• Ken Chaplin slams Burrell for the way he fired Simoes

Burrell vs Simoes
    KEN CHAPLIN
    Tuesday, September 23, 2008

The issue that caused the separation of service of the technical director of Jamaica's national team, Rene Simoes, and the Jamaica Football Federation has to do with the insistence of Simoes playing a young and inexperienced team.The more experienced overseas players were either benched or were not invited at all.

When Jamaica made history as the first English-speaking Caribbean country to qualify for the 1998 World Cup finals in France under the leadership of Simoes, an achievement which made the Brazilian a hero, it was the overseas players who carried the ball. But for some reason, Simoes benched many of the overseas players in the current campaign for the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa. On the other hand, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) wanted the island to field the best possible team at a given time - the World Cup preliminary rounds. Simoes felt that it was best to build a team mostly around local players to avoid not only the problem of getting overseas players, but also a team of players that plays together frequently and who would get accustomed to one another's movements on the field. Nothing is wrong with Simoes' plan except that it has to be a long-term development. It ought not to be experimented with nor tried out when the team is fighting for a place in the World Cup finals.

Another factor that bore heavily on Jamaica's mediocre performance in the current World Cup campaign was the limited time the players played together as a team. The JFF has to conform to rules set by FIFA, the world body that controls football, as regards the release of overseas players from their clubs and availability to the Jamaica team. No one could expect players who have not been playing together for a long time to go on the field and move with precision. Football is a game of movements, and good positional play is crucial to success. In 1998 it was a different ball game as most overseas players were based in England, and even if some were scattered among the clubs, they had seen each other play in the English League.

Bringing overseas players and local players together a month or so before a match (or matches) is inviting poor performance. The present team played a total of 11 matches, winning three, losing three and drawing 5. I remember some years ago when Haiti qualified for the World Cup finals in Germany, the team lived in a hotel for six months and played many matches before proceeding to Germany. Jamaica has three more World Cup matches to play. The team will have to win all three to be one of the six teams in the finals of the CONCACAF competition from which two teams will be selected to go to the World Cup finals. With a new coaching team of Jamaican-born former England international, John Barnes (whose father, Colonel Ken Barnes captained Jamaica), and Theodore Whitmore, once a great attacking player, there is a possibility that Jamaica could still go forward.

It is debatable whether Simoes should have been fired at this crucial stage when Jamaica has three more matches to play in the CONCACAF preliminary round. What is not debatable is the clumsy, unprofessional manner in which he was dismissed by Captain Horace Burrell, president of the Jamaica Football Federation. After the World Cup match against Honduras in which Jamaica lost, 0-2, Burrell called a meeting at 12:30 am in the hotel where the team was staying, to discuss the matter and by l:00 am the technical director was fired. Although Horace Reid, secretary of the JFF denied that Burrell used strident language to Simoes, I gathered that the parting was far from amicable. Simoes had two airline reservations - one from Honduras to Jamaica and the other from Honduras to Brazil. He took the one to Brazil because, as he said, he needed comfort from his family.

Nevertheless, in the end Burrell thanked Simoes for his service to Jamaica. Simoes was rather gracious. He refused to accept the balance of his US$600,000 pay and influenced his Brazilian assistants to accept less pay on the termination of contract. Some people who are experienced in business management have expressed the view that Simoes should not have been fired on foreign soil, especially in the land of the host country. All parties should have returned to Jamaica and the matter settled one way or the other. The matter should have been settled by the same committee which hired Simoes. It was also disingenuous of Burrell to blame the past administration of the JFF for the debacle when everything was at the door of the current administration.

Editor's note: Ken Chaplin is a former national and international referee, FIFA referee inspector and chairman of the JFF Referees Commission.
    Last edited by Karl; September 23, 2008, 08:19 AM.

Ken Chaplin's logic?

Originally posted by Time View Post
    Burrell vs Simoes
    KEN CHAPLIN
    Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Another factor that bore heavily on Jamaica's mediocre performance in the current World Cup campaign was the limited time the players played together as a team. The JFF has to conform to rules set by FIFA, the world body that controls football, as regards the release of overseas players from their clubs and availability to the Jamaica team. No one could expect players who have not been playing together for a long time to go on the field and move with precision. Football is a game of movements, and good positional play is crucial to success. In 1998 it was a different ball game as most overseas players were based in England, and even if some were scattered among the clubs, they had seen each other play in the English League.

Bringing overseas players and local players together a month or so before a match (or matches) is inviting poor performance. The present team played a total of 11 matches, winning three, losing three and drawing 5. I remember some years ago when Haiti qualified for the World Cup finals in Germany, the team lived in a hotel for six months and played many matches before proceeding to Germany.
    Ken is bang on with his recognising that training & preparation must be continuous and a steady diet of quality international matches is vital.

Ken gets a & here!

...but Ken then goes on to state what goes against the above previous statement...

It was also disingenuous of Burrell to blame the past administration of the JFF for the debacle when everything was at the door of the current administration.

Editor's note: Ken Chaplin is a former national and international referee, FIFA referee inspector and chairman of the JFF Referees Commission.
    ...if as Ken states in the earlier quote, preparation must be for many months...and he knows when Burrell took over...how then Boxhill, the man who should have had our team in training & preparation...playing quality matches from 2003 onwards not to have shouldered blame?

