Finally! A bright spark in the JFF's U-21 Competition!

• Finally! A bright spark in the JFF's U-21 Competition!

The only problem is - he is not Jamaican.:angry:

Lawrence Smith, from the USA, debutted for Harbour View's U21 team today with a Wayne Rooney impression, blasting the first 4 goals in HVFC's 10-0 victory over Wadadah this evening.

Showing excellent technique in dribbling, ball control, shielding and shooting, Lawrence had the crowd chanting his name when he was subbed in the 2nd half, visibly limping.

His 3rd goal was a peach. Using some space that had opened up on the left as his teammates drew defenders, Lawrence dribbled into the penalty area and unleashed a torrid left-foot shot into the far right corner. It should have come as no surprise to the Wadadah goalie as the first goal was almost identical.

As his teammates finally got onto the score sheet as Wadadah capitulated, Lawrence appeared to sit back a little. But he could have scored his 5th when he was sent through on goal. However, to the astonishment of everyone, his shot went well wide! Well, even Rooney has off days!

It says a lot about our football when someone like Lawrence can come into a HVFC side that is leading the U-21 competition and dominate. Yes, it was Wadadah, but it is clear to me that this player has the goods! Not one salad, not one unnecessary body shift, not one pile, but he takes 6 shots to goal and scores 4. Indeed, after just one game, he almost equalled the competition's leading goalscorer, Mitchily Waul, who had 5 goals at the beginning of the game, and added one more today. Oh, and just before he started his assault on the Wadadah goal, his own teammate was heard saying that Lawrence was too slow. Luckily, not all of them felt that way. In fact, many don't believe he has even begun to extend himself.

You will be hearing a lot more about Lawrence Smith!

RE: Finally! A bright spark in the JFF's U-21 Competition!

Mosiah (10/29/2006)The only problem is - he is not Jamaican.:angry:

Lawrence Smith, from the USA, debutted for Harbour View's U21 team today with a Wayne Rooney impression, blasting the first 4 goals in HVFC's 10-0 victory over Wadadah this evening.

Showing excellent technique in dribbling, ball control, shielding and shooting, Lawrence had the crowd chanting his name when he was subbed in the 2nd half, visibly limping.

His 3rd goal was a peach. Using some space that had opened up on the left as his teammates drew defenders, Lawrence dribbled into the penalty area and unleashed a torrid left-foot shot into the far right corner. It should have come as no surprise to the Wadadah goalie as the first goal was almost identical.

As his teammates finally got onto the score sheet as Wadadah capitulated, Lawrence appeared to sit back a little. But he could have scored his 5th when he was sent through on goal. However, to the astonishment of everyone, his shot went well wide! Well, even Rooney has off days!

It says a lot about our football when someone like Lawrence can come into a HVFC side that is leading the U-21 competition and dominate. Yes, it was Wadadah, but it is clear to me that this player has the goods! Not one salad, not one unnecessary body shift, not one pile, but he takes 6 shots to goal and scores 4. Indeed, after just one game, he almost equalled the competition's leading goalscorer, Mitchily Waul, who had 5 goals at the beginning of the game, and added one more today. Oh, and just before he started his assault on the Wadadah goal, his own teammate was heard saying that Lawrence was too slow. Luckily, not all of them felt that way. In fact, many don't believe he has even begun to extend himself.

You will be hearing a lot more about Lawrence Smith!
    Can his rate of production remain high given the coaching environment in which he now finds himself?

What did he learn from his coaches in the US that our coaches are not 'giving' to our players?

Will ourplayers learn from him?

Will our coaches pick his brain and learn from him and improve?

Or because he does not 'pie, salad and drop the shoulder' he will bring cries of 'him nuh good', andor, 'wi cyaan learn nutten fram im', and or, 'im cyaan teach wi nutten'?Will we use him?!

Whichbrings us to Tappa? Is Seba using him to ape training methods or at the very least, incorporate some of the training methodsat hisformer professional clubs...and, introduce adaptable training methods he experienced under Simoes, Lazaroni, CBthrough to his coaches/managers in England?

<DIV>Wasn't it reported that Tappa was being used in some coaching role at Seba? And please don't forget, despite his greatness, we have no idea how good a coach Tappa is or may become. He was never one to talk much and that could give one a clue as to how much he might enjoy coaching.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Karl, everybody at Harbour View appreciated the efforts of Lawrence Smith. As I said before, they were chanting his name when he was being subbed. I don't recall that happening for even the Great Maestro! So yes, I believe some of your questions are being addressed as we speak. A good player like Michily Waul can indeed learn from him. And hopefully, our coaches will be able to improve his skills day by day and not allow him to stagnate or get frustrated. Indeed, there are already calls for him to be on HVFC's NPL side.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Watch di ride!</DIV>

Suh wid the abundance of talent, the bright spark is an American? Karl, you understand that logic? I tell unuh say unuh a fool unuhself bout abundance of talent. The best way to move forward is to be honest with ourselves.

Whichbrings us to Tappa? Is Seba using him to ape training methods or at the very least, incorporate some of the training methodsat hisformer professional clubs...and, introduce adaptable training methods he experienced under Simoes, Lazaroni, CBthrough to his coaches/managers in England?
          What training methods are you talking about Karl for Tappa? Do you forget that at his previous clubs he was having problems even making the bench? That should tell you something, but no.

OK Karl. I have to edit as I get what you are saying. You are not suggesting that Tappa is not getting adequate training to make him perform. You are saying that Seba could benefit from his experience with all those coaches he has played with in the past. I have to agree with you on that.

You know, if you never use your cryptic style of writing, I would get you the first time.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mosiah how yu so melodramatic man?

Bright spark? The score was 10-0! If a man score 4 goals in a 10-0game then that simply means the team they were playing absolutely sucked.Stap chat as if he was all that and a bag of chips. - T.K.

Lazie (10/30/2006)Suh wid the abundance of talent, the bright spark is an American? Karl, you understand that logic? I tell unuh say unuh a fool unuhself bout abundance of talent. The best way to move forward is to be honest with ourselves.
              Thanks to Mosiah for the response...and,I cannot agree with you that there is not abundance of talent. I am thinking it is the use made of 'the talents' and the teaching that 'thetalents' get...the environment within which 'the talents' are being developed...perhaps, I should have said, 'marred' instead of 'developed'...that is our problem.

If the Harbour View environment does not rise to 'catch' this new boy...it then will not be surprising if regression sets in.