• 16 foreign-based Boyz home bound, says Burrell

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sports Editor
    Saturday, September 20, 2008

MORANT BAY, St Thomas - Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell says he expects at least 16 overseas-based players to be invited for Jamaica's crucial CONCACAF World Cup games against Mexico and Honduras next month.

Burrell did not name these players, but said the country's most experienced players will be on parade when the Reggae Boyz tackle CONCACAF giant Mexico on October 11 and Honduras four days later at the 'The Office' in must-win games to rekindle their fading World Cup campaign.

"We will have our big team, all the experienced players will be here. I understand that for these two games, a total of 16 overseas-based players are going to be flown to Jamaica and they want to perform for Jamaica like they have never performed before," said Burrell in his address to the St Thomas FA awards ceremony held in the parish capital Thursday night.

With the Boyz in with only a mathematical chance of advancing from Group B of the CONCACAF Semi-final play-offs, Burrell continues to ooze unbelievable optimism that the Boyz will be victorious in the remaining home games, which also include one against Canada on November 19.

"I have no fear when it comes to that game on October 11, as Jamaica will perform in a way that will blow your mind. The players are aware and believe me that on the day under coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, we are going to assemble 11 players who will destroy the Mexican team at 'The Office', the JFF head said to rousing applause.

Following their three away matches, Jamaica sit at the bottom of the qualifying group with only a point which they earned in a 1-1 tie against Canada in Toronto on August 20, but went down to Mexico 0-3 inside the fearsome Azteca on September 6 and then 0-2 to Honduras four days later.

Those results put the Boyz's campaign for South Africa 2010 on the critical list, but Burrell was not about to give up and executed an immediate shake-up in the coaching ranks when he fired Brazilian technical director, Rene Simoes, and his Brazilian staff.

Simoes, who guided Jamaica to their only appearance at the World Cup Finals in France 1998, was accused of a flawed team selection policy as he consistently left out seasoned overseas-based pros for local-based rookies.

The Brazilian has been replaced by former England and Liverpool star, Jamaica-born John Barnes, who will take up his appointment on November 1 as head coach. Jamaica's World Cup hero Whitmore, installed in an interim position, will pilot the team in the do-or-die fixtures against Mexico and Honduras.

Burrell, on his second watch as JFF president, said Whitmore will no doubt inspire the players to rise above the seemingly insurmountable odds, and they will inspire motive themselves as they are fully aware of the team's situation.

"My dear friends, remember I told you this in St Thomas that the players are going to be very focused because they realise that if we falter, this would badly affect the football programmes," said the successful businessman.

Burrell also called on the people of Jamaica for their full support and urged them to come out in their numbers as they Boyz seek to breathe new life into the gaping campaign.
    "I am challenging Jamaicans to turn out in your numbers to support your Reggae Boyz team and we will be victorious. We, as we aim to fill that stadium, have reduced the price for the Bleachers from $1,500 and $1,000," he said.

Meanwhile, Burrell, whose company, the Captain's Bakery and Grill sponsors the St Thomas Major League, expressed disappointment with the poor discipline of fans and players in the final between champions Springrain Youth Club and Delta Force Youth Club at the York Oval in June.

"I understand last season the discipline was not so good, but I always say that everyone deserves a chance. And I am prepared to give the chance to those who misbehaved, but I will implore you to improve on the disciplinary aspect of things because no sponsor is going to put his money where there is indiscipline, where there is embarrassment, you do that, and sponsors will walk away from you," warned the Captain's Bakery principal.

At Thursday's function, FIFA assistant referee, Ricardo Morgan, who officiated at the Beijing Olympics, was specially honoured. Also retired referee, James 'Jimmy' Palmer, was also recognised for sterling service to refereeing in the parish and beyond.

Other special awardees were Reggae Boy and St Thomas native Demar Phillips, Romaine Bowers and Kavin Boscom.
    Rushawn Mowatt of champions Springrain was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, while Yallahs' Alrick Richards, with 12 goals, took home the trophy and prize money for Leading Goalscorer.

