Referee Uriah Rennie...

• Referee Uriah Rennie...

Is he a part of the premiership this season?

He is the only black ref in the Premiership that I am aware of...
    Rennie was born on October 23rd 1959, and began refereeing 20 years later in local leagues, before progressing to the Football League in 1994, and the Premier League in 1997.

He was promoted to the FIFA list in January 2000 but at the end of that season lost his place on the Premier League list due to poor performance.

He regained his place in time for the 2001/02 season and is still there to date. His term on the FIFA list was ended in January 2005 due to him reaching the retirement age of 45.

He is one of the worst referees I have ever seen.

Originally posted by Me View Post
      He is one of the worst referees I have ever seen.

.... Yuh better hide ... cause dem goodly accuse yuh of racism.

New castle FC will like you for that comment:

Rennie’s name is one which strikes terror into any Newcastle fan, just like his fellow South Yorkshireman Trelford Mills did in the 1980’s.

Our record with him is appalling, for of 16 games we have lost 9 and won just 3, drawing the other 4, scoring just 16 goals and conceding 26. 14 of those games were in the Premiership, giving us 3 wins, 4 draws and 7 defeats, and 6 of those were at home, resulting in 2 wins and 4 defeats.

He has shown 3 red cards in Newcastle games, 2 of them to us, 1 of those being at St James Park, and 1 to the opposition away from St James. He has awarded 3 penalties in our matches, 2 of them to us, 1 of which was at St James’ Park, and 1 to the opposition away from Tyneside.

He averages 1.7 yellow cards per game to us, and 1.4 per game to our opponents. Our best win with him in charge was 3-1 over Wimbledon at St James in November 1998, while our worst defeat was a 3-0 reverse at Arsenal in an FA Cup Quarter Final Replay in March 2002.

The highest scoring game of ours he has been involved in was a 4-3 loss at Bolton in December 2002, with the lowest being a quartet of 1-0’s, only 1 of which we won.

I agree,Rene is not a very good referee,i think he has benifitted from being black.

In the games I've watched himofficiate--Rennie appears to do a good job.

Just that we tend to set higher stsndards for some folks compared to 'others'.

Somebody get the smelling salts, kwik! HL, a you dat!!?

i just think Rennie does a good job.

he is no different than any other ref.

I like the fact that he tries to make the game flow through some kinda rough but ""fair"" tackles.

most of the other refs are no better.

Graham Poll for example who was one a England best had some very bad games too.

Worst referee ever. The year he got relegated from the EPL I have never seen anything that bad. Not MLS, NPL, Manning Cup.

Assasin we over-due for a link.

Will be doing so shortly!!

If him that bad, whe the rest a black ref them deh fi take him place?

yeah man

Rest of black ref?

self fulfilling prophecy.....promote a mediocre ref if he fails use him to paint the rest.

nfl did it with black coaches for YEARS many capable and qualified coaches were continuosly overlooked same thing with black qb's even AFTER doug williams won the superbowl.....but as dunny said there is no racism just keep knocking and the doors will open...