The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

RE: The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

Siya (10/31/2006)Most effective my foot. How is a midfielder who doesn't shoot; doesn't tackle, is over six feet tall but can't win anything in the air, wont even try; is supposed to be the midfield general but doesn't make through passes or even make forward passes or even make passes beyond a certain distance the most effective midfielder.

You know what effective is? Try Peter Cargill -immaculate first touch; cant knock him off the ball - he held on tohis'girl'until he wanted to pass it; Won almost all fifty fifty balls -great in the air, hard shot.Used a great range of passes to dictate the pace at which we played that's the real loss we had in midfield and have never managed to replace him. He didn't want to retire - Simoes retired him immediately after the world cup.When did whitmore become this effective midfielder? His detractors called him the shadow his supporters said he was a bypassed midfielder -both of you in effect acknowledged he didn't do much but gave different reasons why.

Most effective since when?
    I wonder why you keep trying to drag Tappa in an argument on development of our youth?

If you are going to drag Tappa into the argument make it relevant to the discussion - nuh?

Mosiah (10/31/2006)<DIV>Personal responsibility is always a factor. But when the players don't have a good structure within which to improve, they will get sidetracked. I am saying fix the structure first. Only then we can blame them for whatever else they get themselves into.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I am just not convinced that if they were in a similar system as d'Alessandro and Saviola they would have time for anything else.</DIV>
      Clap! Clap! Clap!

Wah yuh seh? ---&gt; Provide the environment for countinuous progression? ----&gt; Fix the structure!

Clap! Clap! Clap!

Secondly - I will agree that playing three or four matches at those age-group championships should allow for potential to be seen. ...but, even playing well at age-group championships do not of itself provide the means to fulfill potential.
        ...as our players move through the various age -groups, keep them playing against TOP LEVEL INTERNATIONAL AGE-GROUP TEAMS.
        So based on the two contradictory posts above when do they get to make the jump? You are saying they should play all those games against teams only the USA with the help of Nike money and influence can really get -even thoughsuch games dont help them fulfill their potential?

But, what are you promoting...kick out the senior players who are better than the youngsters.
        The generation we are discussing was our first to get the training to deal with the best in CONCACAF and they didn't disappoint. The first world cup where Landon Donovan etc move to the senior level and helped their team run rings around our established stars... I would draw fiKK and crew fi deal wid di case so fast....because certain man done since 1998.

Keith Kelly was never a bad player to me. You guys claimed he was the coming of the best thing since sliced bread. I disagreed. ...but, I certainly saw his POTENTIAL.
        Keith Kelly had more than potential on Tappa he had already played in better leagues than Tappa did his whole career before he was twenty.

How can you have them sitting twiddling their thumbs and expect them to have developed to 'first rate quality'...deserving of competing on a level playing field against players in higher professional levels?
        Again where did Tappa and Bibi and Pepe go to develop that international quality.Face it thosewere the first set of guys that we got used to seeing play for Jamaica at a High levelandyou cant see them being replaced ever.

Most of the players sat around for years...and, are still sitting around.
        So you know this to be true and still you ask the question below

I wonder why you believe we can never get quality matches for each and every one of our national teams ALL THE TIME?
        SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

It would probably take me a whole year to downa six pack

Its a sore point for many people Karl. Read the topicthat started this discussion... you posted it. We are dealing with youth who were scouted and developed like none before or since and showed their class against their CONCACAF peers but by time dem touch 20 had to hold dem corner and for who...

Oh sorry, I confused you for someone that actually watched Reggaeboyz football.

Of all the midfielders that Jamaica has put on the field since 1998 if you were to choose 1 to give the ball to it would have to be Whitmore.

He operates about 2 levels above the next best Jamaican bred midfield player. That is what Genius is about. That is why any serious coach would have to give him the controlling role in Midfield. He is the best possession midfielder Jamaica has, never gets flustered, is pinpoint accurate in his passes and has a 360 degree view of the field.

