Marlon King clears the air.......Rene Simoes thin Skinned!

yes.. king .. link me pon the us.. showcase thing nuh..

As a coach you are doing something right when players are frustrated about playing time.

I will state it again: that the call for UB40's was the root of the impasse. This is not a guess, nor what I hear on the street corner or the parks. Boyd did well during group the qualification stage leading up to the hex; and I believe he had about 5 goals in those 12 games. The problem began after the first four games of the Hex. Jamaica was doing badly, sitting at the bottom of the tables after four games. During those four games Boyd fell off his form and could not hit the side of a brick wall. Simoes called a group meeting and told the players that he was contempleting recruiting some players from England. He said that he needed better players (and strikers) for the team to secure one of the three available spots. He stated that players will now lose their spots on the team. That was when Boyd, Nandi and Boopie voiced their opinions. Boyd was the more opinionated of the three and things fell apart from that point onwards, as Simoes did not take kindly to being opposed by Boyd. The rest is history as the heated war of words between him and Simoes culminated in Boyd saying that simoes: "wan't play God inna mana life." This was translated into Boyd being "indisciplined," etc. Simoes consequently and subesequently dropped Boyd. (I may add that the final reason to drop Boyd came after Boyd did not show for a mandatory sports meeting or wards show, and Simoes saw that as the last straw.)

It was only after numerous radio calls, Boyd paying his way to NY to see a ReggaeBoyz game, pleading with Simoes for a second chance, and a second team vote that Rene relented and included The Pearl.

Marcus, that was a time when I was privy to certain vibes within the camp. In those days, before nuff man even started follow RBZ games I was sometimes one of 5 or maximum 15 Jamaicans flying into Central American hellfire to watch games. Mi naah ask no questions. Whether or not yuh waan belive it, the so-called Boyd "indiscipline" became the talk of the town and player-coach relationship spiralled downhill after Simoes told the players that he was going for UB40 players and that local players would now lose their places on the team. Get hold of one of those players back then and they will give you the real scoop.
        Last edited by Farmah; September 16, 2008, 02:28 PM.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

No wonder the captain gi Simoes the bullet,how can you banish a player for showing dissapointment when taken off,most managers would love that in a player. I have always said that Simoes only like yes men around him, he cant handle people who have an oppinion.

King should shut up! He played in the TT game and missed a bundle of goals!

Lets end his international playing career for it.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                King should shut up! He played in the TT game and missed a bundle of goals!
                Every striker have bad games even the best

mi leave a IM for you from a week ago.

you can link me at 845 3803732.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                    I think King talks too much.. Yet they are always players who are Troublesome and you have to find a way to deal with them as they can make your team win.
                    And that is where Simoes failed as a manager. He should have called King into his office and let him know that he run things and let him know that in future he should not question his decisions. That said, King would know he is walking the thin line with Simoes.

To just cut the man and not call him back even for crucial games is tantamount of a captain who is willing to see the ship go down even if it means punishing key members of his team. Foolishness that.

Simoes allowed his ego to get the better of him in situations like these.

Don't think I am supporting King, but the coach has the responsibility to make sure he is putting our best eleven on the field at all times. When you see you are through to another level of the competition which consists of 4 good teams and only two will go forward, to not call your best and most experienced players is total madness.

Simoes had to go. I wonder what has happened to Jawge?
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Simoes had to go. I wonder what has happened to Jawge?
                      Spoke to Jawge twice during the last week - Wuk a kill im!

Yes, things can be tough in that salt mine of his.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

True....but some simple ones. Also, saw him score 3 against Haiti.

Burrell and the rest of the J.f.f administrators or either idiots or hypocrites..

How could you all leave out King for just giving a comment ..I wonder who else was left out by giving an opinion.

Where in any reports, broadcasts or commentaries was it ever said that Mr Burrell and the JFF were involved in King's absence from the team? As far as all reports go, King and others were ommitted from the team solely on the decision of The Prof. His insistence to include inexperienced players at the expense of King et al is one of the reasons why we are now in this predicament, and also why that coach is now back in Brasil.
                              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

We need to find another Onandi Lowe, when he was in his prime, not the nowadays pop dung Lowe of course. Lowe use to rip di net apart bwoy. Those were di days.