• Honduras, Mexico on knife edge

Honduras, Mexico on knife edge

(FIFA.com) Monday 17 November 2008

Honduras and Mexico have clashed many times in international football, fostering a rivalry that is over and above many others in the North, Central American and Caribbean Zone. Next Wednesday's contest in San Pedro Sula is set to have an extra-special resonance, however, with both teams desperate to ensure their progress from Group B of CONCACAF qualifying. If they wish to keep their hopes of reaching the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ alive, neither can afford to lower their guard.

A high-voltage encounter was always on the cards, ever since the fixture list for this group phase - the penultimate stage of regional qualifying - was announced. However, both teams had expected to have wrapped up their place in the final 'hexagonal' round by now, only for a resurgent Jamaica to recover from a dreadful start and bring themselves back into contention. FIFA.com users can follow all the action in this decisive encounter LIVE via the Emirates MatchCast from 19.00 local time on Wednesday.

Confidence high
    Everyone involved with the two teams knows exactly what is in play. Defeat for second-placed Honduras, who are two points clear of Jamaica, would end their hopes of reaching the final round in case of a Reggae Boyz win over Canada. This scenario would also be a boon for the Mexicans, who can ensure the non-involvement of a gifted Catracho squad in the final six-team round.

Despite the very real threat of elimination, morale in the Honduran camp is high. "We're 98 per cent ready," said assistant coach Alexis Mendoza. "We carried out an intensive physical training session and revised our tactics with the players again, going over what they already know. The team is extremely motivated ahead of the Mexico game."

The Mexicans, Group 2 leaders on ten points, three clear of Jamaica and with a far superior goal difference, are also in confident mood. "We have to travel to Honduras and win, not just to seal qualification but also to give the fans and the whole of the Mexican public something to cheer," says Nery Castillo, who returns to El Tri duty after a year away. "The supporters want us to win, play well and score a lot of goals."

Expectations rising
    The match is dominating discussion in sporting circles in both countries. And given the abundance of quality players at the disposal of the two coaches, should either side fail to take this next step towards South Africa 2010 the backlash would surely be fierce. Mexican television stations have even gone so far as to label Wednesday as "Judgement Day", while in Honduras the Catracho faithful have flocked to buy tickets - thousands of fans queuing up outside the Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano despite the searing temperatures.

The stage is therefore set for a pulsating encounter, one boosted by the fact the two teams are at near full-strength save an injury to Jonny Magallon that will see him out of the Mexican rearguard. The stadium will be packed, while millions more will be following the match from every corner of the globe.

Comments

mexico has a difficult game ahead but the overall quality of the mexican squad should be enough to beat the hondurans. the hondurans will have a lot more pressure to pass and that will probably end up affecting their game. tough game for sure, but the mexican team is a far more balanced team. mexico goes to the the next round, honduras is eliminated
    Posted by peacefrog11, USA on 18/11/2008 at 00:45

You have to remember the first game against Honduras most of the players that played were European based, meaning they had two days, (some of them one) to train under a new coach. At this point, we are completely healthy with one set back, and the players know the system very well. I expect Mexico to dominate the midfield, (with pardo back), and control the pace of the game. I've said it before, Mexico can only help themselves out by beating Honduras and hoping Jamaica wins. With that said Mexico wins a very defensive game by both teams 1-0.
    Posted by big2mylou, USA on 18/11/2008 at 00:28

Mexico will win 2-0! Mexico and Jamaica next round
    Posted by adri2010, France on 18/11/2008 at 00:25

Vamos Mexico! We pretti much in, time 2 seal it!
    Posted by chaloslpfc, USA on 18/11/2008 at 00:16

Honduras WILL WIN. there is NO DOUBT. they have battled long and hard for their moment to shine on football's greatest stage, and to lose on their soil to mexico?? unaceptable. this match will be war. this is where honduras will show the world they have what it takes. mexico is a worthy opponent, but honduras will rise above them wednesday night, taking another big leap towards south africa. HON-2 MEX-0 LETS GO CATRACHOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Posted by midmauro09, USA on 17/11/2008 at 23:36