16 foreign-based Boyz home bound, says Burrell

BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sports Editor
    Saturday, September 20, 2008

MORANT BAY, St Thomas - Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell says he expects at least 16 overseas-based players to be invited for Jamaica's crucial CONCACAF World Cup games against Mexico and Honduras next month.
    Burrell did not name these players, but said the country's most experienced players will be on parade when the Reggae Boyz tackle CONCACAF giant Mexico on October 11 and Honduras four days later at the 'The Office' in must-win games to rekindle their fading World Cup campaign.
    President of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and CEO of the Captain's Bakery and Grill, Captain Horace Burrell (2nd left) joins St Thomas FA president Albert Pennant (left) in presenting the Major League trophy to Springrain's Rushawn Mowatt (second right) and Janet James at the awards ceremony held at Village Green in Morant Bay, St Thomas, Thursday night. (Photo: Sean Williams)
    "We will have our big team, all the experienced players will be here. I understand that for these two games, a total of 16 overseas-based players are going to be flown to Jamaica and they want to perform for Jamaica like they have never performed before," said Burrell in his address to the St Thomas FA awards ceremony held in the parish capital Thursday night.
    With the Boyz in with only a mathematical chance of advancing from Group B of the CONCACAF Semi-final play-offs, Burrell continues to ooze unbelievable optimism that the Boyz will be victorious in the remaining home games, which also include one against Canada on November 19.
    "I have no fear when it comes to that game on October 11, as Jamaica will perform in a way that will blow your mind. The players are aware and believe me that on the day under coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, we are going to assemble 11 players who will destroy the Mexican team at 'The Office', the JFF head said to rousing applause.
    Following their three away matches, Jamaica sit at the bottom of the qualifying group with only a point which they earned in a 1-1 tie against Canada in Toronto on August 20, but went down to Mexico 0-3 inside the fearsome Azteca on September 6 and then 0-2 to Honduras four days later.
    Those results put the Boyz's campaign for South Africa 2010 on the critical list, but Burrell was not about to give up and executed an immediate shake-up in the coaching ranks when he fired Brazilian technical director, Rene Simoes, and his Brazilian staff.
    Simoes, who guided Jamaica to their only appearance at the World Cup Finals in France 1998, was accused of a flawed team selection policy as he consistently left out seasoned overseas-based pros for local-based rookies.
    The Brazilian has been replaced by former England and Liverpool star, Jamaica-born John Barnes, who will take up his appointment on November 1 as head coach. Jamaica's World Cup hero Whitmore, installed in an interim position, will pilot the team in the do-or-die fixtures against Mexico and Honduras.
    Burrell, on his second watch as JFF president, said Whitmore will no doubt inspire the players to rise above the seemingly insurmountable odds, and they will inspire motive themselves as they are fully aware of the team's situation.
    "My dear friends, remember I told you this in St Thomas that the players are going to be very focused because they realise that if we falter, this would badly affect the football programmes," said the successful businessman.
    Burrell also called on the people of Jamaica for their full support and urged them to come out in their numbers as they Boyz seek to breathe new life into the gaping campaign.
    "I am challenging Jamaicans to turn out in your numbers to support your Reggae Boyz team and we will be victorious. We, as we aim to fill that stadium, have reduced the price for the Bleachers from $1,500 and $1,000," he said.
    Meanwhile, Burrell, whose company, the Captain's Bakery and Grill sponsors the St Thomas Major League, expressed disappointment with the poor discipline of fans and players in the final between champions Springrain Youth Club and Delta Force Youth Club at the York Oval in June.
    "I understand last season the discipline was not so good, but I always say that everyone deserves a chance. And I am prepared to give the chance to those who misbehaved, but I will implore you to improve on the disciplinary aspect of things because no sponsor is going to put his money where there is indiscipline, where there is embarrassment, you do that, and sponsors will walk away from you," warned the Captain's Bakery principal.
    At Thursday's function, FIFA assistant referee, Ricardo Morgan, who officiated at the Beijing Olympics, was specially honoured. Also retired referee, James 'Jimmy' Palmer, was also recognised for sterling service to refereeing in the parish and beyond.
    Other special awardees were Reggae Boy and St Thomas native Demar Phillips, Romaine Bowers and Kavin Boscom.
    Rushawn Mowatt of champions Springrain was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, while Yallahs' Alrick Richards, with 12 goals, took home the trophy and prize money for Leading Goalscorer.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I failed where I should not have, says Simoes
      published: Saturday | September 20, 2008

