Joe Public 1 - 2 Montreal Impact (11 min)

• Joe Public 1 - 2 Montreal Impact (11 min)

Montreal leads Joe Public 2-1 after 12 minutes.

I am watching this match-up and I am reminded that the same deficencies in Jamaican teams are evident in T&T's teams and to be more precise, all Caribbean teams. We are not discipline when it comes to team play on the field. Caribbean teams seem to lack the ability to maintain their shape and lose focus if a play don't go according to script or plan.

Montreal 3, Joe Public 1 (half)

Roen Nelson was sent in with a clear path to goal, and missed a wide open net.

How did Christopher Harvey look?

Roen Nelson is simply not an International Calibre striker. He runs and runs and runs and that works in our lazy NPL. But at the next level, everybody works as hard as he does and his finishing really isn't that clinical. Still a very useful striker to have at the club level in CONCACAF.

I am not one who thinks that much of him and I am not that surprised by his omission from a Jamaica team.

Roen runs better than any other striker off the ball, thus opening up himself for opportunities. If only he could finish, he would be unstoppable. Him gwan wid di same tings at Portmore United. Get nuff sitters and miss. Matter of fact, the game last season where he scored four goals for us, he missed bout 5 other easy chances.

Harvey had a dismal showing. He looked slower than usual and comitted sm unecessary fowls. He ws part of a confused uncohesive back-4 that looked square most of the time, tried to play the off-side trap with a goalkeeper who would not leave his line. They were vulnerable to the diagonal pass across (2 goals) and were also slow in geting back to cover.
            Harvey may have been nursing an injury but did not show quality.
            Nelson is a good post-up player nad always seemd to be in the right place for opps but his coversion rate is low, and not clinical but he does seem to get in goal-converting positions more often than others...with more composure in the box and confidence he may become a good striker. What's his age?
            Wolfe again played in spurts. He never received the protection he needed from the Ref, and got a few fouls, showed some skills but just seem to lack the power...he ws in a good position for tap-in but Nelson's pass didn't come....again he was part of midfield that was not cohesive and looked lost on the larger National Stadium field with real grass (and mud).
            I cannot understand why JP didn't use their homefield advantage - smaller ground, the play there all the time and it's artificial turf.
            There was a 'game' before with Trinidad mauling an inept DR schoolboyish looking 'team' 9-0. It was a scrappy affair and was a disgrace to offer as a game to the paying public...luckily I only caught the second half.
            Then again..I had to wade through the misery of the 2nd game...I must find better activities for my evenings....

Unlike most on this forum who have seen him play, I don't think Chris Harvey is that special and is a lock to be in our side. He takes to long while to act while the ball is at his feet and he has quite a few wild tackles. Still a better alternative than Jermaine Taylor.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                Harvey had a dismal showing. He looked slower than usual and comitted sm unecessary fowls. He ws part of a confused uncohesive back-4 that looked square most of the time, tried to play the off-side trap with a goalkeeper who would not leave his line. They were vulnerable to the diagonal pass across (2 goals) and were also slow in geting back to cover.
                Harvey may have been nursing an injury but did not show quality.
                Just spoke to him. He was injured in Monday's training and didn't think he could play last night, but he was "forced" to.

Won't change my view on him - excellent defender!

Well...give me some kudos for my brilliant observations nuh! Shouldn't have played.

Kudos, sir!

Originally posted by Me View Post
                      Unlike most on this forum who have seen him play, I don't think Chris Harvey is that special and is a lock to be in our side. He takes to long while to act while the ball is at his feet and he has quite a few wild tackles. Still a better alternative than Jermaine Taylor.
                      Harvey had a bad game against Montreal last night but class is class. Against Atlante last week he was an absolute "beast". He was everywhere and solid in his tackles. In fairness to Harvey the entire Joe Public back four was horrible last night, They all had bad games but he is better than what we currrently have in our back four. he never looked 100% fit last night because Ive seen him play much better games when he is fit. Bottomline is he's getting international experience playing in the Champions League against better quality teams which can only help his game.

I have seen Harvey play quite a few times. I simply don't share your opinion on him. Decent player with the same lapses that all our defenders have. I don't expect him to be a special player. If he proves me wrong, I would be very happy.