Ericksson clueless about “new” Reggae Boyz

SO how a all wey Sven talk bout de ongle ting unnuh ah guh chat bout ah Tappa career choices? Tappa in ah different role now de man dun play ball and ah lead from the sidelines. Unnuh nuh notice sey de Mexicans ah sen message to de referee long before de game start? Every time dem fi come ah yard dem bawl bout how wi rough and tuff desperately trying to influence decisions before de game start. Hopefully Tappa nuh get side track like unnuh and ah lament bout if ah could ah should.

Differnet mission yuh deh pon Mista Whitmore, keep yuh eye on de prize. Afta wi dun Mexico, Honduras, and Canada wi can look back pon why yuh neva guh a Italy, Japan, or Brazil.

Matter of fact he did not want to go to England he wanted to play for Miami in the MLS

I know of offers from Italy and Spain but not the top leagues, this agent Jeremy Keith who had bought into Darby a few years ago was trying to get Tappa to go to Europe after 1998, not for trials but actual contracts but he had no interest.

Speculating I am for sure. But when you look at Ericksson statement, you would think there was a little more than interest there.

I know the current coach very well, because at one time I wanted to buy him as a player when I was in Italy. I thought he was a great player, but unfortunately I was not able to get him as he went to another team in England.
          Maybe Tappa never knew of this interest from Lazio or maybe he was not comfortable going to play in Italy. See where Sickko said Tappa was not even interested in going to England as he wanted to play for Miami Fusion.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No way was Lazio ever offered to Whtimore. Because if it was then he would have accepted.

You honestly think that he would have turned down a chance to play in the Champions League alongside players like Vieri, Veron, Nedved, Crespo, Salas, Simeone, Nesta, Mihajlovic, etc. -- not to mention the massively superior salary he would have gotten -- in order to play in the English 4th division with Hull City??

It was most likely the case that Ericksson wanted Whitmore but he never got backing from the Lazio board.

Because no player in his right mind would have turned down an offer like that.

he preferred to go to the now defunct fusion than go to england......i won't even PRETEND to understand his rationale.....so i would suggest you bear that in mind in considering what he would or would not do....

I think he was talking about Barnes and not Whitmore

Mexico coach Sven-Goran Eriksson admits John Barnes' Jamaica side remain a mystery ahead of their the World Cup qualifier on Saturday.
                Eriksson: Not sure what to expect

* Send to friend
                * Print
                * RSS Feed
                * Save to...
                o Add to FacebookFacebook
                o Add to del.icio.usdel.icio.us
                o Add to ma.gnoliama.gnolia
                o Add to ma.gnoliaYahoo! My Web
                o Add to DiggDigg
                o Add to google BookmarksGoogle Bookmarks
                o Add to RedditReddit
                o Add to TechnoratiTechnorati
                o Add to NewsvineNewsvine
                o Add to StumbleUponStumbleUpon

Competitions

Fancy winning tickets to sporting events, electrical goods or signed merchandise?
                Click here to view our competitions section!

The former Liverpool and England winger was appointed as the new Jamaica coach last month, succeeding Rene Simoes.

Assistant boss Theodore Whitmore will coach the Reggae Boyz for the match against Mexico, with Barnes not taking over until November.

And ahead of the qualifying match in Kingston, Eriksson said: "To be honest, I don't know how Jamaica will play because they have appointed a new coach.

"I know him (Barnes) very well, but I don't know what type of football they will play."

El Tri will book their place in the final round if they beat Jamaica and Canada defeat Honduras on the same day.

Eriksson admitted he is keen to qualify for the deciding stage as soon as possible, particularly before the final matchday of the current phase against Honduras next month.

"I hope we can clinch the qualification before playing Honduras because we don't want to play a decisive game against them," said Eriksson, whose side also face Canada in Edmonton next Wednesday.

"We want to qualify as soon as possible. We have named 23 players for these two games. No matter what the score of the Jamaica game, all of them will remain for the Canada game on Wednesday.

"Winning or drawing is not important. Our goal is to qualify as soon as possible."

Deportivo La Coruna midfielder Andres Guardado is banned for the Jamaica game, but Eriksson said he will play Canada.

"He cannot play Jamaica but is training with us anyway. He will be ready and eligible to play Canada and I already have in my mind the player to substitute him in the team this weekend," the coach added.

Remember say in them days nuff a our players were jus plain stupid. Him probably did a over exalt himself and a say, "yow, mi nah go no side other than liverpool, chelsea and team deh. A 2 world cup goal mon have". U know, di regular Jamaican ignorance. Dem kinda ting deh. When him see say no ther doors did a open him probably run go Hull as a last resort and him career die a slow death. Mi jus a speculate still.

Slow death? Seemed rather fast to me!

It would seem fast to you if you were so busy shining Hue's shoes that you didn't know anything else going on in the world.

'Mother' England always mess with these guys' head.....Lazio come callin' & yuh want to play sub-standard ball in England????
                        “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

And you don't believe Tappa should have played more years than he has? At a higher level?

Relax boss, simple joke mi running.

The man obviously should have been playing at a higher level than he was playing at. The mere fact that him can shred a midfield consisting of Di Matteo, Poyet and Deschamps to pieces means that he certainly did not belong in a league where players are making NPL level mistakes.

For all I know the man just wasn't willing to go outside of his comfort zone to go play ball. If he was satisfied with his choices in life, then I will not wrong him for his decisions although I myself wanted to see him playing at a higher level.

Joke, mi wrath!

You always trying to get on my last nerve when it comes to Maestro! And it's not Hue, it's Maestro! Say it! Say it, you...

Where are those goddam tablets!

Originally posted by Raggs View Post
                                'Mother' England always mess with these guys' head.....Lazio come callin' & yuh want to play sub-standard ball in England????
                                SPECULATION AGAIN !!!...Sven was talking about Barnes !!