LeVaughn Flynn, Staff Reporter

Simoes
      Former Jamaica [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Football[/color][/color] Federation (JFF) technical director, René Simoes, released what would most likely be his final open letter to the Jamaican public yesterday, a week after he was fired for the poor [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]performance[/color][/color] of the Reggae Boyz in the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]World [COLOR=orange! important]Cup[/color][/color][/color] qualifiers.
      As usual, Simoes was philoso-phical in the circumstances which led to his sacking.
      "In this moment of goodbyes, I believe it is very important that we make and understand a detailed, humble and sincere analysis of the situation," read the opening sentence. "This has always been my attitude in my personal and professional life; of never accepting wins and losses, success or failure without an analysis and final conclusion."
      After easing past The Bahamas in the first round of CONCACAF World Cup qualification, Simoes guided Jamaica to a 1-1 draw with Canada, but then lost 0-3 to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Mexico[/color][/color] and 0-2 to Honduras. All three games were away.
      Selection
      Simoes came under pressure not so much for the losses, but the players he selected.
      Young, unproven players were selected over experienced professionals and they played true to form on the big stage. It was an experiment that went terribly wrong.
      "I'm humbly saying that I failed where I shouldn't have, in the most important aspect of the programme. I am the guilty party," he noted.
      Simoes' support staff - Alfredo Montesso, Chico Santos, Walter Gama and Luciano Gama - was also fired.
      Simoes returned to Jamaica in January, against the advice of friends, he later admitted, to replace Velibor Milutinovic. With the memories of qualification for the 1998 World Cup indelibly etched in his mind, Simoes said he truly believed it could be done again, but that it would take the effort of the nation as it was 10 years ago.
      "My arrival in 2008 was hailed as the return of the messiah, even though I refuted this numerous times, saying that it wouldn't be my return, but a joint effort from everyone that would be responsible for our qualifying again," he stated.
      Simoes, who became known for his 'Jesus Saves' [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]T-shirt[/color][/color] and his constant emphasis on prayer, said the God factor was missing from the 'Back to Africa' campaign.
      "Placing Jesus in the front and in command of the programme again would be the essential factor for success. This was never done," he said. "We never focused on talking about Him. We didn't follow the steps we had taken in the past, creating integration with the needy and offering time and prayer. We trusted that we, or maybe I alone, would be the great architect of our return to the top of the world."
      Needed comfort
      After the 0-2 loss to Honduras, Simoes returned directly to Brazil, as he said he needed to be with family and friends. He clearly needed comfort after the regretful circumstances under which he left his "second adopted home".
      "I'm sorry I couldn't make you happy again, but I hope you understand that, like you, I also make mistakes and I have to learn that life is an eternal learning ground," said Simoes.
      "I could try now to give a series of excuses and explanations for you to look at me differently and not lose the admiration you had for me. But, that would be conceit."

More Sport

E-mail this story

Print this Page

Letters to the Editor

Most Popular Stories

addthis_url = location.href; addthis_title = document.title; addthis_pub = 'gleaneronline';
      window.google_render_ad();

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

NPL launched with great expectations - Clubs face harsher penalties for missing games
        published: Saturday | September 20, 2008

Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

Mark Linehan (left), CEO of Digicel Jamaica Limited, hands over a cheque to Captain Horace Burrell (centre), president of the Jamaica [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Football[/COLOR][/COLOR] Federation (JFF) and Edward Seaga (right), chairman of the Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA), during the official launch of the Digicel Premier League, at the JFF headquarters in New Kingston yesterday. Looking on are JFF general secretary, Horace Reid (second left) and Gary Allen (second right) deputy [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]managing [COLOR=orange! important]director[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] at the RJR Communications Group. - Rudolph Brown/Chief [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Photographer[/COLOR][/COLOR]

