Warlord, one more thing about your "clinical" Jones. The same year they both played for Southampton Jones scored 1 goal for every 9 shots....Fuller on the other hand was still at 1 goal for every 5.5 shots and was awesome the second half of the season when he was scoring at a clip of 1 goal approx. every 3.5 shots. No doubt you have an unsettled issue with Fuller, but still, stop maligning and mis-representing the man and his accomplishments.
Stoke vs Chelsea
Originally posted by TheDread View PostHere you go with that clinical again. I rate Jones, but how clinical can he be when he scores 1 goal every 10 shots? Call him clinical when he is scoring a goal every 2 to 5 shots.
The comparison isnt about Div1 football kingman. Im discussing both players in the premiership. Get your facts right.
Originally posted by TheDread View PostWarlord, one more thing about your "clinical" Jones. The same year they both played for Southampton Jones scored 1 goal for every 9 shots....Fuller on the other hand was still at 1 goal for every 5.5 shots and was awesome the second half of the season when he was scoring at a clip of 1 goal approx. every 3.5 shots. No doubt you have an unsettled issue with Fuller, but still, stop maligning and mis-representing the man and his accomplishments.
Ricardo Fuller's football record.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ricardo_Fuller
Kenwyne Jones overall record in England
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenwyne_Jones
Keep in mind the comparison is based on EPL stats and not Championship or lower league football. You tell me now.
Originally posted by Brush View PostWarlord consistently throw things out there without facts or anything to back up what he is saying. TheDread made reference to Jones' and Fuller's strike rate and the results suggest that Fuller's strike rate is far superior to Jones' yet Warlord states that Jones is more clinical. What's up with that?
You seem to not understand that were discussing EPL stats here and not Div1 football. I just posted the facts for you and The Dread to see what im talking about.
This is almost as bad as him including Damani Ralph into his starting eleven for our recent Wc qualifier.
Originally posted by Warlord View PostAgain we're not discussing Div 1 football brethren. Jones had 2 appearances for Southampton when they were in the Premiership. As a matter of fact he was loaned out to Stoke and Sheffield Wednesday to gain some experience and first team football. It wasnt until Southampton was relegated and Fuller was sold then he became their #1 option and started to play often scoring goals at will. You claim Willy Boo's record is better in front of goal. I'll prove how your assumption is flawed. Lets look at the EPL stats.
Ricardo Fuller's football record.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ricardo_Fuller
Kenwyne Jones overall record in England
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenwyne_Jones
Keep in mind the comparison is based on EPL stats and not Championship or lower league football. You tell me now.
Originally posted by Warlord View PostThe comparison isnt about Div1 football kingman. Im discussing both players in the premiership. Get your facts right.
[quote=TheDread;132508]My facts are right for the prem. Jones scored 1 goal for every 10 shots he took last season in the prem...does that sound clinical to you
I checked game stats and Jones doesnt take that many shots on goal. Where did you get that analysis from? My reason for saying he's clinical is because if you give players like him, Drogba, Adebayor, half a chance in the six yard box they will bury it.
Fuller is scoring 1 goal for every 5.3 shots in the prem. this season...pretty much the same rate he did last season in the championship. If you want to prove your point that Fuller is not prem. talent you need to wait and see what unfolds this season.
Again where do you get those stats? I dont see that anywhere. I dont even hear any top premiership defenders talking about Fuller's ability and the problems he poses. I did hear England defender John Terry say this about Kenwyne Jones:
Chelsea captain John Terry praised Jones, saying: "Jones was fantastic and I have played against him twice now. He is a very good player, very hard working and probably the best in the air in the entire Premier League, he really is that good" after Chelsea had won the match 1–0."
Don't keep rushing back to his season with Portsmouth when he was recovering from a serious knee injury. Last season is the first full season Fuller has played without knee problems from that Preston surgey. The man knee used to swell up like grapefruits after games and practice at Ports. because he was playing before he was completely healed. Give the man credit..he has heart and before the season is over he will have shown that he belongs.
So youre saying that Fuller was unfit to play for Portsmouth yet he played 30+ games for the south coast club that season? Why would they play him so many games if he was as injured as you put it? They had 7 strikers in 04-05 season so why would they play him? Its not like they didnt have depth.
These were Portsmouth's strikers for the 2004-2005 EPL season
Yakubu Ayegbeni1982-12-22
NGR1.85200319Ricardo Fuller1979-10-31JAM1.91200421Diomansy Kamara1980-11-08FRA1.81200432Trésor Lomana Lua Lua1980-12-28RDC1.80200417Vincent Pericard1982-10-03CMR1.86200327Aleksandar Rodic1980-10-15SLO1.8720059Svetoslav Todorov1978-08-30BUL1.732002
[quote=Warlord;132512]Originally posted by TheDread View Post?
