The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

RE: The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

Centerpiece of Laza's midfield? Laza and his midfield didn't make it to the hex...
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

you are not laughing. Truth hurtslike hell.

So one more goal would validate the midfield ?

You can produce goal scoring opportunities.. you still have to score.

How many goals did the forwards score.. after you remove King from the equation ?

How many attempts on goal did they have ?

These questions may be a bit technical for you style of argument but give it a try.

What truth ?

How do you rationalize the best away performance in the history of Reggaeboyz qualifying ?

The difference was in the finishing at HOME.

They allowed 3 goals at home.. 2 in the last 2 minutes of play.. one playing with 10 men for 3/4 of a game...

They scored 2 goals out of over35 attempts on goal.. is that a midfield issue ?

Keep the jokes coming.

Counter one argument nuh man instead of purposely bringinga nicediscussion into disrepute.Show an ability tobring some intellect to ahealthy discussion with others without calling someone stupid- if I made a stupid post it wouldn'tbun you up so. Ithink if you could disprove one thing I said you would at least try. Just try...

We didn't qualify though centerpiece and all... You aren'tputting failure on just one unit of the team while excluding the man you try to call the centerpiece. How many of our goal attempts came from Fuller creating for himself or for other players. If you are going to tell that lie that it was Whitmore doing that then I wont read that post either... hear no evil see no evil they say....

Lazie (10/31/2006)Siya, nuh bother wid the foolishness ... Tilla, yuh let me down. Unuh can say Tappa was inconsistent, no argument from me there, but fia guy try discount Tappa's greatness prepare fi defend it.
                Lazie: As Michael Manley would say, "there you go misquoting me again!" My beef was never about Tappa and his ability when he was on top of his game. My beef was about us treating the man as the Russians did to Breschnev (sp??). The man was basically dead, but the Russians kept him propped up in the public view to give the impression that he was still in charge. This was my grouse with Tappa. The technical staff should have chosen to use him in a lesser role, now that his game was diminishing with age. They persisted with the hope that he would produce the magic we had come to know from him over the years. We were expecting so much of the man at the expense of grooming or scouting for younger talent to take over.

I do not think there was a bigger Tappa fan than yours truly when he was on his game. The truth is, I realized when he was pass it and decided to start the call for a replacement. A replacement too did not necessarily mean dumping the man totally, but fazing him out gradually as we usher in the new younger talent.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

How mi misquote yuh when yuh clearly a compliment Siya pon post? Mek mi jog yuh memory!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=smalltxt vAlign=top><SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage><DIV class=Quote>Siya (10/31/2006) <HR class=hr noShade SIZE=1>Most effective my foot. How is a midfielder who doesn't shoot; doesn't tackle, is over six feet tall but can't win anything in the air, wont even try; is supposed to be the midfield general but doesn't make through passes or even make forward passes or even make passes beyond a certain distance the most effective midfielder.

You know what effective is? Try Peter Cargill -immaculate first touch; cant knock him off the ball - he held on tohis'girl'until he wanted to pass it; Won almost all fifty fifty balls -great in the air, hard shot.Used a great range of passes to dictate the pace at which we played that's the real loss we had in midfield and have never managed to replace him. He didn't want to retire - Simoes retired him immediately after the world cup.When did whitmore become this effective midfielder? His detractors called him the shadow his supporters said he was a bypassed midfielder -both of you in effect acknowledged he didn't do much but gave different reasons why.

Most effective since when?</DIV>

Wikid Siya!!

Tell mi suppen. Red Stripe comes in 40 OZ?</SPAN> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Tilla (10/31/2006)
                    Lazie (10/31/2006)Siya, nuh bother wid the foolishness ... Tilla, yuh let me down. Unuh can say Tappa was inconsistent, no argument from me there, but fia guy try discount Tappa's greatness prepare fi defend it.
                    I do not think there was a bigger Tappa fan than yours truly when he was on his game. The truth is,

Another Tappa thread.....:crazy:

Not another Tappa thread. The man chooses to call me out on bashing Tappa in his thread. I felt it was necessary to respond.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Just mi a mout yuh. :doze:

The fact is, Tappa dribbled too much. That's not what midfielders are there to do. Great dribbler, yes, and a good passer of the ball, but he dribbled too much. Because of that, our passing suffered and good goalscoring chances were hard to come by.

One big exception was the DC game in 97. The whole team, including Tappa, lifted its passing game. Hence the good performance.

The game is about passing the ball.

And that's why we needed just one more person on the field who could create goals out of nothing for himself and others. That would have put us over the top. Yes, Tappa could play alongside this player, but since Tappa wasn't going to do anything magical to create goals, then ...

I will leave the lying to you, it is your forte:

How is a midfielder who doesn't shoot; doesn't tackle, is over six feet tall but can't win anything in the air, wont even try; is supposed to be the midfield general but doesn't make through passes or even make forward passes or even make passes beyond a certain distance

Reveal yuh agenda.

This revisionist history is quite amusing.

Without Tappa Whitmore and Andy Williams the Reggaeboyz, the midfield will be mediocre at best.

2 World Class players.. might have to wait a couple generations to get another one much less two...

Meanwhile we can pretend with Hue and company.