• Simoes' Final Letter to the Jamaican People

MORE OF YOU, LESS OF ME

16 September 2008

Dear Jamaicans,
    In this moment of good-byes, I believe it is very important that we make and understand a detailed, humble and sincere analysis of the situation. This has always been my attitude in my personal and professional life; of never accepting wins and losses, success or failure without an analysis and final conclusion.

In 1997, in a radio show, Simon Crosskill asked why we had qualified for the World Cup, and my answer was immediate: Because God had been in command at all times. Surprised, Simon stated: “Fine, this means then, that God wasn’t in Costa Rica or El Salvador or Canada.”

Of course God was there, He just wasn’t in charge of the programme. All honour and all glory would not have been given onto Him if those teams had qualified. But in our case, it was. We had handed all the power over to God, we prayed, and we trusted that He would be the difference. After all, He doesn’t always choose those who are the most qualified, but He gives more strength and qualifications to the chosen ones.

I left Jamaica as a hero, and being able to state that He is king and He is all-powerful. People believed this since we had won, and under these circumstances words gain more power and those who hear them believe.

My arrival in 2008 was hailed as the return of the messiah; even though I refuted this numerous times saying that it wouldn’t be my return, but a joint effort from everyone that would be responsible for our qualifying again. But an important fact was left out. Placing Jesus in the front and in command of the programme again would be the essential factor for success. This was never done. We never focused on talking about Him. We didn’t follow the steps we had taken in the past, creating integration with the needy, and offering time and prayer. We trusted that we, or maybe I alone, would be the great architects of our return to the top of the world.

No, please don’t think that I’m trying to get away from taking responsibility for mistakes, wrong decisions, and slapping it all on Jesus’ tab. On the contrary, I’m humbly saying that I failed where I shouldn’t have, in the most important aspect of the programme. I am the guilty party.

But, since God doesn’t let us finish anything without a lesson or without His name being exalted, once again, He is using me, breaking me, and disciplining me so I may be his faithful follower. He now wants me to keep on saying: “JESUS SAVES”, Jesus loves you and loves me also. He hates sin, but loves the sinner and is ready to forgive him. He wants you to hear from my mouth now that I am in the position of a loser, the same words you heard when I was in the position of a winner. You need to know that for Him, we are more than winners (conquerors), when we follow Him.

I could try now, to give a series of excuses and explanations for you to look at me differently and not loose the admiration you had for me. But, that would be conceit, and like running after the wind. I’m not important. He is!

I’m sorry I couldn’t make you happy again, but I hope you understand that, like you, I also make mistakes, and I have to learn that life is an eternal learning ground.

Jamaica will always remain my adopted second home, you will always be my dear brothers and sisters, I will always be ready to defend you and talk about the abundant love I received from you. You are strong and have great potential. Together you are almost unbeatable.

May Jesus in His infinite love and mercy continue to bless this country.

René Simões
    Last edited by Mosiah; September 19, 2008, 11:00 AM. Reason: Letter was resent with revisions

The man has lost his mind.

I wish he would discuss x"s and Os.. just go away quitetly with the bull ****************.

What a great, respectful man.

On the contray he has found his soul, so he came so he left with jesus.

Thank you Rene, may the lord be with you.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nice person, bad coach.

Suh yuh mean Jawge fi stop work pon di statue?!

It takes a REAL MAN to write what that letter. And inspite of it all, he is still correct... JESUS SAVES !!..

respect Rene.

Did he really write this?

MORE OF YOU, LESS OF ME

16 September 2008

Dear Jamaicans,
                  In this moment of good-byes, I believe it is very important that we make and understand a detailed, humble and sincere analysis of the situation. This has always been my attitude in my personal and professional life; of never accepting wins and losses, success or failure without an analysis and final conclusion.

In 1997, in a radio show, Simon Crosskill asked why we had qualified for the World Cup, and my answer was immediate: Because God had been in command at all times. Surprised, Simon stated: “Fine, this means then, that God wasn’t in Costa Rica or El Salvador or Canada.”

Of course God was there, He just wasn’t in charge of the programme. All honour and all glory would not have been given onto Him if those teams had qualified. But in our case, it was. We had handed all the power over to God, we prayed, and we trusted that He would be the difference. After all, He doesn’t always choose those who are the most qualified, but He gives more strength and qualifications to the chosen ones.

I left Jamaica as a hero, and being able to state that He is king and He is all-powerful. People believed this since we had won, and under these circumstances words gain more power and those who hear them believe.

My arrival in 2008 was hailed as the return of the messiah; even though I refuted this numerous times saying that it wouldn’t be my return, but a joint effort from everyone that would be responsible for our qualifying again. But an important fact was left out. Placing Jesus in the front and in command of the programme again would be the essential factor for success. This was never done. We never focused on talking about Him. We didn’t follow the steps we had taken in the past, creating integration with the needy, and offering time and prayer. We trusted that we, or maybe I alone, would be the great architects of our return to the top of the world.

No, please don’t think that I’m trying to get away from taking responsibility for mistakes, wrong decisions, and slapping it all on Jesus’ tab. On the contrary, I’m humbly saying that I failed where I shouldn’t have, in the most important aspect of the programme. I am the guilty party.

But, since God doesn’t let us finish anything without a lesson or without His name being exalted, once again, He is using me, breaking me, and disciplining me so I may be his faithful follower. He now wants me to keep on saying: “JESUS SAVES”, Jesus loves you and loves me also. He hates sin, but loves the sinner and is ready to forgive him. He wants you to hear from my mouth now that I am in the position of a loser, the same words you heard when I was in the position of a winner. You need to know that for Him, we are more than winners (conquerors), when we follow Him.

I could try now, to give a series of excuses and explanations for you to look at me differently and not loose the admiration you had for me. But, that would be conceit, and like running after the wind. I’m not important. He is!

I’m sorry I couldn’t make you happy again, but I hope you understand that, like you, I also make mistakes, and I have to learn that life is an eternal learning ground.

Jamaica will always remain my adopted second home, you will always be my dear brothers and sisters, I will always be ready to defend you and talk about the abundant love I received from you. You are strong and have great potential. Together you are almost unbeatable.

May Jesus in His infinite love and mercy continue to bless this country.

René Simões
                  .... So it was an act of god?

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                    It takes a REAL MAN to write what that letter. And inspite of it all, he is still correct... JESUS SAVES !!..

respect Rene.
                    Yes but he (Jesus) does not select the team nor the tactics but why bother with details.

Yeah..weather you all want to accept it or not..GOD is in control...

Not Simoes, not Burrel, Not John Barnes, not Mexico, or even the ppl here..

Thank you Prof. simoes for your
                        work. You are ahead of your time here. You sought to instill discipline and
                        build a team of quality, right now it's short term goals.

I had similar issues with my team once: One of my best players got in a fight in a state cup game, I immediately called a meeting and suspended the player. Would you believe that the next Match day, players and players brought the suspened players uniform in a bag, hoping that I would call on the palyer? Our society is rife with indiscipline and we seem to condone lawlessness. In team sports; if discpline is abesent the team will crack easily under pressure from quality opposition.

Thanks again Prof. Simoes.

Let me pray that the lord will open Tappa's eyes to the fact that he is not wanted or appreciated by his own country.

HUH?
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yeah, yuh confused. If Tappa
                            or di prof did go STETHS, everything would be crystal clear.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                              JESUS SAVES !!..
                              Who name suh?