I checked game stats and Jones doesnt take that many shots on goal. Where did you get that analysis from? My reason for saying he's clinical is because if you give players like him, Drogba, Adebayor, half a chance in the six yard box they will bury it.
Again where do you get those stats? I dont see that anywhere. I dont even hear any top premiership defenders talking about Fuller's ability and the problems he poses. I did hear England defender John Terry say this about Kenwyne Jones:
Chelsea captain John Terry praised Jones, saying: "Jones was fantastic and I have played against him twice now. He is a very good player, very hard working and probably the best in the air in the entire Premier League, he really is that good" after Chelsea had won the match 1–0."
So youre saying that Fuller was unfit to play for Portsmouth yet he played 30+ games for the south coast club that season? Why would they play him so many games if he was as injured as you put it? They had 7 strikers in 04-05 season so why would they play him? Its not like they didnt have depth.
These were Portsmouth's strikers for the 2004-2005 EPL season
Yakubu Ayegbeni1982-12-22
NGR1.85200319Ricardo Fuller1979-10-31JAM1.91200421Diomansy Kamara1980-11-08FRA1.81200432Trésor Lomana Lua Lua1980-12-28RDC1.80200417Vincent Pericard1982-10-03CMR1.86200327Aleksandar Rodic1980-10-15SLO1.8720059Svetoslav Todorov1978-08-30BUL1.732002
You like to make sweeping statements about Fuller without paying attention to the facts. Jones scored 7 goals on 69 shots last season. Very clinical indeed. The facts are out there, but it's your job to find them since you are the one trying to prove Mr. Fuller as not readdy yet. I'm sure John did mention Jones, but I'm also sure his peers never voted him on the team of the season like Fuller's peers did. What make Fuller's peers vote even more amazing is the fact that he was voted over strikers that scored more goals than him.
Fuller's knee was still a problem when he played for Portsmouth. It wasn't going to fall apart, but it was nowhere near 100 %. Opportunity knocked and Fuller jumped on it . It is a testament to the player that Redknapp thought highly enough of him to play him over a few other players when he was not 100%. Note he was recovering from injury and not 100 %.
He should be credited for going back down to the Championship and prove himself after all his injury problems. A player like Louis Saha has a similar problem as Fuller yet he was able to stay up in the Premiership and command a big salary.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Warlord View PostYoure cant be serious? Jones isnt better than Fuller?
Jones is injured and havent played for several months. He is 23 yrs and has has enormous potential to get better while Fuller is zeroing on 30. Jones has a better first touch, has alot more pace, clinical in the 6 yard box and can head the ball just as good as Drogba and Adebayor. He is a complete player. How much more proof do I have to present you with to show that he is better? Why would a team like Liverpool show interest in him?
Saha dun did get him contract, dem did have to pay him, from the first time fuller go england an dem find out him did have a curve spine him have a question mark side him name, memba a strighten dem have to straighten him, dat did tek a good time a hearts him go fi bill bak,, he made a wrong choice going from preston to premiereship he wasn't ready physically at the time but jumped at the chance to play in the premiership.
Originally posted by Dunny View PostLast season Jones scored 7 goals in 33 games,i think Fuller will match or even better that this season if he stays injury free.Just to sum up, my take on Fuller is that he is a very dangerous player if used in the correct manner is record for Preston in the Championship was 27 goals in 58 games.His overall record for Preston reads 27 in 75 games for Southampton he scored 9 in 31 games for Hearts he scored 8 in 27 games and for Ipswich 2 goals in 3 games.That record stand up to scrutiny,i know the majority of those games are not EPL games but it's still a good standard of football so it's up to the next Jamaica manager to get the best out of him because without doubt he is a very good player, i think if he wasn't injury prone he would've taken the prem by storm.Lets hope he gets the chance to put that right this season.And by the way i am a big Kenwyne Jones fan i hope he goes on to fulfill his potential.
Keep in mind he did miss a number of games last season due to injury and it was his first season in the EPL. He's yet to kick a ball so far his season. There was a spell where he had a goal drought but there was also a period where he scored 5 goals in 7 games. On Fuller's side, he's not a complete player. He cannot knock down the ball in the air, has a poor first touch and isnt a back to goal striker. As Ive said KJ has the type of quality that players like Adebayor and Drogba has.
Originally posted by 1of1 View Postthe only reason fuller wasn't picked up by a prem. ship team, was that everyone knew about his knee problem and were not willing to take a chance, it was never about his attributes as a striker
Absolutely false logic. Then why in 2001 did Sir Alex Ferguson buy Ruud van Nistelrooy from PSV Eindhoven for 19 million pounds?
He had a history of chronic knee problems that almost ended his career at 23 yrs old. In Fuller's case it had to do more with lack of quality as a player and not his injuries. Im sure some manager in the EPL wouldve gambled and purchased him if he was any good.