• Paul Reid (AKA Sickko) - "Appoint Whitmore full time"

Appoint Whitmore full time
    On The Sporting Edge Paul Reid
    Thursday, October 23, 2008

There is an 'Americanism that says 'if it ain't broke don't fix it'.
    In Jamaican parlance it simply means if nutten nuh wrong wid it leff it alone'.
    The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) should heed these sayings and leave well enough alone as far as the naming of the head coach for the national team is concerned.

So far, Theodore Whitmore has not put a foot wrong in his interim role, leading the team to back-to-back wins over Mexico and Honduras in crucial World Cup qualifying matches to keep the country's slim hopes of advancing to the final stages of CONCACAF qualifying alive.

After firing Brazilian Rene Simoes as the coach of the team, the JFF named Barnes as his replacement effective November 1 as Barnes had contractual obligations to take care of.

With Barnes set to take over the job on November 1, just over two weeks before the Reggae Boyz are to face Canada in their final game in this stage, the JFF made their second best decision by keeping Whitmore at the helm.

The JFF does not deserve any applause for this decision as it was a 'no brainer' .

The decision the JFF must make now is to keep Whitmore in the job for the long term.
    If it means investing in him by sending him away to some European club or country to get him certified, then so be it.

Barnes could take over the role of technical director, which in civilised, modern football is more administrative as opposed to guiding the national senior team in training and in games.

Barnes should be the person in the background drawing up the blue print for Jamaica's football that Simoes promised nearly 15 years ago and which we are yet to see.

Obviously one of the reasons the JFF went for Barnes was his perceived ability to get corporate Jamaica to open their cheque books and continue sponsoring the Reggae Boyz. It is also obvious that unless someone comes with a foreign accent, pedigree or no, the sponsors are more willing to support him than one who has been home-grown and who may be better than the import.

Whatever role the JFF sees for Barnes, they need to allow Whitmore to continue coaching the team on a day-to-day basis even after November 19, during the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Cup and onwards.
    What more does he need to prove? Four games in an interim capacity have yielded four wins and no goals against, including two must-win games against tough Central American oppositions, something not even Rene 'Jesus saves' Simoes managed to do.
    Last edited by Karl; October 23, 2008, 09:21 AM.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

all at home....i'm a tappa fan and i would love to see him replicate this success on the road or at the very least have the team playing good football on the road.

solid point...was just about to mek it.
      “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

I've been saying this all along. something tells me that all the folks calling for Whitmore to be given the raigns will be the first to call for his head the minute he loses his first game.
        President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Exactly, that's what I have been saying. It is without a doubt that to see Tappa stepping up to the plate and gettinmg the job done feels great. But we should not lose sight of the fact that all of the games he has coach have been games in the "Office". I honestly don't think we would be doing Tappa's career any favors by placing the national program in his care at such an early stage in his development. Yes, send him overseas so that he may get the relevant certicates or badges.

We should treat Tappa the way a coach or any organization treats a young prodigy; with kid gloves. The reigns to the national program should be handed over to Tappa in a manner which demonstrate that he was given time to grow and develop properly. Giving him the program at this stage is like throwing him to the wolves(i.e. overzealous fans and the media).

BTW, "Rene Jesus Saves Simoes" might not have had a four game unbeaten streak with four clean sheets(WOW). But he did lead us to a senior WC and two junior WC. Also, he was in charge when we went on a fifty game unbeaten run over four years at the "Office" (a run that ended when the clueless one took office).

Bwoy Sickko nuh easy atall

"The JFF does not deserve any applause for this decision as it was a 'no brainer' "

Hiring Downswell, Bora and Simoes were also "no brainer"?

Whitmore has done a very good...an excellent job.
              ...but would you believe it, if given the chance he shall 'create TEAM in his image'. I have no doubt Whitmore can create EXCELLENT TEAM...one to walk with the TOP TEAMs at the TOP OF THE WORLD!

...forgive me?...but Whitmore has merely started on the path to creating TEAM...EXCELLENT TEAM! Barnes can do worse than 'sitting' with our "Tappa" and having transferred to our other national TEAMs some of "Tappa" approaches to TEAM building.

Aside:
              On reading what I wrote I thought some may believe I am saying Tappa should stay on as national coach. That is not my position. The JFF had already made the decision that "Tappa" is an Interim Coach and John Barnes is the man to take full responsibility as National Coach come Novemeber. That is a done deal!

What I am suggesting is John Barnes taking a look...a study...of what Tappa has done and keeping the 'good initiatives'.
              Last edited by Karl; October 23, 2008, 10:30 AM.

Sickko: Don't know how much management training and experience you have ; but the saying 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' is a no no in business circles. And football is BIG business as you well know.

In business, Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) is the current trend in business operation.

The good thing is the the good Cap'n Burrell is a business executive--and will not get carried away in the gut responses and clamor of folks begging for Tappa's tenure.

I agree that for the Canada game, Tappa should play the role of Carl Brown when Laza took over the first few games. Barnes comes with a lot more experience and exposure than Tappa.

LAST WORD:

Tappa (like all coaches) betta have him suit-case pack--an' him car tank fulla gasss!

Bwoy Sickko nuh easy atall

"The JFF does not deserve any applause for this decision as it was a 'no brainer' "

Hiring Downswell, Bora and Simoes were also "no brainer"?
                  That sounds like anger. Sometimes it makes me wonder about some reporters. Why some reporters write based on emotions and not on intelligence? I think it would be in their best interest to write unbiased reports than moreso trying to be vindictive. Then again, everyone is entitled to their opinion, to each his own.
                  "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

Do you understand the difference between an opinion piece and straight news reporting...ReggaeFan, Assasin and a few others here dont understand so I will excuse you if you dont either.

What? Did I pass judgement on your article boss? lol

It was written for judgement to be passed but in the past you have shown you have no clue about what is opinion and what is straight reporting of fact....but then again you never allow facts get in the way of your thoughts

Good to keep the pressure on the JFF! Journalists should not be cheerleaders.

[quote=HL;136632]Sickko: Don't know how much management training and experience you have ; but the saying 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' is a no no in business circles. And football is BIG business as you well know.

[quote]

So, if it ain't broke you haven't looked hard enough!

I usually find most of his opinion pieces to be complete rubbish.

This one is good. I don't agree with a few of his points, but his reasoning is much more sound in this piece.
                              Last edited by Me; October 23, 2008, 01:36 PM.