• Wenger blasts negative Everton

<H2></H2><SPAN>First Published: Oct 29, 2006</SPAN>

Arsene Wenger berated Everton's "negative" tactics after Arsenal's Premiership title ambitions were dented by a 1-1 draw with the Merseysiders.

The Gunners manager accused David Moyes' side of deliberately wasting time as they attempted to protect the slender lead established by Tim Cahill's 10th-minute goal at the Emirates stadium.

Robin van Persie eventually preserved Arsenal's unbeaten home record with a spectacular free-kick deep into the second half, but that was scant consolation for Wenger as he confronted a seven-point gap to the Premiership joint-leaders Manchester United and Chelsea.

His anger was chiefly aimed at the visitors' goalkeeper Tim Howard. Wenger was antagonised by the American, not only for his string of excellent saves, but also by his unhurried approach to taking goal-kicks.

"It's very frustrating when you don't win against a side who do not have a single shot on target apart from their goal and when you have 70 per cent of the ball," Wenger said.

"Everton defended very intelligently and with great spirit, but they also broke up the game a lot and that is the way football is going, unfortunately.

"It's hard to take but there is nothing we can do. I have nothing against negative football when it is played in the right spirit but when you have to wait two minutes for the goalkeeper to take a kick, and watch him go backwards and forwards across his six-yard box, the game I think becomes less enjoyable."

Wenger had a point, but his grievances should have been directed towards his own players, who produced one of their most lethargic performances of the season.

Despite falling behind in the 10th minute when Cahill capitalised on Kolo Toure's botched attempt to clear Mikael Arteta's corner by shooting in from close range, Arsenal spent most of the afternoon engaged in the sort of pretty, but purposeless, passing moves which have become their unwanted hallmark.

Although Howard saved smartly from Francesc Fabregas' 20-yard drive and Thierry Henry's towering header, Everton's rear-guard action was largely comfortable.

Henry even found himself the rare target of criticism, with one misplaced pass drawing a markedly grouchy response from the 60,000-strong crowd.

"In many aspects of the game we did very well but in the final third we lacked sharpness, vision and determination to attack crosses," Wenger added.

"When you play against a team like Everton, it is even more important not to concede the first goal and we have to be much more rigorous in the way we defend set-pieces. But although we are frustrated I have to applaud the side's character: we were determined not to be beaten."

That perseverance was encapsulated by van Persie, who consummately dispatched a 20-yard free-kick in the 70th minute to restore parity, although even that could not dampen Moyes' good mood.

This was the first time since 1996 that Everton had travelled to Arsenal and avoided defeat, and the Scot's satisfaction was gilded by the knowledge that a draw was secured in the face of both a flu epidemic and his own dismissal from the dug-out in the dying seconds for dissent.

"The performance was gutsy," Moyes said.

"It was a different sort of display to the ones we have produced for most of the season but all credit to the lads for that. Six players were suffering from a bug but they dug deep, which is really impressive and bodes well for the future."

RE: Wenger blasts negative Everton

See, this is what mi nuh like bout Wenger. Him expect his opponents to play in a manner that allows Arsenal to win. The whining thing gets awfully tiresome now. Mi notice the one Rafa and Jose have the bitching behaviour to.

Hehe....Wenger sounds like such a little biotch. Notice how Mexxx run hide whenever Arsenal don't win right? But the next time they beat up on Little Sister's of the Poor Mexx will pop his head back out talking about big side. Bwoy de Arsenal people dem weak. - T.K.

Is not Mexx alone. All last week Karl talking bout Gummers time now. Now him simply missing.

By the way, anybody see Balla? Him see the storm on coming on the horizon and there is no where to run but to a sack cloth and ashes session. Batten down good Balla, this storm look dangerous.

Lazie (10/30/2006)Is not Mexx alone. All last week Karl talking bout Gummers time now. Now him simply missing.

By the way, anybody see Balla? Him see the storm on coming on the horizon and there is no where to run but to a sack cloth and ashes session. Batten down good Balla, this storm look dangerous.
          Hey! Early days yet!

We have a game in hand and when we take that 3 points we are only 4 points behind...with return match against you!

BTW - Did you really expect it would not be a fight between - BoyU, Chelsea and Liverpool for places 2nd through 4th? Why the pre-mature gloating? :w00t:

GUNNERS time now!

