Hail To The King

• Hail To The King

Qatar, 2005: Maradona and Pelé appear at the launch of something or other. Afterwards, writes James Montague in his new book When Friday Comes , the Qatari crowd rushes the stage. Everybody ignores Pelé. Montague writes: "All I can see in the melee is the top of Diego's unkempt Afro, buried in a sea of adoring fans."

Every body is drawn

To a novelty Act.....Stupid is as Stupid does....If Pele was half ass as Mr. Argentina he would be regarded as a clown.;
    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Keep it moving PGay

The same would happen if Ronaldinho and Pele should wander into a Qatar crowd; the adoring fans would swarm Ronaldinho leaving Pele as a mere spectator. For that matter, they would also trample over Glen Hoddle to get to David Beckham. And I expect that they would push Michel Platini out the way to see Thierry Henri, or ignore Johan Cruyff just to get a glimpse of Ruud Van Nistelroy. Heck...they would climb upon Allan "Skill" Cole shoulders just to get a peek at Ricardo "Bibi" Gardner. If Lionel Messi and Osvaldo Ardilles walk together into a British pub the crowd would see Ossie as just another bloke while they push their way to see Messi. And even Eusebio would be totally ignored by the Qatar fans just to get a glimpse of Cristiano Ronaldo. You get my drift bro!
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011