What has John Barnes ever achieved as a coach?

From the Wikipedia entry, History of Celtic F.C.

John Barnes

The 1999-2000 season is widely considered to be one of the biggest disasters in the club's history. Kenny Dalglish returned to the club to fill the general manager's post (which had been vacant all throughout Vengloš' tenure), while the head coach position was filled by former England and Liverpool player John Barnes.

Barnes had never managed a professional club, and the fans' worst fears were realised when Celtic's title challenge drastically faltered shortly after the winter break. Following a series of poor results - including elimination from the UEFA cup and a broken leg in Lyon for Henrik Larsson - Rangers dramatically increased their lead at the top of the SPL table and demands for Barnes to be sacked commenced.

On 8 February 2000, Celtic hosted a rearranged Scottish Cup tie at home to Inverness Caledonian Thistle. Caley Thistle were an in-form side, fourth-placed in Division 1, although only in the Scottish Football League since 1994, and the match was widely expected to be an easy victory for Celtic. However, