Barnes' Makelele...

• Barnes' Makelele...

"What we need to do, and it's not just in the (current) team, but it's always been the case, we have to be respectful and grateful for (France inter-national) Claude Makelele-type of players, players who aren't pretty," he explained. "Midfield players who are very simple, can get the ball and pass the ball simply, because we're always gonna have players with skill ...

Those are the words of John Barnes, I think in this current Digicel cup squad that player unequivocally has to be Evan Taylor aka Essien....I think he should be the Makelele, so maybe some re branding is in order....What does the massive think about that for these series of matches going into the future...Bigga in my opinion is obviously the man right now for the seniors first team squad.
    Last edited by Sam !!; November 2, 2008, 01:02 PM. Reason: nuff mistake
    At a young age winning is not the most important thing... the important thing is to develop creative and skilled players with good confidence.

Arsene Wenger

such a player will have to be found in the english league ....barnes will sniff him out.
    “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

why only in the English league?

de style of holding role is more played on de continent, Italy or Spain......No one qualifies for us from there.
        The British style player is more likely to keep it simple/ break up the opposition attack with pinpoint tackling & play the simple ball well....... Local flair players we have by de dozens.

nothing nuh go so. Where is Essien and Mickele from?

Marshall could play that role. WE have young players like Evan Taylor and Lyle Adams from Wake Forest who if given a few more games can do it. How many a those players you see in England born in England? only Damian Francis could play that role and he has retired.

Jamaica have these player only that most of our coaches don't believe in them.

Sas,the coach wants results now so he is looking for experience players to fill that role

him have fi go do without because Damian Francis is the closest and him retired. There is none in the EPL and not proven ones in the championship either.

Bibi maybe the closest we have.

him have fi go do without because Damian Francis is the closest and him retired. There is none in the EPL and not proven ones in the championship either.

Bibi maybe the closest we have.
                Marvin Elliott (Bristol City),Karl Henry(Wolves)?

There is nobody at Wolves that play that position that is better than Bibi or Marshall. I will give you Bristol City for now but of course you know it takes special talent to playthat position poperly.

Most teams in the Epl are looking for that king of player right now.

There is nobody at Wolves that play that position that is better than Bibi or Marshall. I will give you Bristol City for now but of course you know it takes special talent to playthat position poperly.

Most teams in the Epl are looking for that king of player right now.
                    The position is a specialist position why would you want to move Bibi from left midfield or Tyrone from defence its like asking a Dentist to perform Heart Surgery.Those two players that i mention are two quality defensive midfielders who play that position week in week out in a good league.

We can find another right back. It is easier to get Nosworthy and move up Marshall. The problem with most English defensive mid is they can't hold a ball to save their life.

In my opinion Marvin Elliott would be ideal,he's got everything that you need from a modern Midfield player.

As mi say i don't know much about Bristol City except that they are doing well so I will take your world for it. Normally most English team don't believe in a defensive midfielder who hold them leather and roam a little. Gerrard is a rare breed although he plays offense a lot of the time but he rarely miss a tackle and is sher histeam need him.

Dunny, we have that type of player on our pool of possibilities. If the coach so desires, then he needs to look no further than the following names:

Tyrone Marshall (TFC)
                            Micah Hyde (Peterborough)
                            Rudolph Austin (FC Brann)
                            Khari Stephenson (Norway)
                            Bigga Thompson (Norway)
                            Omar Daley (Bradford)
                            Evan Taylor (Reno)
                            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

to play dat position well, you've gat to read the game & be ahead of the play with ease......experience player can do dat......not a upcoming local yute.