That Everton Anti-football game against Big SidEEE!!!

• That Everton Anti-football game against Big SidEEE!!!

This match report from the Daily Telegraph by a presumably neutral journalist showed that Wenger was not alone in his frustration with Everton's approach:

"There were two brands of football on view at the Emirates Stadium: flowing, adventurous, shot-bristling yet goal-shy on the one hand, and functional, largely negative, unashamedly back-peddling on the other. Everton were disproportionately proud of the latter, and their one point here.

The calculated approach of David Moyes, Everton's manager — admittedly amid a bout of illness in the squad — earned as many admirers beyond Merseyside as they themselves had shots on target in open play. Zero. Their time-wasting was endemic, culminating in Moyes's dismissal from the touchline for histrionic provocation of the referee."

The other Telegraph match report said this:

"It also demonstrated everything that is wrong with the direction the English game is heading. This was a triumph for dull, limited football."

Yet this type of opinion was not reflected by the panel of ex-Liverpool <U>defenders</U> Alan Hansen and Mark Lawrenson and the presenter Ray Stubbs. In fact, Stubbs seemed amazed that Wenger should have expressed frustration with the Everton spoiling tactics. This was then followed - quite predictably given their general views on football - by Lawrenson and Hansen concurring with Stubbs and giving their blessing to Everton's tactics.

It was dire analysis - the worst I have seen in a long time; so bad that it was funny.

Sure Everton had the right to adopt their tactics and it paid off. But it does not follow that their negativity mentality should be immune from criticism as apparently was the consensus between Stubbs, Hansen and Lawrenson. On the contrary, they are the type of tactics that explain why the general state of English football is sub-standard and reflects why there is a lack of a widespread culture in England of cultivating progressive, technical, attacking football.

The BBC need analysts who can actually be analytical and see the bigger picture. This discussion between Stubbs, Hansen and Lawrenson summed up my opinion that it regularly does not deliver this basic aim.
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

RE: That Everton Anti-football game against Big SidEEE!!!

<DIV></DIV><DIV id=maincontent>

David Moyes has defended the tactics employed by the Blues in securing a point at Arsenal on Saturday.

After the game Gunners chief Arsene Wenger praised Everton for their performance in earning a 1-1 draw at the Emirates Stadium, although the Arsenal boss admitted he was left frustrated by the gameplan of the Blues.

The Everton boss admitted it was not a vintage, flowing performance from his side but he was able to reflect on the determination of his side to secure Premiership points from their first trip to The Emirates, paying tribute to the work his side did to make life difficult for Arsenal.

He said: "My job is to come here and find ways of winning as Everton manager.

"Some day I might come here with a team like Arsenal's, but while I've not got that I have to win games and part of being a coach is to find way of getting a result against better teams and today we tried to do that.

"It might not happen all the time. We have played really well this season but today was a different type of point we had to take.

"They have four top quality attacking midfield players and the plan was to try and stifle them.

"And you just can't keep running because Henry will play them in, so we had to try and keep it as tight as we possibly could in the middle of the park."</DIV>
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

I wonderhow the gentleman would feel had England used similar tactics successfully in the WC, perhaps we would be hearing about resultsare what matters at the end of the day. Arsenal fan maybe?

Another thing I find peculiar is some teams get their props from playing minnows!

A very good night to yuh, Mexxx.

Blessed

Some teams do get their props from playing minnows, but Big SidEEE!!! show the world and always beat other big teams, ohh just last year it was Juventus and Real Madrid, are their any bigger teams in Europe?

This year the list continues.... watch the ride... Rockman

erm ... last season there were Manu and Barca. How did you do against those teams lastseason?

At the end of the day it is about points so we/they can complain all they want Everton got an important point and if I was part of the board of the manager I would be happy.

As an Arsenal fan, I am very irritated by their inability to be more ruthless and for their continued fraility in defence. Address those issues and the theme of the article becomes a minor point of departure at least for Arsenal.

Guidance