• Reggae Boyz, foreign coaches and the soccer industry

Reggae Boyz, foreign coaches and the soccer industry

The commentariat have spoken on Captain Horace Burrell and Rene Simoes, now let us face reality. Robinho the black soccer genius was recently sold for US$75 million. If we ignore the embedded irony (this is ethical trade), he is the most expensive human on earth. A top footballer earns more than US$1 million per month. With the face of a David Beckham or the je ne sais quoi of a Thierry Henry, he may earn millions more from advertising. No Jamaican player is in this class. The Chelsea team earns more than our national budget... the salary of a 23-year-old player is obscene. But these are market forces.

Complete Story ...

excellent article
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

This is not a good article as it
      opens up with equating a failed campaign (66) with a successful one (98). It then goes on to belittle the hard work of players and staff who made 98 campaign a success (calling it a fluke).

This is typical of Jakan intellectual; anything that doesn't have the mark or is outsanding with traditional high school (colonial outposts) is demeaned and discredited. Were are a ship of fools.

98 WC was a fluke or you can callit luck...it's the same thing.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

This is typical of Jakan intellectual; anything that doesn't have the mark or is outsanding with traditional high school (colonial outposts) is demeaned and discredited. Were are a ship of fools.
          Jawge, I cannot agree with you here. Based on your statement, you are apparently of the view that anything that is very critical, despite the usage of relevant historical facts, is wrong, demeaning and proof that the writer is a fool. Read the article again. I suspect you will agree that the writer of this stinging, critical commentary has hit the nail on the head! Consider harsh but truthful views such as this:

In 100 years of soccer, we have no compelling track record. In athletics for example, we have a glorious history, a growth trend line and "desire". Our soccer history from 1894 is not well known or celebrated. It is not used to motivate fans, players or officials and we don't build on the past. We always seem to be starting over. We invent hype to appease fans or intimidate opponents and repeat it so often that we end up believing it ourselves. Thus, we affect our work rate and we lose.

98 WC was a fluke or you can callit luck...it's the same thing.
            nonsense... no team qualifies for the WC through a fluke.

Jamaica did through lots of luck.

This article hits the nail on the head,it's about time we wake up to reality.