The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

• The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC), young Reggae Boyz struggle to shine for senior team
    published: Monday | October 30, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

Gordon Williams, Contributor

Left: Sean Fraser playing for Miami F.C. CenterRight: Fabian Dawkins. Right: Shavar Thomas (left) playing for the senior Reggae Boyz in the recently-concluded Digicel Caribbean Cup qualifiers at the National Stadium.

Shavar Thomas remembers marking Rob Friend during Jamaica's football international at 'The Office' earlier this month.

"Big, strong, fast," the central defender thought of the 6' 4", 210-pound striker who had scored Canada's<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN> only goal to beat Jamaica when the teams met in early September.

"But nothing really special."

Thomas had played against Friend before, at the youth level. The last time was when he captainedJamaica's under-23s in a practice match against Canada in Florida, prior to the young Reggae Boyz's hyped, but failed, Olympic qualifying bid.

Friend, who now plays in Holland's top league, wasn't "really special" then either, Thomas said, especially when compared to players he had faced before at the 2001 under-20 FIFA<SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative"></SPAN> World Youth Championships (WYC), a tournament the Canadian had also played in.

"Saviola, Coloccini, D'Ales-sandro," Thomas recalls. The names of the young Argentine trio rolled much easier off his tongue. They are harder to forget because he sees them often, playing for top clubs and their senior national team - even at the 2006 World Cup. Thomas remembers testing himself against current Brazilian stars Kaka, Adriano and others at under-20 too.

Yet, despite unending promises - which many players made to themselves and claim local football administrators pledged to them as well - it is hard to gather names from Jamaica's squads at the 1999 under-17 WYC finals in New Zealand and the under-20 tournament in Argentina, which have made a big impact as Reggae Boyz.

While Landon Donovan, DaMarcus Beasley and Oguchi Onyewu, all members of the United States team in New Zealand in 1999, became cornerstones of the American squad to Germany in 2006, where Michael Essien - another '99 product - also starred for Ghana, somewhere alon

RE: The Lost Boyz - After playing in two World Youth Championships (WYC)...

Easy to get lost if after a sustained period of playing quality age-group teams there is no longer any regular diet of international games...not even games against sub-standard competition.

There is a reason why the TOP OF THE WORLD teams are contantly playing international matches. There is a reason why TOP OF THE WORLD national associations keep their age-group teams constantly match-ready i.e. eating a diet of quality international matches against their peers!

There is a reason why these TOP OF THE WORLD national associations do not throw their 'not yet ready' youngsters into the national senior team!

There is a reason why only the youngsters that prove on merit they deserve to be with the national senior team are selected!

Wish that our JFF would seek to understand (currently they do not) why the above is as it is! Wish that our JFF would get 'it'!

<DIV>On the other hand, we are sometimes too nervous to include these youngsters when they have demonstrated that they are ready for the senior role. Why was talent like Jermaine Hue excluded for years and only became a fixture, in fact, the fixture on the national side less than 2 years ago?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Had we not thrown away people like Shavar for some wishy-washy reason, he would probably have matured into one of our mainstays of the national team 3 or 4 years ago. Now, he's 25!</DIV>

The coaches have just failed to groom these yutes for the future. Carl Brown especially prefers to go with players that he knows, and takes a cautious approach. The end result is that he kept players who lost their effectiveness years ago, and failed to include fresh blood in his squads.

Karl - no need fi you to respond to every comment about Carl Brown.

<DIV>Well, what about those players who were groomed elsewhere? Shavar has been in the MLS for sometime now, Keith Kelly was with PSG for a while too. I believe we did not recognise their talents, or were scared to put them in ahead of or alongsidesome veterans, or were too fixed on our own agendas and this has led to the "losing" of some of our players. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Are we saying that these farin programs also failed in grooming our players?</DIV>

you see that is why mi love Rene Simoes. Him not afraid to fling youth to the wolves.

Coaches like CB pretty much pick his team from the NPL and a few others.

Downswell was a little bit more open but technically he let us down.

We need coaches to know when the youth them ready and give them a run.

If Jermaine Hue had gotten better chances and guidance after Laza first stint he would be in a good league today. I see Akeem Priestly as a kinda version of Jermaine Hue, I only hope he will develop at UCONN because age may not be with Hue.

Can't blame the overseas clubs. How is it Bibi and Claude Davis a star as two bigtime EPL defenders and we keep on getting 6-0?

This have nothing to do with the overseas club. JA has a lot of players at their disposal and the teams have certainly reflected the quality and likes of the Jamaican coaching staff.

We should temper our wrath against Carl Brown. He was faced with the daunting task of trying to qualify us at whatever means necessary. The administrators made no bones that was the ultimate and only goal in order to fund their other projects. Youth development was only used to get people into office. On the other hand, the other programmes depended solely upon the success of the senior squad. "Catch 22".

I blame the administration for their lack of vision and ideas on how to capitalise on the '98 success.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I hope you see that's not what I'm saying!

So true! When your mandate is "Qualify us! Here is your basket, go fetch some water!", then CB and others in his position will not want to be blooding players. He would not have any time for that!

Mo it have a lot to do with what you are saying.

The fact is the talent is out there, we just have to put our houses in order and give the players a chance to grow in a system.

First and foremost we need a system.

Even when these players are playing at the highest level they are not able to contributeto our system for one reason or the other.

Our youngsters are not seen for what they are "talent" instead of looking for talent we go with the NPLers and fool ourselves bout teams prepared when them only play togather fi 2 weeks.

pass through your neck of the woods this weekend and mi mind run pon you but you know how business go.

Chris Nicholas, Craig Gordon, KEITH KELLY, Omar Daley, FABIAN DAWKINS,Khari, Shane Stevens, KEVON HARRIS, Damion Capo Williams, Woolery Wolfe, Alex and Shavar Thomas - mention anyone of these players who never lost in CONCACAF qualifiers at U17 or U20 levels and people like Karl would get mad saying they could not possibly take us to the top of the world. Dem a bwoy... any policy that brings Keith Kelly (easily one of the top three or four Jamaicans I have ever seen) to the fore ahead of some dead stock mainstays in the senior team is foolishness and must be abandoned immediately so Tappa can prove his GENIUS.

As for Carl Brown... that man buss so many young players as national coach its not even funny. But when people don't respect you and Call for your firing and insult your intelligence after every friendly win lose or draw guess what... he threw out youth in favor of his job. He hurriedly went looking for and found the Richard Langleys of this worldtrying to stay on the safe side...

If you know you cant win just either quit or ride until you get pull off...
                          SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Educate dem, yes!

I tried to respond to Karl's post over the weekend with the same sentiments but my I had problems submitting the post.

Basically how can you say the youth must be prepared by playing top of the world teams before they can come into the senior squad and for years sit on this site steadfastly and shamelessly fighting down Keith Kelly who only played at two Youth world cups and got tutored at PSGand was running a midfield in Belgium's top flight before he was twenty.

I remember Wendell telling me about the U20 World cup in Argentina where an Argentine fan who saw Keith play brought him a Maradona Jersey and asked him to give it to the youth out of appreciation of the talent but we as Jamaicansfelt fine seeing him rot in Jamaica as long as Tappa started.
                              SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!