• The Squad

Whitmore Puts his stamp on national squad

Interim National coach Theodore Whitmore wasted little time in putting his stamp on the Jamaican team that will be under his charge for World Cup qualifiers against Mexico and Honduras on October 11 and 15 respectively.

The former national standout, now in his second stint as interim coach chose a squad which saw a massive overhaul from the previous ones selected under the watch of former Technical Director Rene Simoes. The man who scored Jamaica’s two goals in the country’s historic win over Japan at the world Cup finals in France 1998 recalled no fewer than eight players who had not featured for Simoes.

Chief among the players called in are forward Marlon King, midfielders Jermaine Johnson, Oneil Thompson, Jamal Campbell-Ryce and Omar Daley as well as defenders Claude Davis and Damian Stewart. Midfielder/forward Dane Richards and forward Omar Cummings have also been recalled.

The trio of King, Daley and Campbell-Ryce were not recalled after the Bahamas qualifiers. King, who played in the first leg against the Bahamas, Daley, who tasted action in both legs and Campbell-Ryce who was present but did not see a single minute of action against them.

Thompson, who plays in Norway, last represented the country against Guatemala and El Salvador in November 2007. Dane Richards who also played in those games have not donned the national colours since.

Johnson played as a substitute against St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago as well as Grenada in the matches leading up to the qualifiers against the Bahamas but did not selected for the squad to face the Bahamas. Damian Stewart on the other hand last represented the country in February against Costa Rica while Omar Cummings had a promising cameo against Canada on August 20 but was not invited for the Mexico and Honduras matches.

Consistent with the faith shown in the recalled players who played an exciting brand of football for him in his first term as Interim Coach when he had wins over Guatemala and El Salvador, Whitmore has again teamed up with veteran coach Bradley Stewart.

Stewart, who is regarded as one of the better football minds in the country, has been associated with a number of local clubs such as Duhaney Park, Rivoli, Arnett Gardens, Hazard and Waterhouse in different capacities. He is also a former coach of the then Jamaica Juvenile team and was also actively involved in the development of Women’s football in the country.

The players will arrive in the island between Sunday October 5 and Monday October 6, 2008 for the games which will now be played at 7:00pm. Ticket prices will remain the same but for Bleachers which has been reduced to $1,000.00.

Walter Enrique Quesada Cordero of Costa Rica will be the man in the middle for Jamaica’s crucial game against Mexico. He will be assisted by compatriots Leonel Leal Bermudez and Osvaldo Luna Gutierrez with Vinicio Gerrardo Mena Solano serving as fourth official. Trinidad and Tobago’s Osmond Downer will be the Referee Assessor while Hugo Salcedo of the United States has been given the assignment of Commissioner.

For the Honduras game four days later a Trinidad and Tobago quartet will be in
    charge. Referee Neal Brizan will be assisted by Michael Ragoonath and Simon Baptiste. Victor Moore of Barbados will assess the referees while Victor Hugo Estrada Barrios is the assigned Commissioner.

Jamaica’s Full Squad: Goalkeepers – Donovan Ricketts, Shawn Sawyers; Defenders - Ricardo Gardner, Ian Goodison, Claude Davis, Damian Stewart, Tyrone Marshall, Jermaine Taylor, Shavar Thomas, Demar Stewart; Midfielders – Rodolph Austin, Demar Phillips, Oneil Thompson, Jermaine Johnson, Omar Daley, Wolry Wolfe, Jamal Campbell-Ryce; Forwards - Ricardo Fuller, Marlon King, Luton Shelton, Dane Richards, Omar Cummings.

That squad looks good.

Jermaine Hue out of the squad. I would have had him in the squad, but if he is going to be playing a 4-4-2 and mainly be attacking through the use of wingers like his last stint, I understand his omission.

where is Tefore Bennet , the only man to put a goal past the number 1 ranked team in concacaf for the past 10 years on its way to WC mind you, came for the bench to light up the Gold Cup.

If we want the best why isnt the best there ? why isnt it being questioned?

Our forward line is weak without the Best.The man deserves his call and it must be questioned why he isnt included, we have 2 games in the sapce of a week ample time to call and use the man, if we cannot afford plane fare for the man from Africa how can we afford plane fare for the journey of the team to Africa?

Where is BENNET ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

No HUE ?!!!..WELL same results..

Where is BENNET ?

In Angola !! yuh nuh hear !!

X,

I don't think the local press thinks as highly of Bennet as you do, so I don't expect to hear any big buzz about his omission.

Originally posted by Me View Post
              That squad looks good.

Jermaine Hue out of the squad. I would have had him in the squad, but if he is going to be playing a 4-4-2 and mainly be attacking through the use of wingers like his last stint, I understand his omission.
              Ok. So if attacking down the wings is not working, what do we do then?
              No real midfield player that is able to take control like Hue does....

Good to see several of the players I picked in my team team being called up here. JJ, Claude Davis, Campbell Ryce, Shavar Thomas, Damion Stewart, Wolfe, D. Phillips and Daley. I think Austin, Fuller and Cummings should be dropped. Christopher Harvey should have been called up.

The surprise omission is Teafore Bennett. He should have been called up also.

No surprises for me. We have just drawn for the same old team that was in place before Simoes arrival. No one could be bothered to invite our best defender, Chris Harvey. But, I guess Tappa tasted success with that team when he coached the side to victory in 2 friendlies. So, he is comfortable with them, and I guess they are comfortable with him.

But, in a sense, I would rather have it this way. It puts to an end the endless debate about whether Hue should be there or not. It should put to an end the ridiculous debate about whether Nugsy and a whole heap of new UB40s should be there or not.

One question for the JFF - does Johnny Barnes get to choose his own team for the 3rd and final match in this round?

This is a joke right , tappa had two victories against lesser mortals , in a practice match , pre WC qualifier , the weakest teams in concacaf, whom mind you exposed weaknesses in his team and he calls the same guys against WC ready adversaries in 3 must win games .

Is this a joke ? This isnt a friendly against the weakest link in Concacaf .Where is Bennet ? the only man to put the net in the #1 team in concacaf on its way to a WC , on the road !in forgein soil !

THE QUESTION MUST BE ASKED, that said it says alot about us as fans and journalist.

BTW where is Hue ? He seems to make an impression when called upon to play , a good one a that.

WHERE IS BENNET ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That makes it okay ? man buss the net against the USa and the journalist nuh care ?

A wonder why is it because he plays in an AFRICAN league ?

Support!

Support Almshouse!

So how the man them nuh satisfy wid the team now?

unnu shouldn't complain. Nuh the best 11 them say?

Me nah complain, one question mi have though is who is the central attacking midfielder?
                            Last edited by Assasin; September 20, 2008, 10:44 PM.

Warlord sey im woulda drop Austin, if a laff a pop up. Warlord explain why yuh woulda drop a player like Austin. Mi not even a guh touch de Fuller "drop" part cause some ites dun convince demselves dat fuller nuh ready. But drop Austin bredrin? Yuh lick yuh head ite?

Anyway, Tappa look like im call up a decent squad, however, I don't think it was necessary to call up all these right-sided midfielders(Campbell-Ryce, Dane Richards, JJ, and OD) and leave out both Andy Williams and Jermaine Hue. I would have left Campbell-Ryce in England(still recovering from injury) and bring in either Andy or Jermaine. But i see where Tappa going with this squad. I think he has convinced himself that Bibi Gardner can play the "midfield general" role. Cannot say I agree with him but he's the one with the head coach crown and weary is the head that wears that crown.