• Anybody heard Waterhouse's response

to the players strike last week?

It was very interesting, Bertis Bell read a release on Sunday during the match against Reno.

The salient part was that players had breached their contracts by playing corner leagues etc during the off-season and came back to training either injured or tired or both.

We love to talk about what the JFF is not doing to lift the standard of the NPL but no one ever mention that the playesr are not helping themselves when they run off every sumer to play every manner of leagues they can find and never get to rest properly.

I know for a fact not so long agowhen national players here in MoBay would play corner leagues in the mornings before NPL games in the afternoon.

You would hear all kinds of stupid reasons about loyalty to where they are coming from but it all boiled down to being stupid and greedy for the chump change they were getting.

RE: Anybody heard Waterhouse's response

<DIV>I thought Peter Hibbert's response was very arrogant. I expected much better from a professional business man like him. You don't just brush off people saying that yuh have nuh time for them. On the other hand, it's difficult to take sides on this knowing the kinds of players that Waterhouse attracts. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The money they make in the NY league is not always "chump change", siccko. Indeed, I feel that many NPL managers quietly support this move for their players because there is no way they can pay anything close to the chump change the players make. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>When NPL clubs struggle to pay less than US$500 per month to their players, what do you think the players will do? Every single club in the NPL has had problems from time to time, either not paying the players or not paying them on time. How many of us would put up with such a situation?</DIV>

Peter Hibbert is arrogant why you think he lost the ISSA contract?

Didn't know. But people say is a quality dem like. Is ongle me have a problem wid arrogance, apart from my own! :P

What you have to understand is some of these players are been paid pitance so what if a Bronx league or a CT league come calling?

The level of the NPL have to be lifted as well as players have to be responsible.

I have never seen any NPL team or JFF punish any Bronx league execpt C. Nicholas.

<DIV>Punish wha?!? Their best players play in the Bronx League. The NPL sides cannot pay these players anything close to what amounts to a decent salary, so when the Bronx League dun, they all come walking back into the NPL, and it will continue like this for the next decade, at least.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I know HVFC did not allow rthem to just waltz back into the side. They had to go through all the pre-seasoon activities the rest of the players had to endure before they could begin regular training and be considered for NPL games. Fair enuff, I say.</DIV>

I think you and Mosiah are both missing rthe point, while I accept the excuse that players are not making any money, it is accepted that our economy will not be able to support a full professional league any time now and that is why these players need a back up- EDUCATION and a job.

Take Donovan Ricketts, I am sure if his football career was to end any time soon, he can go back to school and finish his degree in international bussiness management and will be able to get a good job.

Any Williams, Tyrone Marshall and a few others as well; look at what Aaron Lawrence has been able to do with a limited education but good business head.

That is why I asked last night what is Robbie Scott's back up plan after football.

But more to the point of the discussion at hand, when you go play the entire summer and dont rest, when will the little niggling injuries heal or how do you refresh your mind?

I do worry about players like Teafore bennett and a few others who seem to be running from league to league and while I understand the reason, I hope they will get some time to sit back and get some mental and physical rest.

It is a simple economic principle of diminishing returns

<DIV>
                Sickko (10/31/2006)I think you and Mosiah are both missing rthe point, while I accept the excuse that players are not making any money, it is accepted that our economy will not be able to support a full professional league any time now and that is why these players need a back up- EDUCATION and a job.

Take Donovan Ricketts, I am sure if his football career was to end any time soon, he can go back to school and finish his degree in international bussiness management and will be able to get a good job.

Any Williams, Tyrone Marshall and a few others as well; look at what Aaron Lawrence has been able to do with a limited education but good business head.

That is why I asked last night what is Robbie Scott's back up plan after football.

But more to the point of the discussion at hand, when you go play the entire summer and dont rest, when will the little niggling injuries heal or how do you refresh your mind?

I do worry about players like Teafore bennett and a few others who seem to be running from league to league and while I understand the reason, I hope they will get some time to sit back and get some mental and physical rest.

It is a simple economic principle of diminishing returns
                </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I fully understand your point! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>At least, the method the players have chosen have given them some "returns". Before, everything was just "diminishing".</DIV>

Is it more benefical to get a job? I remember when Hector Wright's brother and I use to work at Halfmoon togather, he had a hard time getting time off to play certain games.I have seen many players hang up their boots after getting a full time job paying decent money and not allowing them time to play.

Look at Alien Whittiker(sp)? Even if he intend to play ball again, he has lost a lot of time. While some maybe able to juggle a full time job, some may go to school but the football "gods" have to make a better program that allow some to better themselves doing referee jobs, odd jobs or try setting up a off league program. Some will go to school but look at so many players who go to US schools and never get back in the program?

it maybe hard to do but as long as the money from the Bronx and Hartford league can pay then many going to come and do it.

In case you don't realise it also happen in cricket where players come up here in the summer and get paid to play for teams.

[quote]Mosiah (10/31/2006)<DIV>I expected much better from a professional business man like him. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I nearly died laughing just now - what does PROFESSIONAL mean?</DIV>

Trust me you cnat tell me about football players and jobs, I used to be an executive at Violet kicikers and one of the advantage we had was that we had people in high positions at the airlines, banks and hotels and we were able to get people jobs.

Turned out that these jobs prevented a lot of them from tarining properly or even at times coming to games but if we had to do it again we would as most of these players were able to properly support their families and advance themselves in life and not sit down and wait for the 'god father to pop off a ting'.

Silly to compare cricket and football-- cricket just dont have the wear and tear on a players body like football and in most instances, except if you play for Australia, it is not a contact sport.

I go back to the examples of players with plan B in my previous post and I promise you will not see any of them being dependent on any big man to hand them anything when they finish playing football.

cho das why mi an you nuh reason more time.

What you mean "silly" there is nothing silly about it. Are you saying there is no wear and tear on the cricketers body? and they don't have to prepare themselves? If they play on bad field and with poor competition, it won't affect their game and fitness as in football.

The common part of it is that they both look for bread on their off season and this might affect their entire game and improvement.

It is quite easy for us to talk about plan B and college when only 1/3 of our footballers really have a good high school degree and a chance of going to college or even get a good job.

<DIV>
                          Assasin (10/31/2006)1/3 of our footballers really have a good high school degree and a chance of going to college or even get a good job.
                          </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And that's why we can never divorce academics from football. And when I say academics, it doesn't have to be the usual Biology and Accounting, but something to give the players something to "fall back on". Yes, that phrase will be around for a long time!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>ISSA must ensure that our high schools do not simply use these players for D-Cup and Manning Cup glory. You agree, Tilla? </DIV>

H.E.A.R.T. shoulda have a good team.

Long gone are the days when everybody go school to become doctor, lawyer or teacher. I was reading an interview with Jerome Taylor last week when he said while at STETHS he focussed on carpentry.

Nothing wrong with that, or even plumbing or masonry work as long as he is skilled and diliigent at what he does and gets certified he will always eat a food.

Take it a step further, the eat a food mentality must stop and we must start looking at being able to put away for our retirement, people are living longer now but are they living better when they get older?