The Squad

Sass, Nosworthy is good...at least good enough to figure into Keane's Sunderland plans every week, in one of the most competitive leagues in the world. Presently the only other "defender" we have who plays in the EPL is Bibi. And yes, I am saying that Nuggsy is better than some of our defenders. There's no doubt that I rate Granny, Pepe and Stew Peas among our best defenders, but I don't see where the others are any better than Nuggsy. And yes, the fact that Nosworthy plays in the EPL says as a lot too!

Are we the fools of CONCACAF? All other teams in our region include big league players in their squad, yet we are behaving as if we have a larger pool of players than our CONCACAF neighbours, hence we have the luxury to ignore players receiving quality training and experience on a weekly basis. We saw where that folly landed Rene Simoes.

There was a time, back in the halcyon days pre-WC-98, when I would not agree with recruiting UB40 players. In fact I was a staunch opponent of that practice. But I have seen the prudence of drafting players from the entire Jamaican diaspora. Nuggsy is one of ours and the smart thing to do now is to cap him before England does. It does not hurt to go ahead and cap him, nor do we have to call him for every game if we are concerned about ignoring other players for him.

"The constant argument" is because some of us cannot see the sense in ignoring a good player. Jamaica is no soccer powerhouse with a vast amount of resources and an abundance of ready players to select from. We may have 25 Adus in Jamaica but not all are experienced enough to handle the craftiness of the international scene. We may continue to ignore a defender of Nuggsy's stature but do we benefit by doing so?
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

right..and what is your source Mosiah? Give us a link nuh?
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Do a likkle research nuh man! Is google mi google it y'knuh!

Nevermind Mosiah. It looks like you dont know how to copy and past a link.

I have been researching, and I have come up with VERY LITTLE. Not even the country's football federation website is working.

http://www.fafutebol.com/
          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

ok. thought I read something this week saying he would be out for up to 6 weeks. Must have been an old article.

Are you an agent ??

First is Onandi Lowe.. now yuh tek on Teafore Bennett.. yuh tink is 1 man duh dis ting ? I mean if it was a Zidane like player mi coulda unnastan.. but yuh really getting ridiculous now.. Teafore Bennet gwine determine if wi win or lose ?

Yup... thats the ticket... Gardner in the midfield general role...

LOL! WHOEE !!

Gardner lucky him mek di squad after his last 2 outings..

While I believe Nos is good and should be capped, when is it we are going to settle down and realise that we have to build a team? Not only call the next player who seems to be playing good in England?

We currently have no foundation and structure in place. Everytime we lose there is a list of players who would make us win. I won't forget our Gold Cup in Florida that was a disaster. We lost to Columbia because Gayle hit the crossbar with a header that a baby could score, and Frank Sinclair gave away the goal that was scored against us. We keep on looking for savior as we did with Jason Euell the last time around.

We need a plan and a system in place and when these players come in they are not gods, just to make our team better. I am not against any UB40s but the constant bickering as if we pick 11 of them without good training and system in place we will go anywhere.

Yes him playing week in week out makes him better than most but guess what? If he comes in and make a mistake the same man dem a go cuss and say him did a rux. These players are only great because them not in the squad currently.

Right now my concern is where is the program going now? Is Barnes going to make us England light? We can always find a player in the lower leagues with some Jamaican connection or we can further develop more Rudy Austins with a few players from overseas or wait until qualifiers again and see who is in England. I hope Mr.Barnes Address this and not just think about his future after the year he signed for.

Don't get me wrong i support Barnes but I have to voice my concerns from early and I also believe in getting the best players but more than all I believe in developing our talent.

Well said sar!!!
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Why bring in 4 strikers when it is only 3 strikers we are likely to use in ths game. Where is Khari Stephenson, Jason Morrison or Andy Williams. Khari Stephenson would make a difference against the mexican with his physical presence and height. Dane Richards is not fully recovered yet from his injury but I guess it is mobay thing. Why was Claude Davis in the squad before ifhe was not injured. Will he be ok by the mexico game. So Evan Taylor and Jermaine Hue is no longer capable for this squad anymore.
                      I guess mexico a get 3-0.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                        Because them don't have half a brain!
                        And you have more than that dont? What you fail to understand is that club football and international football are two different things.

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                          You knocked your head, and you are inconsistent. Just the other day you were crying shame on Chris harvey for being a useless defender for Joe Public, now you are calling for his inclusion in national squad. And to top it off, you are calling for Austin's omission.

Wolf in sheeps clothing.

I asked you to post the comments from the thread where I allegedly made those claims about Chris Harvey and you have yet to do so. I wonder why? Could it be because I never said that? When you find it let me know.

Furthermore Austin is a decent player but he isnt ready for international football yet. He is young and can eventually make that transition. What you fail to understand is that club football and international football are different. If you need a good example just look at Ricardo Fuller and you'll get your answer.

We don't have defensive mid player that is ahead of Austin. If he is not ready, no one in our team is ready.

I have nothing against putting a foundation in place where we can produce better technically prepared players. I am all for the academy route but we are talking about something else right now. Both can co-exist - the academy and recruiting of good players. I see no need to use that argument to counter the stupidity of ignoring a player of Nuggsy's abilities.

But while we are on the subject of putting a "foundation and structure in place," let's not fool ourselves in believing that an academy will take us to the top of the world. It will go a far way in helping our football but every single factor (including recruiting a finished product) will help. Bolivia has the best youth academy in the western world and yet they are at the bottom rung of South American soccer. In the Caribbean, Cuba has one of the best academies and yet they are struggling. My point is that it will take every single force from different areas to forge a group that will be able to consistently beat top teams.

Yet, it seems like ah suh di ting set, so yuh know wha' I'm gonna leave dis one alone. I will withdraw my comments. They can leave out Nuggsy. The reggaeBoyz loss will be England's gain. No need to call him, we have at least 20 defenders much better than him. Not only that, is farin mind mi farin mind. Peace out!
                              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

"Yet, it seems like ah suh di ting set, so yuh know wha' I'm gonna leave dis one alone. I will withdraw my comments. They can leave out Nuggsy. The reggaeBoyz loss will be England's gain. No need to call him, we have at least 20 defenders much better than him. Not only that, is farin mind mi farin mind. Peace out!"

Farmah wha dat fa? Mi and you a reason and you done mi respect fi you concrete.

Listen man every week I see you provide a worthwile list of players who is missing and you do a better job than any other. The fact is for some of us it is like a broken record come qualifiers. The fact is a system have to be in place to look at players and not have them come in practise for 2 days and play in a qualifier, not knowing their teammates. Some a di rux are actually good players who have not adjusted to their team(reggaeboyz)Yes they did a bad job and miss out on him but it was the same thing last time with Euell.

It is not anything about foriegn mind and mi nuh hold them chat deh brethren. Nos would be a welcome addition and not a savior to our sive of a defense. There are however many others on this site who is just calling NOS name because he is playing EPL and have never even seen him play.