3 million US for jurgen!!!!!
RE: 3 million US for jurgen!!!!!
<H1>U.S. Soccer chief denies deal with Klinsmann is near</H1><DIV class=storybyline>By Grahame L. Jones, Times Staff Writer
October 31, 2006 </DIV>
<DIV class=storybody>Sunil Gulati, the president of U.S. Soccer, Monday denied German media reports that Juergen Klinsmann was close to signing a four-year contract to become the U.S. national team coach at a salary of $3.18 million per year.
"We have not made any decision about who will be coaching our national team," Gulati said. He also confirmed Monday that the U.S. will take part in the 2007 Copa America in Venezuela immediately after playing host to and taking part in the CONCACAF Gold Cup.
<DIV class=cubeadbox><DIV class=adheader></DIV></DIV>"We certainly haven't made any offers to anyone to coach our national team and we certainly haven't made any offers along the lines that have been mentioned in various publications.
"That's as clear as I can be on it."
On Sunday, the German tabloid Bild am Sonntag reported that Klinsmann had been offered a deal that would keep him in charge of the U.S. squad through the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, that he would hire former Galaxy and current Columbus Crew Coach Sigi Schmid as his assistant and as many as half a dozen former U.S. players would coach the various national youth teams.
Klinsmann led the German national team to third place at the 2006 World Cup last summer.
"I'm not going to sit here and deny that we've talked to Jurgen Klinsmann," Gulati said. "Juergen brings a lot of very positive qualities to the possibility of coaching the national team."
Nevertheless, Gulati said, the federation still is in discussions with five remaining candidates who were approached about becoming the successor to Bruce Arena.
"It's a process that needs, for a lot of different reasons, to remain private," Gulati said. "We're not prepared to state who those candidates are. We haven't made any decisions yet. I am still very hopeful and expect that we will announce a coach sometime in November."
<HR align=center width="20%" noShade SIZE=1>
The U.S. men's national team, idle since its 2-1 loss to Ghana on June 22 at the World Cup in Germany, will not play again this year but will regroup in January in preparation for two significant tournaments in 2007.
The U.S. will stage the 12-nation Gold Cup, an event it won in 2005, in several yet-to-be-named cities June 6 to 24 and then will travel to Venezuela to participate in the Copa America, South America's premier tournament, June 26 to July 15.
Both events fall in the middle of the Major League Soccer season. U.S. Soccer and MLS are having ongoing talks about how to soften the blow to MLS teams that could lose marquee players such as the Galaxy's Landon Donovan to the national team for an extended period of time.
Don Garber, the MLS commissioner, said Monday he believed that could be accomplished.
Said Gulati: "I think it's safe to say that Don and the league understand how important the [Copa America] event would be for us in terms of preparing the team and especially as we're starting a new cycle" heading toward the 2010 World Cup.
It will be up to whoever is named U.S. coach to decide whether the U.S. will field the same team in both tournaments, different teams, or a combination of both, Gulati said
The U.S. has taken part in the Copa America only twice before — in Ecuador in 1993 and Uruguay in 1995, when it finished fourth.
The 2007 tournament, which also will feature Mexico as an invited guest along with the U.S., will be played in nine Venezuelan cities. The draw to divide the 12 teams into three groups, headed, respectively, by Argentina, Brazil and Venezuela, will be held early in 2007.</DIV>No need to thank me forumites.
Karl with all due respect, Klinsman is a better INT'L coach than
Bruce. If they use former US players then the US team will be set back another ten years. Klinsy need some one to spot real talent, not a pipeline to the college network.
Does he have a right? Sure. Do I agree that his feelings are justified no. I guess you have to expect competitive people to be.....well competitive. He just did not like having his feathers ruffled after the World Cup. He did come off like a little biotch. To be honest I would not be suprised if he was the coach again after 2010. - T.K.No need to thank me forumites.
Jawge how can you make a statement like that? What are Klinsman's achievements as an international coach to date?Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Jawge (11/1/2006)Karl with all due respect, Klinsman is a better INT'L coach than
Bruce. If they use former US players then the US team will be set back another ten years. Klinsy need some one to spot real talent, not a pipeline to the college network.
What was Laza's salary?
What was Wendell's salary?
What was Simoes' salary?
Should CB and Wendell have beenpeeved?
...and, we do not know what back office support Klinsmann will receive vs what Bruce received?
Speaking of 'back office support' - CB's vs Simoes' and vs Laza's? ...Wendell's vs Simoes' and vs Laza's?
Jackass seh di worl nuh lebel! :ermm:"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."