It is either we should have that long and continuous preparation or it should not have mattered! Fact is all...certainly all here should have been tired hearing me scream CONTINUOUS PREPARATION....NO STOP...START...STOP...START...STOP... & CONTANTLY PLAY QUALITY TEAMS as do the Brazils, Germanys, Mexicos and USAs...etc! Any other way is NONSENSE!

...unless the aim is continuously not qualifying for the World Cup and and continuously marking time as as a football minnow?! That could not be the aim...or, could it?

Sorry Ken, you get a & for this later comment!

...if as Ken states in the earlier quote, preparation must be for many months...and he knows when Burrell took over...how then Boxhill, the man who should have had our team in training & preparation...playing quality matches from 2003 onwards not to have shouldered blame?
      Did Boxhill interrupt this continuous training of which you speak? Do you recall what happened after 1998?

I don't expect fair and objective posts from you, but this amounts to plain LIES.

Great job on the firing Captain Burrell...!!

(most of these types of contracts have performance incentives. Most likely a clause was: the possibility of being fired if certain milestones were not achieved...

The part where Simoes refused well over US$ 1/2 Million...i am taking that with a 'pinch of salt'. My view is that that was also written into the contract...

BTW: If I am not mistaken, wasn't that other Brazilian Clovis D'olivera fired in costa rica!!??

Cap'n Horace Burrell is one of my business role model!

Did Boxhill interrupt this continuous training of which you speak? Do you recall what happened after 1998?

I don't expect fair and objective posts from you, but this amounts to plain LIES.
          They both had "stop-start-stop-start..." nonsense plans and actual actions!

End of quote.

There is yet to be seen that promised “development of a comprehensive national programme”.

Our football program stumbles along on the path of programs left in place by the Burrell administration. There is the National Premier League, Senior male teams, senior female teams and the various national youth teams being thrown into competitions without adequate preparations, adequate funding and with poor executive leadership. As usual our teams, as has any hastily assembled group of our players done in the past, stand a-top the Caribbean teams in Caribbean competitions. When they advance out of Caribbean competitions they fail dramatically on meeting CONCACAF and other teams in the wider world.

The plans enunciated in the Boxhill’s group THE NEW GAME PLAN can be properly described as the wishful thinking of dreamers. No detailed outlined documentation of how ‘those wishes’ were to be implemented has ever been produced. No attempts at making the ‘wishes’ reality has ever been put before the Jamaican people.

Mr. Boxhill, president of the JFF, reminded us some months past that qualification matches for the World Cup 2010 shall commence in a few short months. Notice has been taken that all the nations that were represented at the last 2006 World Cup have continued on with preparations for World Cup 2010. It is also instructive that the vast majority of the nations whose teams fall within the top 30 on the FIFA ranking charts…indeed many nations within our CONCACAF area have already embarked on their preparations.

July past president Boxhill was reported to have said:

'I am pleased to say we are making progress. We have received recent information that should allow us to reach some finality very soon in respect of a coach for the senior team,' he said. 'We expect to be doing formal interviews over the next week.'

Source: The Jamaica Online Star – Thursday, July 27, 2006

© Copyright 1997-2006 Gleaner Company Ltd

It is now September, 2006 and the men senior team has not a coach. Some of our national teams sit dormant awaiting Caribbean and or CONCACAF and or wider world competitions. There is no ongoing preparation for those our representatives. It appears that after approximately three years in office the Boxhill administration has not yet come to grips with the fact that the players and the country expect preparations of teams that will lead to successes in CONCACAF and the wider world. It appears the Boxhill administration, even as it spouts “promises” in its THE NEW GAME PLAN, has not a clue as to what defines successful leadership. The administration has approximately one year left of its term, the perception is a JFF that is clueless on the way forward. A JFF that is a rudderless entity.

Source: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?id=219
          You continually blind yourself to the fair and balanced manner in which I present my arguments. And you refuse to see that I have been from 1998, when some here claimed I was a spoil sport and should never have visited what we should be doing for future World Cups, other competetions and development, calling for perpetual preparations!

Fair and balanced??! Yuh cuss Boxhill for not keeping our teams in continuous preparation. His predecessor was not doing it either! Don't you get it?!?

You would think you would understand that Burrell is included in the following? -

Let us first acknowledge what we have been doing with our teams over the years. It is fact that in the past our national teams' players and our club teams' players are brought together mere days before tournaments commence. That is our reality. What then holds for the TOP OF THE WORLD teams?

I admire Arsenal Football Club’s and Manchester United Football Club’s type of club team play and I am a fan of the national team of Brazil and the national team of Germany type and structured play. The play is swift. The players are athletic. The technical levels of the players and the tactical play of the teams are superb. The play is most often during games comprised of thoughtful build ups. Intelligent play is a hallmark. My fervent wish is that the play of our club teams and national teams aspire to firstly attain such levels of play and then to surpass them!

The JFF and our Club leaders may have their preferences of style of play but they could do worse than taking a look at successful world club teams and successful national teams and how those entities arrive at on-field preparations of players and teams that maximize on maintaining and improving standards of play.

Our team managers as practical fact disband our teams out of season and or after tournaments. The successful teams keep the teams playing matches - preparations continue. To win you must know the game. It is hard work to get to the pinacle of world football, but to get there you must understand that game within the game.

Source: http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?id=227

Karl, weasel yourself out of this one if you can. However, your post is quite clear!