Your point?

The point?

Stop di puppa-lick dem now! Di race nuh even start good!

GUNNERS time NOW!

Dat nuh mek sense. Why edit the post after I responded. KArl, we can mek a bet .. ManU gonna destroy unuh in the return game. Sleep on that.

<DIV>NPL teams are notorious for wasting time, esp. Portmore United. Every lead is "protected" no matter if you have 89 minutes left on the clock! Every restart is cynically delayed and the worst part is, the ref only recognises this in the last 5 minutes of the match, gleefully handing out yellow cards for time wasting offences that weren't nearly as bad as those occurring much earlier.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And the NPL MUST put a stop to the habit of players who feign serious injury because they want the ref to stop the game. To to end this practice!!!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Unless it is clear that someone burst a jugular, continue with the game!!!!</DIV>

The post is mput up...and, then I need to expand or clarify and does so...&amp; yuh bex?

I haven't checked the time I first put up the post, but, in this case it must have been almost immediately after that first 'submit' that I made changes.

PS: There are times I make changes to my posts long after they have been up. ...but, usually I have gone back and re-read and discover errors in spelling, grammer...and, sentence construction...or, I find that the intent could be open to one or more interpretations and I wanted to zero in on making my intent clear.

Yup! I agree with you that could create a problem for someone who hasalready answered the original post. I'll try harder to make my posts error free...and, if I need to clarify, I'll clarify in a second post. Point taken, sir!

As a man who love this beautiful game, I agree with Wenger on the subject of the negative biatch ball that Everton and many other teams resort to playing when they are up against the BIG SIDE. It is undeniable that the Shottas are the most entertaining club side to watch. However, it seems like no matter what, we just won't please the haters.

Sensi...how yuh mean? the man must vex yes. Arsenal come out all the time with guns blazing and fassies a run fi cover and naa fire back? Wha unnu no have no ammunition?

Oh... Manugonna destroy unuh in the return game. Sleep on that

Joke dat!

Sensi (10/30/2006)As a man who love this beautiful game, I agree with Wenger on the subject of the negative biatch ball that Everton and many other teams resort to playing when they are up against the BIG SIDE. It is undeniable that the Shottas are the most entertaining club side to watch. However, it seems like no matter what, we just won't please the haters.

Sensi...how yuh mean? the man must vex yes. Arsenal come out all the time with guns blazing and fassies a run fi cover and naa fire back? Wha unnu no have no ammunition?
                          Suh Sensi, does that mek you and Wenger an Everton hayter? Everton's aim is to get points from the game, not to allow Arsenal to have their way. As a matter of fact, check this quote, "Wenger had a point, but his grievances should have been directed towards his own players, who produced one of their most lethargic performances of the season."

How unuh become the most entertaining? Check the quote again? "Arsenal spent most of the afternoon engaged in the sort of pretty, but purposeless, passing moves which have become their unwanted hallmark."

Unuh need fi be fair.

Unuh beat we, no argument there, but vengance is mine! When we done unuh affi rename the stadium Manu's stomping ground.

Hey Hey Hey!!!! Lazie and TK!!!! listen up fellows

I am trying to make BANK!!! while becoming Ghandi and Soloman all in one, dat tek nuf Work!!! []

Is me lunch time and I am in town so me can post.

Lazie,TK, are you Distingushed Gents honest men most of the times?

What are the best games in the EPL? more times than not it is

BoyU and Big SidEEE!!! because they stand toe to toe, a fire box and lick afta one a nedda.

Every other team that plays Big SidEEE!!! plays 8 - 1 - 1 and that is 8 defenders in the last 1/4 of the field (not even using the more used One Third of the field)

Even Chelsea play STENCH ball when they play Big SidEEE!!!, dem always resort to Anti Football wid Bolton style 80 yard pass to Drogba or 1 other person.

but if it get dem lickle result against Big SidEEE!!! dem will keep up de STENCH and FEAR dem life fe play ball, all dem looking is free kick and penalty.

Big SidEEE!!! MUST and WILL find a way to beat de Shiitstem, and as a Liverpool fan said over the weekend "we're playing like Arsenal"

We take those compliments
                              http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif