• U-20s have month to prepare for Jamaica playoff

U-20s have month to prepare for Jamaica playoff

Wednesday, November 1st 2006

--

Brian Williams

Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 head coach Brian Williams is hopeful of securing the services of captain Radanfah Abu Bakr and US-based defender Stefan De Las for their upcoming Caribbean Football Union playoff for a spot in the CONCACAF final round of Under-20 World qualifiers.

T&T, by virtue of finishing runners-up in their second round group after a 3-0 win over St Vincent and the Grenadines on Sunday, must face Jamaica in a playoff.

Jamaica also finished second in their group after drawing 0-0 with group winners Haiti on the weekend.

The dates for the playoff were not confirmed but scheduled to be in a month's time and must be completed before year-end. T&T will play away in the opening leg, CFU general secretary Kerri Alleyne announced on Monday.

Williams must now reassemble his team for competitive football and this means that Abu Bakr, who attends Kingston College in London, and De Las, of Graceland College in the USA, will have to get further time off from their teams. Both players were scheduled to return to their respective destinations early this week.

The head coach added that he may even look at the possibility of adding some new faces out of the USA if he has a chance to observe the available talent in time for the playoff.

Looking back at the win over St Vincent, Williams commented: "We know we had a quality squad but we just had to put it together, Today I have to give all credit tot the guys for a spirited performance. We have to take it from here and maintain the focus, The World Cup is our main objective but we know we have another hurdle to climb with the playoffs."

He didn't hide the fact that he felt needing a three-goal margin of victory would have been an uphill task for his team.

"It was doubtful but it wasn't beyond our team. We just had to go all the way and ensure we controlled the midfield and execute up top. Our boys responded well."

And having campaigned with national teams in the past as a player, Williams knows what the pressure can be like and even though the crowds at the recent matches were poor, he is also getting accustomed to handling the game under high expectations as a coach.

"Obviously the expectation playing at home is always great. I will say that at least in the past we have been known as the mecca of football in the Caribbean and we are expected to easily go through the teams now. But I know that is a bit difficult because the gap has closed in the world today and it won't come easy without preparation over time. Playing at home is like anywhere else as well with regards to the pressure."

And looking ahead to meeting Caribbean rivals Jamaica, Williams said, again, preparation will be the key.

"It's more about us needing to be mentally ready as well. We know our potential and we need to play with that in mind. I will say to them (T&T players) to get back on the training field and keep everything on the ground.

"Preparation is the key...we will be back in training on November 6 in which time wewill work on our weak areas. we will try to get a couple more friendlies and maybe some stiffer opponents," he said.

About the availability of Abu Bakr and De Las and possibly some additional faces, the former Trintoc player said: "We will have a discussion and see how possible it is for them to get released from their schools again. We may even look at a couple players from the USA once we can get that chance to strengthen the squad even in time for the playoffs."

The dreadlocks southerner also spoke of his little pep talk with striker Matthew Barthlomew, who had failed to deliver the goods before Sunday's win in which he netted a vital double.

RE: U-20s have month to prepare for Jamaica playoff

I wonder what is the PREPARED schedule for our U-20s?

Advice to Boxhill and Dean: If you cannot arrange quality opponents for the youngsters, work on quickness of feet - generally reaction time and speed across ground - and, play 8 of the Premier Leagues TEAM...and, instruct the young boys to play smart - TEAM! Play for each other! No show off just sensible passing and moving and shooting as the TEAM defends together and attack together - and MASSACRE the NPL teams.

Oh yes...pre-planed set places - practised under match conditions/used in these matches is a must!

dem ah get dem arse wash

Naminirt (11/1/2006)dem ah get dem arse wash
        A wha kinda arse wash argument that don. No rasta. Not roun here.

dam mean dem gwan get licks

dat even worse! arse and anything fe do wid mouth nuh fe go inna one sentence. Wheel and come again.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015