Is another 10-year setback on the horizon?

• Is another 10-year setback on the horizon?

published: Thursday | October 16, 2008

I MUST be the most unfortunate person alive. For the second time I have had to give my views on the fortunes or misfortunes of the Reggae Boyz before seeing their latest exploits.

The results of Jamaica's game against Honduras and Canada are not my concern though, because I think Honduras, and this is unfortunate, will do well against Mexico at home and we might be in some trouble even if we win.
    What irks me is the fact that one bad decision could have set Jamaica back quite a long way.

Re: "Tyrone Marshall will be gone, Ricardo Gardner will be gone, Jermaine Hue will be gone, Ricardo Fuller will be gone and we'll have to find their replacements before we can, once again, say we have a strong team."

Include on that list the following players too: Andy Williams; Marlon King; Claude Davis; Richard Langley; Deon Burton; Jermaine Johnson; Fabian Taylor; Shavar Thomas; Pepe Goodison and possible cutodians Ricketts & Sawyers.

But take heart because on the horizon is a new crop of talented players honing their game to fill into any vacant space.

BTW: Mr PAW, please remind Audley (Boyd that is) that Mexico is considered part of North America. They are not Central americans as he continues to state in his articles.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

There seems to be a movement afoot to put Mexico into Central America. Is it a race thing?

Good article!

Good question, considering that NA is seen by many as predominantly a white-controlled continent. But the fact is that Mexico is a part of North America and I don't see that changing any time soon. It's funny that many people in the USA see only themselves as "Americans." Others (especially Mexican immigrants) are not entitled to the "American" label. Go gigure!!!
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I recalled the euphoric 'celebrations' on this site-- when Jamaica drew with Canada..................!!

Given the team that went - YAY!

They are Central America geographically, North America economically (NAFTA etc), so he is not totally wrong.

Mexico has more in common with Costa Rica/Honduras than it does USA/Canada.
                President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Yes

...yay ...yay!!

True, but talk to any Mexican, and they consider themselves to be North American.

das right

Hogwash Mosiah.

Bora was doing similiar thing to what Simoes was doing and even worst. He never called our full team in a year as TD. If he stated that we should have keep Tappa in charge in hingsight that would have been better but can you imagine if Burrell had?

Where was all these great players over the past 4 years? Taking 5 and 6 while our ranking plunged? Our team looked very bad on many occasions.
                        Many of our so called fans stated that Goodison was done and he is a liablity in our defense. How soon we forgot? When Tappa and then Simoes called back the old rock it was seen as our football was taking a step backward cause had young and faster cane cutters available.

The fact of the matter is we NEED to plan better and have most of our world cup team playing togather for longer period before the qualifiers as Mexico, Honduras and Canada has done over the past year. We can't afford to be finding form in qualifiers, we have to be winning games long before.

Right now I think the crop of youths coming up are better than anything we had in the past 5 years and I look forward to what they can do under proper leadership.