• Committed, disciplined players to top Barnes' list

Committed, disciplined players to top Barnes' list

GORDON WILLIAMS, Star Writer

John Barnes (left) and Alanzo Adlam participate in a Digicel Football Clinic, earlier this year. - Ian Allen
    John Barnes is refusing to shut the door on any player - local or overseas - good enough to wear Jamaica's colours. But the national senior football team's coach-in-waiting insists his sole intent is winning and all must abide by his rules demanding commitment, discipline and team spirit before they will be allowed into the programme.

http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/...s/sports2.html

Lowe is in Barnes mind ....A dat shudda headline yuh post

Effective defender
    Barnes said he is always willing to give a chance to players who show the required qualities, regardless of their past. One name he referred to was former national player Onandi Lowe, who was seen celebrating in Jamaica's locker room with the Boyz after the Mexico game. The 33-year-old utility player is a powerful striker and effective defender. He has 64 national caps, scoring 27 goals. However, in 2005 he was freed from drug charges in England, where he played professionally with several clubs. He was recently cleared of drug charges in Jamaica. Lowe has not represented the country since 2004, but Barnes said he has long admired his talents.
    "A player who, in my opinion, would have had an opportunity to really put Jamaican football on the map up in England who, from a personality point of view could have competed with anybody at the highest level in the (English) Premier League, was Onandi Lowe," said Barnes, who claimed he will have final word on team selection.
    Barnes said he knows little about Lowe's recent activities and has not contacted the player. But according to the coach, if Lowe proved his commitment to the game and the team, he would not rule out inviting him into the national fold. Yet no one, Barnes added, would be allowed to disrupt team [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]chemistry[/color][/color]. "You have to have that hunger in playing," he said "Any player would have had to have shown the desire and the dedication when I'm not here ... If that group is going to be destabilised by anyone, that's not gonna happen."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

bwoy x mussi ova di moon.

yuh gat mi by 2 minutes......

Yuh nuh know Gamma or do you? Barnes is the man .Vindication !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"There were a lot of players who impressed me," said Barnes, "but more importantly the character of the players is what's important because I know Jamaican players have talent ... But you need more than that. You need the spirit that was displayed against Mexico and I don't know if the (local DPL) players have that kind of character and spirit."

i wonder if he would care to put a number on a lot...is the number 25 enough?

or serial madness!!!!!

WOW!!!

Barnes is going to be X's hero for life!!!!

Yep me and Barnes inna it together , like Jawge and Rene ! I will say it now Build the man a statue.

Is going to be ? How do you know he isnt already ?

Mosiah yuh nuh easy at all eeh? Yuh couldn't just read the Star and no badda post the article? Now we haffi go contend with more of X's rants. Thank you very much!!!
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Don't worry Jangle.

"...and the indisciplined shall be indiscipline still..."

Lowe is in Barnes mind ....A dat shudda headline yuh post

Effective defender
                          Barnes said he is always willing to give a chance to players who show the required qualities, regardless of their past. One name he referred to was former national player Onandi Lowe, who was seen celebrating in Jamaica's locker room with the Boyz after the Mexico game. The 33-year-old utility player is a powerful striker and effective defender. He has 64 national caps, scoring 27 goals. However, in 2005 he was freed from drug charges in England, where he played professionally with several clubs. He was recently cleared of drug charges in Jamaica. Lowe has not represented the country since 2004, but Barnes said he has long admired his talents.
                          "A player who, in my opinion, would have had an opportunity to really put Jamaican football on the map up in England who, from a personality point of view could have competed with anybody at the highest level in the (English) Premier League, was Onandi Lowe," said Barnes, who claimed he will have final word on team selection.
                          Barnes said he knows little about Lowe's recent activities and has not contacted the player. But according to the coach, if Lowe proved his commitment to the game and the team, he would not rule out inviting him into the national fold. Yet no one, Barnes added, would be allowed to disrupt team [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]chemistry[/color][/color]. "You have to have that hunger in playing," he said "Any player would have had to have shown the desire and the dedication when I'm not here ... If that group is going to be destabilised by anyone, that's not gonna happen."
                          Seems like a lot of past tenses to me!

Who could have doubted Lowe's ability at the Premiership level? He walked thru his division, so...

Let's see him make it back to the big time.

yuhseeit!

Actually, when you look at the fact that T&T has two "older" players in Yorke (36yo) and Latapy (40yo) still contributing in a significant way, it makes you wonder why player like Whitmore and Low hung up their boots so early. The likes of Carlos Pavon etc are still playing international football at 35+
                              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)