Incompetent and Impotent! they call Mexico

• Incompetent and Impotent! they call Mexico

Mexico’s loss to Jamaica have prompted a cascade of criticism by the local media of the team which will now have to play at least one more game to try to qualify for the CONCACAF final round of six.
    Ricardo Fuller’s goal in the 14th minute was all that was needed to take away the unbeaten tab from the area kingpins who are now second in Group B after Honduras beat Canada 3-1.
    “Incompetent” was the headline of the sports daily La Afición on Sunday.
    The beating, only the second by Jamaica in the history of World Cup eliminations, fell hollow with the local press which also knocked coach Sven-Goran Ericksson.
    “A Mexico without personality, character and football fell to Jamaica. Apart from Giovani (dos Santos) and Vela (Carlos), Erickson failed his first test and left qualification for the game against Canada,” blared La Aficion.
    Mexico went to the game confident that they would have been able to get at least a draw which would have ensured passage to the round of six playoffs where the top three teams qualify automatically for the World Cup finals.
    However, the nine Europe-based players and their flamboyant coach were unable to establish themselves on the pitch at the National Stadium.
    “Impotent,” affirmed the sports paper Record. “Sven and his Mexican team failed in their first test outside the Azteca. El Tri (Mexico) played without ideas, the stars did not appear and there was no solid reaction from the bench.”
    “Mexico we unable to get a single point with its English Armada (Vela and Giovanni), Spanish (Rafael Marquez and Omar Bravo), German (Ricardo Osario and Aaron Galindo) and Holland (Carlos Salcido),” said the daily El Universal.
    With the win over Canada, Honduras sit on nine points with Mexico. The goal difference is the same, but the Hondurans have scored one more goal which places them as the leaders of Group B. Mexico face the eliminated Canada on Wednesday while Honduras visit Jamaica who now have four points.

Earl Bailey

Wait ... lets see if Canada have any pride and try to show it on Wednesday nuh? That along with Jamaica winning with a 2 goal margin should certainly mek some people start sweating.

Without Pardo and Guardado, this Mexico team becomes very avaerage. As mi tell, Assassin this is not any "best Mexican team they have ever had".

Decent players but the previous teams had some murderous people Blanco and Ramirez.

This Mexican team was very good. On another day, this team could have beaten us 3-0.

The Mexican media is just being disrespectful - Jamaica can't win unless Mexico plays badly.

This Mexican team was very good. On another day, this team could have beaten us 3-0.

The Mexican media is just being disrespectful - Jamaica can't win unless Mexico plays badly.
          On another day? There was a time when one of the Mexicans dribbled into the 6 yard box and some how Bibi blocked the shot that went for a corner. Other than that .. its just the free kicks that had me worried.

Affi give the Boyz dem due, they were determined to win. Fouled to stop the flow of the Mexicans, got stuck in there when necessary.

Big up again to Old man Peppe Goodison. I actually think he is playing better football this campaign than in the previous one.

another one dem did wa'an right off...remember di man play 3rd division and is on the wrong side of 30....

He is playing well because no other player has a heart as big as his. Maybe only Shortie Malcolm could compare.

However, if yuh check it, Pepe gets burned for pace over and over again. Got to keep it real.

Disagree. (Surprise!)

I thought the Mexicans were terrorising us the entire length of the match. Maybe is nerminous mi did nerminous.

I have seen Peppe getting burned in terms of a player running wide and initially being ahead of him and he smartly takes an angle on them to still be between the player and the goal. Other moments I swear he is going to lose out and he somehow gets the foot in. Most of Mexico's chances at our goal came from Claude's side of the field.

Maybe is nerminous mi did nerminous.
                      I think so. I don't think the JJ sub helped your blood pressure.

I actually saw JJ in practice and he was not the same "hold down head and run as fast as I can" JJ. So, I was not worried. But he looked particularly slow and indecisive when he came on.

I have seen when he is left for dead.

When did that happen in the Mexico game? Might have happened, but I don't recall. I saw it once in the first Mexico game.

I have noticed that JJ is not as fast. He is still quicker than most other, but age/injuries seem to have taken away a step. How did Omar Daley look in practice?