• Ericksson clueless about “new” Reggae Boyz

By Enrique Machado,Central American correspondent
    October 8, 2008

The coaching change from Rene Simoes to Theodore Whitmore has set off a psychological battle in the Mexican camp as they are unsure of what to expect when they play Jamaica on Saturday. They have nothing to analyze, nothing to study.

KNOWS WHITMORE

Coach Sven-Goran Ericksson is shooting in the dark. When Ericksson was coach of Lazio in Italy, he was interested in Whitmore. However, he knows that that’s not enough to have an understanding of Whitmore’s tactics and style.

“It is very difficult to understand how Jamaica will play. I know the current coach very well, because at one time I wanted to buy him as a player when I was in Italy. I thought he was a great player, but unfortunately I was not able to get him as he went to another team in England. But to return to how Jamaica may play, the truth is it is complicated, it’s impossible to know how they are going to play. Also, we know that he has called new players who were not a part of the first set of games, therefore they are a rival we know very little about,” he sighed.

His team is very concerned about the perceived rough tactics which might be used by a desperate Jamaica. Sven-Gran Ericksson is aware and has made known his intentions, “I want the best 11 players on the pitch. I am not carrying 11 fighters, this is football and I want to play well and win. We are not going to war, it’s simply a very important game of football,” he commented.

Talk of the players getting injured is always present, but the coach is optimistic that things will work out well.

“I hope they will return healthy, and I think nobody will be afraid to play against Jamaica. We have a referee who will have to do a good job. But when one plays football one always gets into situations like these. We know Jamaica plays tough, but these 23 players as I have said before, are not afraid.”

They have told me that it will be tough from the start, but I can’t do anything about that, it is out of my hands. I hope the experience of the players will come to the fore and nobody will be worried about the moment. I insist that I can’t do anything, I don’t control anything in Jamaica, what I control is what we do in training.”

UNBEATEN
    One of the objectives of the team is to finish the series of games unbeaten and to go into the final stage with a great momentum.

“I hope that happens. I do not want us to go to Honduras (the last game the round in November) to play a game which could decide our fate, although the principal objective is qualification as early as possible.”

When asked if he would leave the Europe-based players out if he qualified before playing Honduras, he replied, “That’s something that we would have to look when the moment arrives, right now we can’t talk about that.”

This should only make the resolve of the REGGAE BOYZ firmer!

Tactics. Playing dumb fi mek wi get complacent.

I caaan believe it! Tappa had the opportunity to play for a Serie A side like Lazio and gave it up to go play 3rd Division football with Hull. He would have played in a much higher league in terms of quality and profile. Moreover, maybe what he made at Hull in a year he could have made in a couple months with Lazio.

But I guess, our players just love Inglan'. . .
        Last edited by Tilla; October 8, 2008, 12:55 PM.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Idiot!

Who me, or Tappa?
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Who me, or Tappa?

Good one!

Cho Errikson can seh anything him want at this time. It nuh mean nothing!!! Show me where he actually approached Tappa's agents requesting his services. Him tek people fe eediat!!! Sippose me tell unuh seh Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsne Wegner did a fight behind the scenes fe The Pearl's services, unuh woulda believe me?
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think Tappa was not properly advised by his agent. Although I am sure a big part of the decision would be up to the player, as it is in the agent's benefit to get the player in the higher playing league. Tappa would have made more money and so too would the agent.

Maybe Tappa was hoping to use D3 as a means of getting into the higher leagues in England. The problem is, it was a big gamble, as once you settle for the lower playing league, teams will wonder about your quality and what you think about your game.

I can remember that FA Cup match where Tappa was leading the charge for Hull against Chelsea. It was rumored that a number of scouts and managers were there to take a look at him. While he impressed in that match, nothing really happened for him from there.

hmmmmmmm...is zeppo reading this?

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                      By Enrique Machado,Central American correspondent
                      October 8, 2008

The coaching change from Rene Simoes to Theodore Whitmore has set off a psychological battle in the Mexican camp as they are unsure of what to expect when they play Jamaica on Saturday. They have nothing to analyze, nothing to study.

KNOWS WHITMORE

Coach Sven-Goran Ericksson is shooting in the dark. When Ericksson was coach of Lazio in Italy, he was interested in Whitmore. However, he knows that that’s not enough to have an understanding of Whitmore’s tactics and style.

“It is very difficult to understand how Jamaica will play. I know the current coach very well, because at one time I wanted to buy him as a player when I was in Italy. I thought he was a great player, but unfortunately I was not able to get him as he went to another team in England. But to return to how Jamaica may play, the truth is it is complicated, it’s impossible to know how they are going to play. Also, we know that he has called new players who were not a part of the first set of games, therefore they are a rival we know very little about,” he sighed.

His team is very concerned about the perceived rough tactics which might be used by a desperate Jamaica. Sven-Gran Ericksson is aware and has made known his intentions, “I want the best 11 players on the pitch. I am not carrying 11 fighters, this is football and I want to play well and win. We are not going to war, it’s simply a very important game of football,” he commented.

Talk of the players getting injured is always present, but the coach is optimistic that things will work out well.

“I hope they will return healthy, and I think nobody will be afraid to play against Jamaica. We have a referee who will have to do a good job. But when one plays football one always gets into situations like these. We know Jamaica plays tough, but these 23 players as I have said before, are not afraid.”

They have told me that it will be tough from the start, but I can’t do anything about that, it is out of my hands. I hope the experience of the players will come to the fore and nobody will be worried about the moment. I insist that I can’t do anything, I don’t control anything in Jamaica, what I control is what we do in training.”

UNBEATEN
                      One of the objectives of the team is to finish the series of games unbeaten and to go into the final stage with a great momentum.

“I hope that happens. I do not want us to go to Honduras (the last game the round in November) to play a game which could decide our fate, although the principal objective is qualification as early as possible.”

When asked if he would leave the Europe-based players out if he qualified before playing Honduras, he replied, “That’s something that we would have to look when the moment arrives, right now we can’t talk about that.”
                      Unuh better hope Ben or Jawge don't wake up and read dis. LOL.

Thank you father; "only
                        the fool in his heart says there is no God". Jah no dead.

I recall times gone by when I said great clubs including Santos of Brasil wanted Tappa (But di english pound an Bibi monet tun seba inna eediat), I was mocked andscorn was hastily heaped on me.

See it deh now! Di truth ah reveal.

Tappa had German offers from bigger clubs also, but didn't want to live there.

If I recall too the J-league made quite an offer for him. I guess the man was comfortable with where he went and what he did. Chelsea coach frighten after the man done mash up them team. Man seh him not quite sure who that player is. Where did they get him.

Yeah man yuh use to belittle
                            Tappa, how him nuh good cause if him did
                            good him would ah play top flight ball. Wha yuh haffi say now?

The worse part is that most ah wi
                              ah yaad nuh rate him. Jakan society has very little respect for him, considering what he has done for Ja. Heores day nutten but some friends that do some insignificant thing ah get award.

Then again; it's the mentality handed down to us over the years.