Paul Reid (AKA Sickko) - "Appoint Whitmore full time"

It was written for judgement to be passed but in the past you have shown you have no clue about what is opinion and what is straight reporting of fact....but then again you never allow facts get in the way of your thoughts
    Respect to your opinion. Still, I think the JFF are doing the right things. Bring in Barnes to work with Tappa which should mean Tappa being sent away to get training and qualifications. At some time in the future Barnes step up to TD and Tappa becomes the Senior team coach. When Barnes proves his worth and move on to a more lucrative position Tappa takes over. At such time he will have the contacts and credibilty to get the support from the private sector.

Well, it doesnt help when your article was published (online) amongst other "report" type articles. You used to write "report" type articles in the past, no?
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Stop while you are way behind....it should be obvious to any sensible person (not that I am accusing you of being one) that this piece was not straight news reporting.

Sickko: Don't know how much management training and experience you have ; but the saying 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' is a no no in business circles. And football is BIG business as you well know.

In business, Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) is the current trend in business operation.

The good thing is the the good Cap'n Burrell is a business executive--and will not get carried away in the gut responses and clamor of folks begging for Tappa's tenure.

I agree that for the Canada game, Tappa should play the role of Carl Brown when Laza took over the first few games. Barnes comes with a lot more experience and exposure than Tappa.

LAST WORD:

Tappa (like all coaches) betta have him suit-case pack--an' him car tank fulla gasss!
          HL, you could'nt have put that any better

Did I say it was "straight news reporting" ?

Anyway...
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

I know I have given you kiddos for your straight news reporting on many occassions.

Yes I understand that this is an opinion piece but I don't have to agree with everything in it.

That's because it's an opinion piece. Siccko did pint dat out...

Siccko's reasoning has the support of folks who have a knee-jerk rxn to tappa's current record.

Sell outs like you should not have any input in this...go support your beloved US team and leave us alone...with the down turn in the US economy you might just have to run back to Westmoreland soon, gwaan tan deh...

Please don't trace mi off Sickko.

Let me take this opportunity to welcome you back to the forum .

wait deh...yuh work fi mosiah tuh? which department? it seems i am in charge of a$$ kicking...

Boy de forum is back to its almshouse best , Sickko good piece, I compare it to what I see in the british press and its up there with the best .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Since Mosiah is so ...erm.....vertically challenged, he might not be able to kick higher than say the back of the knees...so maybe I will do the kicking part of it....LOL

I wonder who Sicko expect fi pay Barnes salary after JFF breach their contract by firing without just cause?

Nice piece and the penultimate paragraph says it all

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                              Appoint Whitmore full time
                              On The Sporting Edge Paul Reid
                              Thursday, October 23, 2008

There is an 'Americanism that says 'if it ain't broke don't fix it'.
                              In Jamaican parlance it simply means if nutten nuh wrong wid it leff it alone'.
                              The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) should heed these sayings and leave well enough alone as far as the naming of the head coach for the national team is concerned.

So far, Theodore Whitmore has not put a foot wrong in his interim role, leading the team to back-to-back wins over Mexico and Honduras in crucial World Cup qualifying matches to keep the country's slim hopes of advancing to the final stages of CONCACAF qualifying alive.

After firing Brazilian Rene Simoes as the coach of the team, the JFF named Barnes as his replacement effective November 1 as Barnes had contractual obligations to take care of.

With Barnes set to take over the job on November 1, just over two weeks before the Reggae Boyz are to face Canada in their final game in this stage, the JFF made their second best decision by keeping Whitmore at the helm.

The JFF does not deserve any applause for this decision as it was a 'no brainer' .

The decision the JFF must make now is to keep Whitmore in the job for the long term.
                              If it means investing in him by sending him away to some European club or country to get him certified, then so be it.

Barnes could take over the role of technical director, which in civilised, modern football is more administrative as opposed to guiding the national senior team in training and in games.

Barnes should be the person in the background drawing up the blue print for Jamaica's football that Simoes promised nearly 15 years ago and which we are yet to see.

Obviously one of the reasons the JFF went for Barnes was his perceived ability to get corporate Jamaica to open their cheque books and continue sponsoring the Reggae Boyz. It is also obvious that unless someone comes with a foreign accent, pedigree or no, the sponsors are more willing to support him than one who has been home-grown and who may be better than the import.

Whatever role the JFF sees for Barnes, they need to allow Whitmore to continue coaching the team on a day-to-day basis even after November 19, during the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Cup and onwards.
                              What more does he need to prove? Four games in an interim capacity have yielded four wins and no goals against, including two must-win games against tough Central American oppositions, something not even Rene 'Jesus saves' Simoes managed to do.
                              Dollars speak louder than words. The JFF must give the impression that the foreigner in charge or the dollars won't flow. Carl Brown went to england for training and that did not help to keep the foreigners away. My guess is that Tappa understands too.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                                Carl Brown went to england for training and that did not help to keep the foreigners away. My guess is that Tappa understands too.
                                Key point! It's not the competence we're concerned about.