Mexico has no chance in Honduras. Honduras and Jamaica will win, but Jamaica has a tough hill to climb, and I don't think they will score enough to qualify.
    Posted by TheGift, El Salvador on 17/11/2008 at 22:57

Mexico will win 3-0!!!
    Posted by vivamex08, USA on 17/11/2008 at 22:39

It would be nice to see Honduras win.
    Posted by Greasy, USA on 17/11/2008 at 22:35

Honduras 3-mexico 1. Jamaica 5-Canada 0. And not because Canada is not a great team but because Canada does not have anything to loose or win. Honduras and Jamaica to the next round! Let's go Honduras and Jamaica!
    Posted by BabyfaceTwo, USA on 17/11/2008 at 22:25

I think it will be a good intense match.Mexico can afford to lose,but Honduras can not.It`s unfortunate to see one of those two teams get eliminated but thats the process. Good luck teams of CONCACAF, we`ll see yall in the final round of WC qualifying in 2009! GO!!!!! U.S.!!!!!!
    Posted by Razorback, USA on 17/11/2008 at 21:55

its going to be tough, but in the end Mexico will deliver. Viva Mexico. Arriva Y Adelante!
    Posted by dedios09, USA on 17/11/2008 at 21:11

Honduras is winning Enough said make the discussion as long as you want but the truth is that Mexico is not ready to face the Honduras team that you will see on Wednesday at the Metropolitan Stadium. Honduras wins
    Posted by olimpia4life, USA on 17/11/2008 at 21:07

Honduras will win 2-0 because its a home game and honduras always wins at home and mexico always wins at home so it is like a contract. lets hope jamaica scores lots of goals so mexico can eb eliminated and so people can stop saying mexico is the giant when they are not
    Posted by 7121993, USA on 17/11/2008 at 20:57

mexico had a hard time at home with honduras..remembered mexicans..well now honduras is at home..so you will see the difference ok worry about it mexico
    Posted by NELVALE, USA on 17/11/2008 at 20:47

Besides Magallon, Gio is out too. I dont think he is as important though, since with the exception of the Canada game he hasn't played well. Still, this article says both sides are at full strength and that is not true, Magallon and Gio are out with injuries. I believe there'e 2 or 3 injured Honduran players too if Im not mistaken
    Posted by miggs08, USA on 17/11/2008 at 20:44

The article says no major inuries...what about Jonny Magallon missing his first game for Mexico in 2 years. Along with Marquez, he is the pillar of the central defense, so I dont know why this article says no major injuries...I think Jonny Magallon having a broken arm is a major injury. Aaron Galindo (or its been rumored that it will be Fausto Pinto) will have some big shoes to fill. I predict a 1-1 or 0-0 tie by the way
    Posted by miggs08, USA on 17/11/2008 at 20:38

If that is how you put it, jeshyz, then there isn't. Aguante MEXICO!!!! B*51
    Posted by atlas51, Mexico on 17/11/2008 at 20:34

mexico will be honduras, no doubt.
    Posted by sara324, USA on 17/11/2008 at 20:23

I've said it time and time again, Honduras will win and take first place in the group of death. BELIEVE THE HYPE!
    Posted by resyos, Italy on 17/11/2008 at 20:19

Honduras is ready. It's a home game and the catrachos will dominate the game. Mexico should be worried.
    Posted by slvfan91, USA on 17/11/2008 at 20:18

Mexico will pass there is no doubt...... Catrachos just have to be careful not too lose like last time and be eliminated. MEXICAN FOR LIFE!!
    Posted by MexEddie, USA on 17/11/2008 at 19:15

mexico is gonna get owned honduras is wayyy better then mexico if mexio wins there is no god
    Posted by jeshyz, Iran on 17/11/2008 at 19:03

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/ne...ico+knife+edge

thats what this region needed. We needed a story like this to focus the attention of the world on this region.

Right now with Honduran and Mexican players in the English league and with Jamaica and John Barnes as the new coach and our players like Fuller mashing up the EPL all eyes are focused on us as now we are no longer a joke and the streets are watching

This is where marketing and branding comes in as the internet is there for the taking

patience shatta patience, in due course you will come off the hills and out of the cave and start stepping inna dem face from early out.

patience my lord, dem not even all know

done dem Honduras and Jamaica!!!