• John Barnes? ... I don't think so

John Barnes? ... I don't think so
    On The Sporting EdgePaul Reid
    Thursday, September 18, 2008

For the second time in less than a year, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has once again left many fans scratching their heads after the selection of a technical director.

On Tuesday, the JFF named former England winger John Barnes as the man to take over from the fired Brazilian Rene Simoes.

After the Simoes fiasco it appears the JFF has still not gotten it.

While Barnes was a great player and an all-round nice guy, his résumé as a coach amounts to maybe two short paragraphs. He lasted about half a season in the Scottish Premier League eight years ago as coach of Celtics, and after a record of 13 wins, two losses and five draws was shown the door.

Before anyone points out his 13 wins, it is to be noted that Scotland has basically two teams, Celtics and Rangers. Since leaving Celtics, Barnes has not been able to attract attention from any club in England despite hundreds of managerial changes over the period.

Cynics will say that Barnes was not hired for his coaching abilities but his effect on the sponsors on whom the JFF is still heavily dependent.

The Simoes experiment was doomed to fail from the beginning as it was obvious he was hired for the wrong reasons; he was brought in to replace and hopefully upstage Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic who was hired by the previous JFF administration.

It meant nothing to the JFF bosses that Bora was by far the superior coach with the much better résumé. All that mattered was that anything that bore the Boxhill stamp had to be swept out, regardless.

It is Jamaica's football product and forward progress that has suffered as a result of this knee-jerk reaction by people who we hoped had matured and had the future of the game at heart, as opposed to the need to score petty political points.

Not long after Simoes' hiring, former national striker and cult favourite Walter Boyd said in a television interview that the re-hiring of Brazilian Rene Simoes to be the national technical director was a bad move.

Boyd who had a contentious relationship with Simoes suggested that Theodore Whitmore should be made the head coach with Simoes as his assistant.

In November 2007 when it was obvious Burrell would be returned as president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and the days of Milutinovic were numbered, I wrote that bringing back Simoes would be a backward move as he had nothing to offer our football.

My opinion was based on the fact that Simoes had been away from CONCACAF football for too long, and given the short time, six months, which he had to prepare for our first game in the World Cup qualifying campaign, he would not have the time to take on that job.

Both Boyd's and my opinions were met with derision and scorn. Fast-forward to last week and it is obvious that both of us regardless of our motives, were dead right.

But Burrell surprised many - including myself - when he pulled the plug on this disastrous second coming of Simoes, as not many thought he would have the guts to do it.

Minutes after the end of the 0-2 loss to Honduras in the CONCACAF Word Cup semi-final qualifying game in Honduras last Wednesday, I told a colleague that if Simoes had any shred of dignity he would tender his resignation to the Jamaica Football Federation.

Seems I was not the only one thinking that. Pity Burrell and the rest of the JFF hierarchy had not put Jamaica's football first in November.

Complete Story ...

The article has some good points and some questionable points.I dont think you can judge if John Barnes is a good coach or not based on 19 games in Scotland so i think it might be worth the gamble giving him a chance.The point about Bora is correct,he is a far superior coach to Simoes.His record speaks for itself, he was sacked to score political points.This Administration should have kept his service and maybe we would've benefitted from the ground work he had done.

Who was going to pay Bora that hefty salary?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Having Bora in JA is a waste. Pay all that money for one man and his camera.

Great coaches dont come cheap,so thats why we have got to give lesser coaches a chance.We just cant afford to keep paying these astronomical wages.

Celtics? A wha dat?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
              Great coaches dont come cheap,so thats why we have got to give lesser coaches a chance.We just cant afford to keep paying these astronomical wages.

I am not following you Dunny. I n your earlier post you said the JFF should have kept Bora, now you are saying something contrary. Which is it?
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Celtics LOL. Is which journalist go write that?

Karl, is Reid credible and unbiased when it comes to Burrell?

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                    Dread...are you new to the forum? Reid has no love for Burrell and anything relating to Burrell at all !!!

Even the Captains bread is not spared !!

now dat is some serious bias...because dat is some GOOD bread!!

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                        Do not think so!
                        ...but his (Reid's) heart is in the right place! He loves his sports...and football is one of them...besides a mi fren!

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                          Dread...are you new to the forum? Reid has no love for Burrell and anything relating to Burrell at all !!!

Even the Captains bread is not spared !!
                          LOL!!!

I believe from a coaching perspective, Bora = good for Jamaica. From the money angle, Bora = no good for Jamaica.
                            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                              I believe from a coaching perspective, Bora is good. From the money angle, Bora = no good.
                              But your equation now is : good coach = money