Ricketts

• Ricketts

This is my major concern going into the Honduras game. I think Ricketts' game did not work for us on Saturday because of his ball distribution. The big kicks tended to make ball posession and building an attack for us a hit or miss. Luckily our taller players helped us on this occasion overcome the shorter Mexicans and gave us a fair amount of ball control following those punts.

I feel that against Honduras, this will be different. We will not enjoy the height advantage and Rickettspossession will constantly be helping Honduras start their attacks with each kick.

I only hope Tappa and John Barnes can identify this problem with Ricketts and correct it for the next game. As Karl would tell you, Ricketts always rendered our midfield ineffective and his methods of distribution gave no chance to us posessing and using the ball to our advantage. You would think Rickettspossessing would have learned after all these years. I am convinced that you cannot teach an old dog new tricks. . .
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Ricketts can't throw the ball short if no outlet is there. There is nothing JB or Tappa can do if Goodison or Claude is not available. Worse since the Mexicans play with two wide forwards, they stay very close to Goodison and Claude. In the first game against Mexico Ricketts was distributing well and then the Mexicans caught on and started stepping up. Then we had to resort to his inaccurate booms up field.

When they pass the ball back to Ricketts that is a problem. he is not very good at making simple passes although he thinks he is as capable as a forward. There is nothing JB or Tappa can do to correct that.

Tilla what hogwash

Ok Tilla, my disagreement with your reasoning pertains only with the old dog new tricks concern. Ricketts as our Keeper since a backup role last campaign in france...Should have learnt, plus he is one of the few national players who went to UWI.
      I thought goalkeepers get better with age...Now like you I resent his punting...Gad why doesn't he apply for a position as a place kicker in the NFL.....I believe he can be told over and over during the game by teammates and coaches; however, what if that is the game plan and instructions from the sidelines however horrible and ineffective it seems.

Side note just messing with you sir. I totally abhor this type of big kicks...Mexico goalkeeper's rolling out to his defenders was a thing of beauty, but defenders have to make themselves available also to give him that option.

I also believe our players should work on ball control under pressure.
      "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Ricketts just too strong. Ricketts is like the fat kid in primary school that squeeze the crayon them too hard every time he tries to colour something.

When he went to Flamengo for a trial as a youngster, they said the man was kicking the ball out of the traning facility. I really hope that McCallum will eventually take over.

There is nothing JB or Tappa can do to correct that.
          If that is the case, find another GK who will play for the team. . .
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Ricketts is a far better shot blocker than anyone on our team. If they feel that outweighs the negatives of a Ricketts then they are not going to drop him. Worse if is a case where he is not being given an outlet to throw the ball to.

From my view on my computer screen (with all the buffering) it seems as if when Ricketts get the ball he is always willing everybody to go forward for the big kick. Sometimes he shape to throw it short and then change his mind. And then BOOM up field.....

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
                Ok Tilla, my disagreement with your reasoning pertains only with the old dog new tricks concern. Ricketts as our Keeper since a backup role last campaign in france...Should have learnt, plus he is one of the few national players who went to UWI.
                I thought goalkeepers get better with age...Now like you I resent his punting...Gad why doesn't he apply for a position as a place kicker in the NFL.....I believe he can be told over and over during the game by teammates and coaches; however, what if that is the game plan and instructions from the sidelines however horrible and ineffective it seems.

Side note just messing with you sir. I totally abhor this type of big kicks...Mexico goalkeeper's rolling out to his defenders was a thing of beauty, but defenders have to make themselves available also to give him that option.

I also believe our players should work on ball control under pressure.
                Well said my man!

I cannot begin to tell you how Ricketts' continuous up-field BOOM kicks irk the mierda out of me! Every freaking time he does that, the opponents get the ball and we have to over-extend to win back the ball. How the hell someone on the coaching staff hasn't yet pointed that out to Ricketts is beyond me!!!

To me, McCallum is our best keeper...but, I guess that's why I'm not the coach.
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I complained and was told Mexico mid field was too strong

This is my major concern going into the Honduras game. I think Ricketts' game did not work for us on Saturday because of his ball distribution. The big kicks tended to make ball posession and building an attack for us a hit or miss. Luckily our taller players helped us on this occasion overcome the shorter Mexicans and gave us a fair amount of ball control following those punts.

I feel that against Honduras, this will be different. We will not enjoy the height advantage and Rickettspossession will constantly be helping Honduras start their attacks with each kick.

I only hope Tappa and John Barnes can identify this problem with Ricketts and correct it for the next game. As Karl would tell you, Ricketts always rendered our midfield ineffective and his methods of distribution gave no chance to us posessing and using the ball to our advantage. You would think Rickettspossessing would have learned after all these years. I am convinced that you cannot teach an old dog new tricks. . .
                    Those bitch ball was driving me up the walll. Someone here told me that we had to do it that way because we dare not take on the Mexican mid field. If we are going to play the bitch ball then he needs a compass on his feet! Get the ball to our owm players, let them know it down and pass it off without turning.