• Select the best squad every time for qualifiers

Select the best squad every time for qualifiers
    published: Wednesday | September 24, 2008

I BET YOU if the Reggae Boyz named at the weekend in the squad to tackle Mexico and Honduras in the October World Cup qualifying matches had been drafted for matches gone in this current group semi-final phase, Rene Simoes would have kept his job.

And there is absolutely no guarantee that this current crop of players selected by interim coach, Theodore Whitmore, would have put Jamaica in a better position had they been playing all along either. There are no guarantees that they would have won, or drawn any of the previous matches.

Simply, they would have made a better fit - giving the country its best chance of qualifying.

Give or take one or two players, which is normal in all selection procedures, they represent the best available Jamaican football talent due to the combined factors of class, quality and experience they have gained playing for this country, as well as the majority's daily existence on and off the field as professionals for clubs tied to leagues in the United States and Europe.

Select the best squad every time for qualifiers

Jamaica almost scored twice against Honduras off final passes made by Jermaine Hue, when captain Ricardo Gardner cracked a shot against the crossbar; and Fuller crashed a shot against the 'keeper. Hue only played for 15 minutes and that type of incisive passing certainly merited a longer run. Unfortunately, he can only watch, like Williams, who's capable of doing the same.
    I cannot understand why Jamaican coaches will not play Hue.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Jamaican coaches will not?

Wendell played him.
      Lazaroni played him in his first stint.
      Simoes and Wendell played him at the youth level.

Is only really CB and Tappa who refuse to pick him.

Something must've happened in the midst of the run-up to WC-98 when Carl Brown, Simoes and Whitmore were....let's say...in charge of things. If you notice, the only coaches who seem to have a problem with giving Hue any extended run are Simoes, Brown and Tappa.

Now, Tappa excluding Andy from the current squad is a biiiiiiggg surprise. Well, unless Tappa intends to play the games at a very fast pace, and has reasoned that Andy will not be able to keep up.

Hey Tappa! Just in case you haven't noticed....Sean "Matterhorn" Fraser is both skillful and speedy.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Even if playing with speed you need one player to hold up the ball and slow down the game sometimes. Now Austin is the only real direct dead ball kicker.

Don't worry. If we win our next two games, Maestro will be brought back to secure the victory. He is only called upon when they are desperate.

FOOLS!

Very true, "even if playing with speed you need one player to hold up the ball and slow down the game sometimes."

Bibi, King, Marshall and Teddy will have to help out Austin with the spot kicks.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011