• God Bless America!

Blaine battles for college duo to join squad

ANDREW HANCEL, Observer staff reporter

Wednesday, November 01, 2006

Despite strong opposition from a United States college to release two key members of Jamaica's women's football squad to prepare for the CONCACAF Women's Gold Cup finals, head coach Vin Blaine insists on including them in the squad.

"They will still be included in the team," Blaine confirmed to the Observer yesterday, but admitted he is taking a big risk.

"...It's a big risk, but it's a risk that I'm willing to take," he said in reference to the Reggae Girlz duo.

Kentucky-based Lindsey Wilson College are strong contenders for the US national championships this year and have refused to release Jamaican stars and regular starters Yolanda Hamilton and Omalyn Davis.

Three other overseas-based players - Natalia Mannion, Alicia Wilson and Audrea Sutherland - are expected to join the 16 local-based members.

Lindsey Wilson College have a game either on the 15th or 18th of this month. Should they lose, the Jamaicans will immediately join their national team-mates in training.

However, should the school advance, Blaine will have to do without them until after the November 21 collegiate final.

The Gold Cup will be played in Miami, Florida, and Carson, California from November 19-26.

Lindsey Wilson's decision not to release the players has drawn the ire of Blaine, who said both parties made a verbal agreement and that the college should not prevent the players from representing their country upon request.

"They have their national championship to try for, but that's not my contention, because we're saying 'Ok, we know your situation, but just give us one player then'," Blaine said.

Despite this setback, however, Blaine said he has players who can step up to the plate and fill the slots.

"It poses a challenge based on the fact that they're starters, but I have competent players... who can fit in. Fortunately... I have players who can play two positions because I've been training them...," Blaine told the Observer.

"... What I have is competent players, but... not the kind... who can give me that extra push like a Yolanda Hamilton would give me, so I have to adjust my tactical arrangement," he explained.

Blaine said he was disappointed with the college coach, whom he said has been making unfavourable comments regarding the players.

Said Blaine: "What bothers me is that he's saying that he virtually took these girls from nothing... and gave them a scholarship, as if to say that the girls were walking on the streets out here.

"He's not speaking the truth, since I'm the one who recommended the two girls after he approached us about them."

RE: God Bless America!

Mosiah why do you insist on promoting this agenda of yours?

It is a disagreement between too coaches who are looking out for their own best interests. Why you are trying to spin it into a America vs. Jamaica thing is beyond me. As President of the RBSC you should be more responsible iyah.Just comment on who you feel is right and leave the race baiting out of it. - T.K.

Mosiah fail to understand anything as it relates to America. The last 2 weeks in October and November are play off time for colleges. This is the most important time for any college and its players, After shelling out 20,000 a year which college is going to let their players go at this time?

If they can't play in the playoffs then it don't make sense them have a scholarship. The region should take note.

Don't you think the American team might be affected too?

<DIV>So, who didn't realise that there might be a clash between the Women's Gold Cup and the college playoffs? Americans are notorious for setting calendars without regard to anything or anyone else. Just check the record of MLS and World Cup. And I can bet they will release the American players.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Watch!</DIV>

<DIV>I am referring specifically to that "alleged" comment by the US coach who implies that these girls were rescued by his/her college from walking around in Jamaica with guns and bombs. I bet the coach's name is Madonna!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Americans have long practiced this condescending habit. They do it all the time in T&amp;F, refusing to give credit to the hard work put in by our high school coaches in bringing the athletes to a level where they can get scholarships. Thank God for MVP Track Club, the world can see nuff a wi did have talent from long time, and we can develop it further our goddam selves.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I make no apologies for that!</DIV>

Mosiah (11/1/2006)<DIV>And I can bet they will release the American players.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Watch!</DIV>
            I will place my bet with yours!

The coach was clearly out of order...and, crass! Brought-upsie is a hell of a thing. You either got it or you didn't!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=smalltxt vAlign=top><SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl5_lblFullMessage><DIV>So, who didn't realise that there might be a clash between the Women's Gold Cup and the college playoffs? Americans are notorious for setting calendars without regard to anything or anyone else. Just check the record of MLS and World Cup. And I can bet they will release the American players.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Watch!</DIV></SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
              Mosiah your racism clouds your judgment to the point that you drivel out foolishness. The only time college teams release players for international duty is at the beginning of the season or after their season. They never ever release players during their playoffs. If a college team has a conflict with the US women's national team during their conference or ncaa tournament their players will not be released period. It has never happened period.

As for your complaints about the college season changing their schedule to accomadate the GC is at best ridiculous. - T.K.

Mosiah (11/1/2006)<DIV>I am referring specifically to that "alleged" comment by the US coach who implies that these girls were rescued by his/her college from walking around in Jamaica with guns and bombs. I bet the coach's name is Madonna!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Americans have long practiced this condescending habit. They do it all the time in T&amp;F, refusing to give credit to the hard work put in by our high school coaches in bringing the athletes to a level where they can get scholarships. Thank God for MVP Track Club, the world can see nuff a wi did have talent from long time, and we can develop it further our goddam selves.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I make no apologies for that!</DIV>
                Oh so you put God Bless america and that mis-leading quote in your subject line to infer that it was an alleged quote or to make people think he actually said those words? You are something else.

I guarantee the coach laid down the law to Vin Blaine and explained the university's position in no uncertain terms.You can't give kids X-amount of dollars to attend school and then miss the end of the season. It simply does not happen. Whatever your issues with track and field don't bring it to this debate. The college coach brings up a legitimate point that has nothing do with being racist. - T.K.

Assasin (11/1/2006)Mosiah fail to understand anything as it relates to America. The last 2 weeks in October and November are play off time for colleges. This is the most important time for any college and its players, After shelling out 20,000 a year which college is going to let their players go at this time?

If they can't play in the playoffs then it don't make sense them have a scholarship. The region should take note.

Don't you think the American team might be affected too?
                  The US women's team right now are playing in the Queens Peace Cup (did I say the name of that tournament right?) and they have no college players on the roster. The college game is what the college game is....- T.K.

Does Vin Blaine understand the importance of November in the College season?

He say the coach is been unfair but is he also unfair? The JFF should know this as it is no secret that October, November are very important.

Mosiah where is the "gun" comment?

If the JFF want the players in November then it will affect future scholarship because all the people in the region who set this date should know that no college nah leggo them good players now and not qualify for the NCAA.

and EVERYBODY know that when a college recruit you and give you $$$ fi scholarship, your first obligation is to the college. So mek Blaine gwan round up his mouth. He knows the rules.

them want have them cake and eat it too.

Imagine NCAA college season is about 3 months long and the last 2 weeks in October to November depends on where your team is the most important and we don't understand it. I know we want to win but we can't endanger the kids scholarships.

Why are we even discussing the matter?

This is not about football clubs! This is about colleges! The young ladies cannot afford to...unless dem mad...leave the institutions that are giving then life skills - free? Paying them for it. Isn't receiving tuitiona form of payment? - in the lurch.

Vin knows he will have to await developments on the field in the young ladies college tournaments.

Aside:I think, Vin is just obeying orders from above. I think the utterances are aimed at deflecting attention from the Boxhill failures and hopefully will aid in winning sympathy - Yuh kno a "poor mi"/"unnuh si wid mi" posture.:crazy:

that is vintage Mosiah TK

Now I see why we can't advance as a damn nation! Vin has his degree &amp; a JOB, and he wants poor people children to forgo a college education to go kick ball - all for the sake of winning.

When these kids give up their education and the JFF FAIL &amp; DISCARDthem, what the hellkind of future do they have:w00t: