• Klinsmann interested in coaching US national team

<DIV id=printReady>

Klinsmann interested in coaching US national team
    published: Sunday | October 29, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

NEW YORK (Reuters):

JURGEN KLINSMANN says he is open to coaching the United States national soccer team.

"Absolutely, I'm interested," Klinsmann told Friday's New YorkTimes. "I kind of needed some time to reflect after the World Cup.

"I've been in touch with Sunil (Gulati, president of the United States Soccer Federation, USSF) and had several conversations, all very positive.

"Right now, I'm trying to do my homework, talking to people to find out more about how things work in the U.S."

Klinsmann, the former Germany striker who coached his country to the World Cup semi-finals this summer, currently lives in California, and is believed to be the top candidate in the USSF's worldwide search for a replacement for long-time coach, Bruce Arena, who stepped down in July after eight years in charge.

According to the Times, the USSF has discussed the vacancy with some of soccer's biggest names, including former England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson, Luiz Felipe Scolari, Guus Hiddink and Gerard Houllier.

Two Major League Soccer coaches are also believed to be under consideration, Canada's Frank Yallop, who coaches the Los Angeles Galaxy and Peter Nowak of D.C. United.
    </DIV></DIV>

RE: Klinsmann interested in coaching US national team

I think it is a done deal...excepting that the demands of Klinsmann is sticking in the throat of Gulati. Gulati, I believe,being the ego-tripper he is is finding it extremely difficult to allow Klinsmann the freedom Klinsmann demands to run the USA National TEAM organisation.

Gulati will see the light..wake up and fall in line with Klinsmann requests.

In 2010 a USA under Klinsmann'sguidance will make the former exploits will look like puny efforts.

jamaica would have more of a dilemma than america if those are indeed the candidates!

Gamma (10/29/2006)jamaica would have more of a dilemma than america if those are indeed the candidates!
        Yuh seit!