday in response to reports in the media and subsequent comments by the public.

“The session was discussed before and planned with John.

“We have no issue. We are both on the same page and I am extremely comfortable with the preparations for the game so far. As announced by the Federation I have full responsibility for this game and I am happy with the support of John,” he added.

For Barnes, having to deal with what he views as a distracting issue was disappointing.

“I feel a little bit disappointed that we have been forced to clarify this situation because Theodore and I have an excellent working relationship and unfortunately it seems to be that some elements are seemingly trying to pit us against each other when we are all pulling in the same direction with one goal in mind.

“Throughout world football we have situations whereby different coaches take different sessions without being questioned as to who is in charge and who is not when they are working for the same team,” said Barnes.

He concluded: “I would like to stress that with everyone’s agreement this is Tappa’s team with Tappa’s formation. There is nothing more to it”.

Tilla the man say throughout Football world. you think Manu and Chelsea assistant coach nuh take training sessions too?

Most jamaican journalist are a pack of idiots.

I was the first to note the tone in the article about the coaches posted earlier today.

Most Jamaican journalists are a pack of darn idiots!!!

Tilla the man say throughout Football world. you think Manu and Chelsea assistant coach nuh take training sessions too?
        I never said that or even suggested it Sass. I am just laughing how you try to equate your college game with the national set up and international ball. But then, we could be on the college ball level.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

too much bulls ina de pen......
          “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Most jamaican journalist are a pack of idiots.

I was the first to note the tone in the article about the coaches posted earlier today.

Most Jamaican journalists are a pack of darn idiots!!!
            They are inexperienced! ...and ignorant!

There was a lot of that where refereeing was concerned! The reports...particularly those in the electronic media made all manner of 'expert' calls and sayings and 'quotes' on "Laws of the Game" which were coming only from 'their laws'. Problem is those writing match reports for the print media and the fans took them as gospel and ran with it!

...in any case the media writers and commentators are constantly seeking to 'sell' selves and their 'stories'. ..but I was surprised at the writer in his trying to inject a story that could put our team off its game before this very, very important match

All I was saying was that it was a regualar thing for head coach to sit aside and make others do a thing or two.