• Bad news for Mexico...and the Boyz..

Tottenham's Giovani faces surgery

Tottenham's Mexico international striker Giovani dos Santos is to undergo an exploratory operation after injuring his right ankle in training.

The 19-year-old, who joined Spurs from Barcelona in the summer on a five-year deal, will have surgery on Tuesday.

"Hopefully the outcome will be positive so he can return sooner rather than later," said manager Harry Redknapp.

"I've not had a chance to work with him yet. Everyone says he's a real talent and his record suggests that's so."

Giovani, who has four caps for Mexico, made 28 appearances for Barcelona last season before his move to Tottenham.

So far he has played nine times for Spurs, but has yet to score.

While he is good talent, I can't say he has really impacted the Mexican team yet.

wish him luck.

Not a big loss for Mexico.

He shined at youth level, but his contributions to the men's team so far have been basically negligible.

bad news long term for mexico, good news now. he has been quite poor at the senior level for both club and country.

shined .... oh...yuh mean SHONE!!!

"Shined" is also acceptable, Mr. Grammar Cop.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/shine

Especially for those of us from cultures that have long since thrown off the yoke of our British colonial masters.

i would take it to another level but yuh not ready for it.....needless to say in your context it was not being used as a transitive verb.

anyway....please don't "misunderestimate me"!

In American English, "shined" works just fine as either a transitive or intransitive verb:

http://www.bartleby.com/68/40/5440.html

Will the mental slavery to the British ever end on this forum?

for the same reaon yuh not speaking navaho, kiowa or iroquois

shined .... oh...yuh mean SHONE!!!

ow ow ow...is wha wrang wid yuh?

A while ago I learnt ...whoooops...learned something new...

(darn...should I have written awhile as one word...darn... )

"for the same reaon yuh not speaking navaho, kiowa or iroquois"

...you just can't make this shiggity up!!