Dunny, I might have missed it, but what do you think

• Dunny, I might have missed it, but what do you think

about Johnny Barnes' appointment as national coach? If anyone should know the Jamaican players playing in England (UB40s included), it would be Barnes. I know that should be important to you. Such knowledge could prove invaluable for us too!

This thing might be better than we thought. The only problem is, we might be eliminated before Barnes can put that knowledge to good use.

The captain has given all the best reasons why Barnes was selected. But I had to wonder, given those reasons, why wasn't he chosen years ago?

And by the way Dunny and Warlord (and others), thanks for your team choices. I shall post mine soon.

Barnes himself said he wasn't ready for the job 4 years ago.

Boxhill had the chance but I can understand why he tried Bora over Barnes.

Everything happen now for the right reasons. Barnes will not have Bora or Simoes looking over his back. We realise that "miracle" alone can't help us and Big name TDs are not what they are hyped up to be.

about Johnny Barnes' appointment as national coach? If anyone should know the Jamaican players playing in England (UB40s included), it would be Barnes. I know that should be important to you. Such knowledge could prove invaluable for us too!

This thing might be better than we thought. The only problem is, we might be eliminated before Barnes can put that knowledge to good use.

The captain has given all the best reasons why Barnes was selected. But I had to wonder, given those reasons, why wasn't he chosen years ago?

And by the way Dunny and Warlord (and others), thanks for your team choices. I shall post mine soon.
      I endorse the appointment i think it could work out as a positive for us.There is no doubt in my mind that John Barnes is astute tactically because i have watched is expert analysis on TV for years,he likes football to be played on the floor so Jamaicans will appreciate that. He as got a lot of contacts in the game in England so i'm sure he could help our better local based players to get contracts in the UK.He should be aware of the players who are qualified to play for Jamaica and should have easier access because he is respected in the game over here.One thing i must say,talking on TV and actually motivating and getting the best out of players are two different things,I wish John all the best i hope he is successfull.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
        He as got a lot of contacts in the game in England so i'm sure he could help our better local based players to get contracts in the UK.
        Does he have contacts in the "Home Office", which decides on the work permits ?

Originally posted by Twan View Post
          Does he have contacts in the "Home Office", which decides on the work permits ?
          Work permitt's will look after themselves,the rule is there for everyone not just Jamaica so we need to start winning games and improve our ranking.

He should be aware of the players who are qualified to play for Jamaica...
            If John Barnes is going to look thru family trees and choose a bunch of UB40s to play for us, I'll be the first person to drag a old fridge onto St. Lucia Crescent. Chuss mi!

There are many negatives to Barnes being appointed to the head coaching position. I wont get into too many specifics of what I know of him but I will say this...he is better served as a scout for the federation but not as a coach. Too many people here are too emotional about this appt as was the case when Burrell brought back Simoes and we all know how that ended.

If John Barnes is going to look thru family trees and choose a bunch of UB40s to play for us, I'll be the first person to drag a old fridge onto St. Lucia Crescent. Chuss mi!
                I dont think John Barnes is silly enough to do that,if he is gonna get UB40 players in the squad it should be players who is gonna make a big difference and i wouldn't advocate more than 5 in squad.

I don't care if they make a difference. We cannot go on building a national team by including people who have no idea about the country they represent and who might not even really want to represent it. Dem coulda good like gold! Are home-bred Jamaicans incapable of learning? Spend time on them!

I dont think John Barnes is silly enough to do that,if he is gonna get UB40 players in the squad it should be players who is gonna make a big difference and i wouldn't advocate more than 5 in squad.
                    Is this the same Dunny, now advoacting " 5 in a squad"? when it comes to UB40's?

yuo are always bickering about something. How about suggesting someone who might be a better coach? you had a problem with Bora, then with Simoes, now with John Barnes. Who would you give the job to? Also, you have expreseed your displeasure at the side called up for the next set of games...who are the players you think should be included (we know you want Harvey there, but who else?) and while at it, please explain why you think Chris Harvey is a rux when playing for Joe Public in T&T, but deserve to be on theJamaica national side.
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Simoes (and Bora before him) showed us that our local players(ones based in the NPL) are not ready for international football. The Davian Thorpes, Evon Taylors, Woodbines etc would have been better served spending time in our under-20/under-23 programmes where they would be developing their game over the years, before making the step to the senior team.

The national senior team must have the BEST players available at all times, even if it means 10 UB40 players. Let the under-17 and youth programmes serve the purpose they exist for. If countries like Nigeria (Carlton Cole) and Ghana (Junior Agogo) can be scampering to cap players "ub40s", why should we ignore ours? Something tells me many countries would be glad to be in our position.
                        President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Omar Daley, Damien Stewart, Ricardo Fuller, etc, are not UB40s. UB40 are those like Nugsy and Marvin Elliott and others we are hoping will hear the call to play for Jamaica.

I am not gonna fight against you and your principles,however i beleive if my son wants to play for Jamaica and was good enough he should be given the opportunity,likewise the Noswrthy's,Elliott's and King's of this world.

King nuh get him chance?

Second hand report is that if the coaching staff tell King the sky blue, him say it green so Rene must have seen that. We should demand behavior from these UB40s who are representing us instead of cussing the coach for taking disciplinary actions. Ja is not a club team and if your son or my son nuh have nuh behavior I would not recommend that they play for the country of my birth.