• Fuller the Fearless?

Fuller has no fear

Stoke striker Ricardo Fuller talks Manchester United, Cristiano Ronaldo and Usain Bolt in an interview with TEAMtalk's Insider Mark Holmes.
    Fuller: Believes Stoke can shock champions

Stoke currently sit in a comfortable 12th place in the Premier League but Tony Pulis' side face their toughest challenge of the season so far when they travel to Old Trafford to take on the domestic and European champions on Saturday.

The Potters have taken four points from their other three games against the 'big four' and Fuller sees no reason why his side cannot improve on that record against United.
    The Jamaican international is full of respect for Sir Alex Ferguson and his players but says Stoke go into the game 'brimming with confidence' and hopeful of causing an upset.
    "I respect every single player in their team," said Fuller. "They have one of the best coaches the world has ever seen so every single player deserves to be playing there; they've proved that because they're champions of Europe.
    "But we can definitely go there and win. If you don't think that then why play football and why play for Stoke City? We're not losers here. We work hard for the team to get the job done and hopefully we can do that on Saturday.
    "Nobody expected us to do well against Arsenal or Liverpool but we had some positive results against them and hopefully we can do the same against Manchester United.
    "The confidence is brimming. We haven't lost in four games so we'll go up there and give it our best and hopefully our best will be good enough."
    Stoke's players could be forgiven for getting over-excited ahead of their trip to face the champions but, while Fuller admits it is an honour to play at Old Trafford, he insists it is just like any other game.
    "Old Trafford is special because of the history. History is everything in football and to step on the same pitch as those great players from the past and now is great.
    "But the vibe in the squad is normal. It doesn't matter if you're playing Manchester United, Hull City or West Brom because three points is all that matters."
    Cristiano Ronaldo will arguably be the biggest star on show on Saturday and Fuller admits the Portuguese winger is a player he enjoys watching. However, Fuller reckons the United star has got a long way to go before he can be ranked alongside "the best player in the world ever," Diego Maradona.
    "I like skillful players," said Fuller, "and Ronaldo is the best player in the world at the moment. He's got magical feet and scores magical goals and that's the way I like to see football played.
    "But the best player in the world ever is Diego Maradona because he had unbelievable skill. He's the boss and Ronaldo cannot be compared to Maradona.
    "He's got the potential to be ranked up there but he's a long way off at the moment. You can never forget Diego Maradona, he is history."
    Meanwhile Fuller is hoping to get his good friend and dancing partner Usain Bolt over to England on Boxing Day to take in Stoke's return clash against United.
    Fuller shared the same sprint coach as the Olympic superstar at High School in Jamaica and the pair have remained friends ever since. They met up last month when Fuller represented his country in two World Cup qualifiers and the Potters striker has already asked Bolt to make an appearance at the Britannia Stadium.
    "I talked to Usain when I went back to Jamaica for the last World Cup qualifiers," said Fuller. "We went out clubbing again, dancing and drinking as usual, and I told him Stoke City want him to come over.
    "He said he would but he's been training recently so hasn't had a chance. But he supports Manchester United so I'm trying to get him over for the Boxing Day fixture.
    "I've been calling him but he hasn't been picking up because it's a private number, nobody in Jamaica answers private calls! But I'll talk to him again next week when I go home for the Canada game and make sure he gets over for Boxing Day."

Boy tought match for Fuller before him play canada. I hope him don't get injuried.

However, Fuller reckons the United star has got a long way to go before he can be ranked alongside "the best player in the world ever," Diego Maradona.
      ...."But the best player in the world ever is Diego Maradona because he had unbelievable skill. He's the boss and Ronaldo cannot be compared to Maradona. ...You can never forget Diego Maradona, he is history."
      Seeit deh. MARADONA a di BOSS

Fuller is clueless on this point, PELE is the best ever, his impact on his team, this impact on the multiple world cup wins and overall on world football far surpasses anything that Maradona did or even thought of doing.

What is confusing some people is that when they compare their highlights Maradona looks incredible with his individual dribbling skills, but as you all know individual dribbling skills does not make the greatest player if it did I know about 100 guys in Jamaica that could qualify for that title and that is just between 1980-2000, guys you have never even heard of.

