• Barnes wants Molineux pair

Barnes wants Molineux pair

Wolves duo Sylvan Ebanks-Blake and Karl Henry have been targeted by Jamaica coach John Barnes for international calls.
    The two could qualify for the Caribbean island’s national side through their parentage as Barnes sets about recruiting British-based players.
    Ebanks-Blake is currently with the England under-21s, but the rules governing international appearances would still give the striker the opportunity to choose Jamaica for senior caps.
    Birmingham City’s on-loan Arsenal man Quincy Owusu-Abeyie played for the Dutch age-group teams all the way up to Under-21 level before opting to switch to Ghana, the homeland of his parents, for senior level.
    And Henry, who has been producing the best football of his career as Wolves’ midfield leader this season, has yet to play any type of international football.

Both players are being sounded out about the proposition which comes from a manager ever likely to turn to his long experience of English football to strengthen a squad which has under-achieved in modern times.
    The idea is likely to be more attractive to Henry as Ebanks-Blake, who is still only 22, may yet harbour hopes of one day challenging for England senior honours.
    Manager Mick McCarthy will have mixed feelings about the potential for representative football for Henry, one of his favourite Molineux players, at a time when he already has 11 men spread out across the globe for international duty.
    McCarthy is more concerned they return fit and well after his resources have been strained by injuries.
    That took the manager to Blackburn yesterday to watch a series of his fringe players and comeback duo Matt Murray and Mark Davies in the 1-1 draw.
    “It was great to see Matt out there again getting an hour and the same for Mark Davies,” said McCarthy.
    “Sylvan has joined up with England under-21s and they are taking a look at him and seem hopeful he might be able to be involved.”

Here we go a(frigging)gain!

my thoughts exactly...

first we erase the identity of the reggae boyz, and then introduce enough ub40s to change our name to the "minuet gang"!

I think that is a wrong approach by Barnes. He is yet to our homegrown international players and he's talking about players outside of the EPL and third generation at that.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yuh waan win or yuh waan lose? If we win with these players will you still have a problem?

Yes.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well I see you are a glutton for punishment. Instructive. Very instructive

If the choice on the table was to win the next 3 matches and qualify for the Hex or if to the detriment of qualifying for the Hex, to implement a workable program to get us to the level of the USA and Mexico or beyond, I would choose the latter. I have always said it that us fans need to identify and choose. Do we want to be constantly running around like headless chickens everytime WC qualifications come around or do we want to improve our football to become a force in the region? The quick fixes will not work and we cannot continue to run to England everytime qualifications come around. I have no problem with the one or two foreign-born Jamaicans being included into the team, but you cannot bypass our home-grown players, whether they are playing in Jamaica or abroad.

How you mean here we go. Mi swear that it was Mosiah who recruited Barnes in the first place.

Like it or not, Jamaica's domestic players CANNOT take us anywhere near a world cup finals UNLESS we are willing to spend millions of dollars to develop these players from youth level right through to senior team level.

Check out the CONCACAF champions league, look at the quality of play from teams like Marathon, Saprissa etc (even T&T's Joe Public), you will see that the level of football being played by these teams are superior to the level of football played by the Jamaican clubs. The Same Pumas that hammered our Harbour View 4-0 was being roughed up in Mexico by teams from Panama and Honduras.

Its simple really, we dont have enough qualified coaches in the island to develop our players, we dont even have a decent football pitch on the entire island. Again, look at the CONCACAF champions league, The sadia being used by the Central american teams are a notch above those being used in the DPL. Joe public playes on a very good quality surface, and I am sure it helps them develop their overall game. What i'm saying here is there is alot of things wrong with Jamaica football, and untl we fix them, the guys playing in england will be our first choice over the local guys.

Like I said in a previous post, lets use the youth teams up to under-23 to discover and groom the talent in Jamaica, and prepare them for senior team selection. The senior team should comprise of the best available talent at all times regardless of where you born.

If Junior Agogo from Nottingham Forrest and Carlton Cole form West Ham can be recruited to play for Ghana and Nigeria respectively, who are we to turn up our nose at doing the same thing?
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Fear of not being up to standard? Fear of never rising to

acceptable standard?

------------------

Barnes wants Molineux pair

Wolves duo Sylvan Ebanks-Blake and Karl Henry have been targeted by Jamaica coach John Barnes for international calls.
                        The two could qualify for the Caribbean island’s national side through their parentage as Barnes sets about recruiting British-based players.
                        Ebanks-Blake is currently with the England under-21s, but the rules governing international appearances would still give the striker the opportunity to choose Jamaica for senior caps.
                        Birmingham City’s on-loan Arsenal man Quincy Owusu-Abeyie played for the Dutch age-group teams all the way up to Under-21 level before opting to switch to Ghana, the homeland of his parents, for senior level.
                        And Henry, who has been producing the best football of his career as Wolves’ midfield leader this season, has yet to play any type of international football.