This is beyond the average cheerleader however, hence the rather silly commentary from some regarding our midfield.

When a Brazilian Coach comes in and makes him the central cogof the best midfield performing unitto date from a Reggaeboyz 11, it only highlights your stupidity.

You can only replace a Tappa Whitmore with comparable Genius.. I suspect we will have to wait 20 years for that.

I read the first line barely then stopped.Quite hard to havea conversation with someone who doesn't know how.

Siya (10/31/2006)Most effective my foot. How is a midfielder who doesn't shoot; doesn't tackle, is over six feet tall but can't win anything in the air, wont even try; is supposed to be the midfield general but doesn't make through passes or even make forward passes or even make passes beyond a certain distance the most effective midfielder.

You know what effective is? Try Peter Cargill -immaculate first touch; cant knock him off the ball - he held on tohis'girl'until he wanted to pass it; Won almost all fifty fifty balls -great in the air, hard shot.Used a great range of passes to dictate the pace at which we played that's the real loss we had in midfield and have never managed to replace him. He didn't want to retire - Simoes retired him immediately after the world cup.When did whitmore become this effective midfielder? His detractors called him the shadow his supporters said he was a bypassed midfielder -both of you in effect acknowledged he didn't do much but gave different reasons why.

Most effective since when?
                  Wikid Siya!!

Tell mi suppen. Red Stripe comes in 40 OZ?
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well then maybe you should learn to read more than one line.

Iperservered througout your entire ramble about Whitmore and his 'flaws'.

How else would I properly determine just how far off base you are on this topic.

Maybe down in Philly...

Siya, nuh bother wid the foolishness ... Tilla, yuh let me down. Unuh can say Tappa was inconsistent, no argument from me there, but fia guy try discount Tappa's greatness prepare fi defend it.

Suh now Tappa nuh have nuh first touch? Now Tappa cyaan mek through pass? SLAP UNUHSELF. I recall a gem of a pass the man mek to Burton, wha him duh wid the ball? If the forward dem nah move fi get the ball wha unuh expect him fi duh?

Suh now Cargill bettah than Tappa? Two twos unuh ago claim Fabian Davis bettah than the General.

Try and make an intelligent post without hyperbole.

How is a midfielder who doesn't shoot; doesn't tackle, is over six feet tall but can't win anything in the air, wont even try; is supposed to be the midfield general but doesn't make through passes or even make forward passes or even make passes beyond a certain distance the most effective midfielder.

Did you watch ANY of the qualifying games under Lazaroni ?

Whitmore was the centerpiece of Laza midfield, Pray tell how did the Reggaeboyz dominate possession and attempts on goal during their stretch of 6 games with a midfielder as described above ?

Magic ?

I don't know about Fabian Davis, all I am saying is Peter Cargill was a better midfielder for Jamaica than Whitmore. Part of our Downfall is we haven't replaced Peter Cargill. He was the man who controlled the midfield not Whitmore. Whitmore ran at teams to great effect as the rightsided midfielder sometimes right behind the forwards it was actually when he was given more responsibility with the ball (General as some of you tried to call him)that his game fell off.

Lazie if you have to recall one incident where Whitmore made a through pass to Burton (vs Honduras -2001) then he probably wasn't making as many through passes as a midfield general is supposed to -otherwise you would have just laughed at me. Thats the truth.

It gone past laughing at you.

It sounds like you actually believe the crap you are posting.. that is sad not funny.

Any game tape of last qualifying would debunk your nonsense.

France World Cup winning team, who was midfield general? Petit or Zidane? Chelsea's team last season, who was the general, Claude or Lampard? The Italian World Cup winners, who was the M.G., Pirlo or Gattuso?

As mi say, Tappa was inconsistent, yuh can say that, but nuh discount the General's greatness. The reason I used that example was because of what the forward did with it. The best mid I see play fi yaad is Tappa, unuh need fi appreciate that.

Easy Mosiah, if Hue is the Maestro, Tappa is the Composer.