Bigger fines and heavier penalties will be in place for teams that fail to honour their [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]fixtures[/COLOR][/COLOR] in the upcoming season of the Digicel Premier League, which kicks off tomorrow under new title sponsors Digicel.
        The league which, will benefit from the mobile providers pumping in $150 million over the next three years, was officially launched at the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) headquarters in New Kingston yesterday.
        Better year
        The league had been postponed for the last two weeks while the Premier League Club Association (PLCA) and the JFF ironed out contractual issues. However, with that resolved, president of the association, Edward Seaga, was glad to get things under way.
        "We are really looking forward to a better year for the clubs, a better finance. We look forward to putting them on the field without some of the heartache they have had to endure," he said.
        While satisfied with the collaboration between the JFF and PLCA in the formation of a joint organisation, Seaga made it clear that the PLCA would continue to operate much in the way it had last season.
        "Just so that there is no confusion in respect of the roles, the PLCA will continue to operate in the manner that we have in the past year," Seaga explained.
        President of the JFF, Captain Horace Burrell, also gave the new sponsors a hearty welcome.
        "There is no doubt that the premier will benefit tremendously from their association with Digicel," Burrell said. "This season will no doubt be bigger and better looking and we anxiously look forward to it's start."
        Mark Linehan, CEO of Digicel, also looked forward to the collaboration.
        "Jamaicans are passionate about their football. So are we, so it gives us great pride to sponsor the premier league," he said.
        Concern
        Although there have not been any changes to last season's format, amendments to section seven, articles six and seven of the rules and regulations could prove a source of concern for would-be delinquent teams taking part in this year's competition.
        If a team does not report for a match, except in the case of extenuating circumstances recognised by the JFF, the guilty team will face an increased fine of $50,000.
        However, in addition to the increased fine, the team will also have six points deducted and forced to pay an additional $75,000. That decision will not be subject to appeal.
        Appeal
        Unlike previous years, however, some other rulings arrived at by the competition's committee will be subject to appeal.
        The issue really came to the fore last May when a now relegated Seba United failed to show up for a game against a struggling Reno. As a result, Reno were awarded the points and Seba were fined $30,000, and the teams in the relegation zone had thought the ruling to be inadequate.
        Other changes to the premier league package this season will separate and clearly define areas for fourth officials, match commissaries and the media.
        In addition to several promotional packages for sponsors and fans that are geared towards courting increased interest, the title sponsors will implement three new awards. Prizes will be given out to the most improved player, best goalkeeper and player of the year.
        In terms of coverage, [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Television[/COLOR][/COLOR] Jamaica, which holds exclusive rights to the event, is also promising a much-improved package, which should be enhanced by the new digital outside broadcast vehicle the station is expecting to get in the next couple of weeks. In addition to Digicel, Nike, Wata and Joma as official gear sponsors, have also come on board. Details of the prize money are still being finalised.

More Sport

E-mail this story

Print this Page

Letters to the Editor

Most Popular Stories

addthis_url = location.href; addthis_title = document.title; addthis_pub = 'gleaneronline';
        window.google_render_ad();

Where is Tefore Bennett? Can any journalist ask where is the man that put the ball in the net past the USA , who was on thier way to the WC ?

Where is the only man to put the ball in the net past the #1 team in concacaf in the last 10 years ?

If we say we want the best then where is BENNET ?

Our Journalist and fans need to ask Burrell & Tappa ?
          Last edited by Sir X; September 20, 2008, 08:57 AM.

Mr Barnes' profile working already......Farrin bwoys deh pon standby !
            “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Mr. Bennett is in angola dieing to get a call from the JFF; he is so eager to play for country it is not funny...

How much to fly him home?

Originally posted by pHoQrY View Post
                Mr. Bennett is in angola dieing to get a call from the JFF; he is so eager to play for country it is not funny...

What is the route home? Angola to New York to Jamaica?

The back to Africa thing nuh wuk with football.