Pele reigns as King of ball forever!!!

Seeit deh. MARADONA a di BOSS
          Pele had retired before Fuller was born!

Greatest ever to take the field -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pel%C3%A9

Just a tweeny bit of Pele -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYjNQwd3Wa4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QEmn...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igcnh...eature=related

Why do they call him - god?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGQad...eature=related

Simple really!
          Technically superb! Fast! Strong! kicks brilliantly with either foot! Fantastic header! TOP OF THE WORLD taker of Free-Kicks and Penalties! Fastest of thinkers! Absolutely the very best passer of the ball! Totally TEAM player!

Just...well...PELE!

Can you see it? PELE!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2gc0...eature=related

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              Fuller is clueless on this point, PELE is the best ever, his impact on his team, this impact on the multiple world cup wins and overall on world football far surpasses anything that Maradona did or even thought of doing.

What is confusing some people is that when they compare their highlights Maradona looks incredible with his individual dribbling skills, but as you all know individual dribbling skills does not make the greatest player if it did I know about 100 guys in Jamaica that could qualify for that title and that is just between 1980-2000, guys you have never even heard of.

Or maybe you are the one that is clueless

There is also quality of videos. The reproductions after the 70s are superb. I think Pele's dribbling skills were greater than Maradona's. One difference in use of those skills is Maradona put that on display more often in game...the result was Pele's teams benefitted much more from Pele's passing that did Maradona's from his passing. An example of a result we could consider is Pele's World Cup TEAMs won the big trophy more times - Pele's teams 3, to Maradona's 1!

Pele had retired before Fuller was born!

Greatest ever to take the field -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pel%C3%A9

Just a tweeny bit of Pele -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYjNQwd3Wa4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QEmn...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igcnh...eature=related

Why do they call him - god?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGQad...eature=related

Simple really!
                  Technically superb! Fast! Strong! kicks brilliantly with either foot! Fantastic header! TOP OF THE WORLD taker of Free-Kicks and Penalties! Fastest of thinkers! Absolutely the very best passer of the ball! Totally TEAM player!

Just...well...PELE!
                  And I suppose you were alive to watch every football player that ever played the game right? People older than you (if there are any ) would probably name someone from their generation. So there goes your silly argument

Watch di old bwoy dem blood pressure a rise up. Just face it DIEGO MARADONA is di BOSS

Hahahahahah, you are killing me Bricktop, I am now thinking that is why they call you Bricktop you head too hard you just don't get it! (just joking boss, don't get too offended)

Ok enough name calling here are the facts.
                      Pele 3 world cup titles, Maradona 1 WC title.
                      Pele 1032 career goals, Maradona 320 career goals.

Those are the bottomline statistics.

This is like comparing Tiger Woods (Pele) to Phil Mickelson (Maradona), yes Mickelson is possibly as talented as Tiger but that mix between his psyche and his awesome talent lies a thin line in results between brilliance and disaster.

Ok enough name calling here are the facts.
                        Pele 3 world cup titles, Maradona 1 WC title.
                        Pele 1032 career goals, Maradona 320 career goals.

Those are the bottomline statistics.
                        Using that logic RONALDO is better than MARADONA. Football is played on the field not on a stat sheet. Why don't you campare talent levels of the teams each played on? People from that generation will tell you that PELE wasn't even the best player on the team while MARADONA was the team. Shutdown MARADONA and you shut down ARGENTINA which would explain the quadraple teams which he dismissed with disdain

Maradona is the best midfielder of all time
                          Pele is the best forward of all time

who has had the greater impact on the game: Pele
                          who has done more with less around him: Maradona

Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post
                            Maradona is the best midfielder of all time
                            All that to. Throwing around a goals scored stat when the KING wasn't even a forward

Well put.

At the end of the day it is all pure conjecture as to who is the best baller.

I agree with Fuller wth respect to C Ronaldo, he could have cited either Maradona or Pele to make his point.

Now if anyone asks me who, in my opinion, is the better of these two revered gentlemen (footballically speaking) my gut reaction is the Brasilian...but I wouldn't fight down a man if he makes a case for Maradona.

Anyhow, I hope Diego doesn't fork up this opportunity to redeem himself for the bad choices he's made.