Both players are being sounded out about the proposition which comes from a manager ever likely to turn to his long experience of English football to strengthen a squad which has under-achieved in modern times.
                        The idea is likely to be more attractive to Henry as Ebanks-Blake, who is still only 22, may yet harbour hopes of one day challenging for England senior honours.
                        Manager Mick McCarthy will have mixed feelings about the potential for representative football for Henry, one of his favourite Molineux players, at a time when he already has 11 men spread out across the globe for international duty.
                        McCarthy is more concerned they return fit and well after his resources have been strained by injuries.
                        That took the manager to Blackburn yesterday to watch a series of his fringe players and comeback duo Matt Murray and Mark Davies in the 1-1 draw.
                        “It was great to see Matt out there again getting an hour and the same for Mark Davies,” said McCarthy.
                        “Sylvan has joined up with England under-21s and they are taking a look at him and seem hopeful he might be able to be involved.”
                        ---------

There are some among us who it would appear are afraid our local players will never rise to standards that would make omission from TEAM Reggae Boyz impossible! If it were not so...why at this time are they afraid to have best available players injected into our squad?

For my part it matters not if presently the best available is 2nd or 3rd generation connected who were born outside of the island. ...and if the entire TEAM had only such players who had qualified because they are our best...then so be it!

I have no doubt that that playing of our best at all times will force those born on the island to raise standards. Surely via the process of raising local standards, as with our current crop of T&F athletes, locals will rise to the TOP OF THE WORLD?!

Yes?!

Damn right that will happen...and sooner rather than later!
                        FORWARD! (stepping over and or around those who are faint of heart!) ...to the TOP OF THE WORLD!

Only the best is good enough!
                        Last edited by Karl; October 8, 2008, 12:17 PM.

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                          Like it or not, Jamaica's domestic players CANNOT take us anywhere near a world cup finals UNLESS we are willing to spend millions of dollars to develop these players from youth level right through to senior team level.

Check out the CONCACAF champions league, look at the quality of play from teams like Marathon, Saprissa etc (even T&T's Joe Public), you will see that the level of football being played by these teams are superior to the level of football played by the Jamaican clubs. The Same Pumas that hammered our Harbour View 4-0 was being roughed up in Mexico by teams from Panama and Honduras.

Its simple really, we dont have enough qualified coaches in the island to develop our players, we dont even have a decent football pitch on the entire island. Again, look at the CONCACAF champions league, The sadia being used by the Central american teams are a notch above those being used in the DPL. Joe public playes on a very good quality surface, and I am sure it helps them develop their overall game. What i'm saying here is there is alot of things wrong with Jamaica football, and untl we fix them, the guys playing in england will be our first choice over the local guys.

Like I said in a previous post, lets use the youth teams up to under-23 to discover and groom the talent in Jamaica, and prepare them for senior team selection. The senior team should comprise of the best available talent at all times regardless of where you born.

If Junior Agogo from Nottingham Forrest and Carlton Cole form West Ham can be recruited to play for Ghana and Nigeria respectively, who are we to turn up our nose at doing the same thing?
                          I agree with you, but the question is what is John Barnes being hired to do? He has a one year contract. What is his task within the one year? If we fail to qualify for the Hex, is his job then to win all practice games and to qualify us to the Gold Cup? We can qualify for the Gold Cup without the wholesale influx of foreign-born players. If we win the next three games and by some miracle make it into the Hex, then I understand that his mandate is to win those matches by all cost even if it means using 11 UB40's. However, I have a problem with him not touching down on our shores yet, having one game to be in charge of the team and already looking at foreign-born players without assessing for himself what he has to work with regarding our other foreign-based players. I don't think that our local-bred foreign-based players are less talented than any of those players that he is thinking about. Our problem was with the coaches and their tactics and use of these players.

Karl henry had been around a while why has he never came foward for the rbz

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                              Karl henry had been around a while why has he never came foward for the rbz
                              Is there any such as a Henry at home or somewhere outside of the island who has not come forward?

If yes, and I believe it must be so, why have those persons not come forward?

My guess most were not invited!

Naminart: If players are out there with quality that could help our team...surely the question must be, why are they not called?

The athlete must be invited and then that athlete has the option of accepting the invitation or turning it down.

You may not know this but in the early days (Here I have first hand knowledge) ...in T&F athletes have had invitations to represent the country and have for one reason or another declined the offer.

Now that I think on it...I can remember...and I am sure the Massive can also remember at least one athlete publicly declining to represent our Reggae Boyz...that athlete later came onboard!

...and to go further I can remember Dwight Yorke being invited to represent T'dad and Tobago and refusing to 'step forth'. He later relented!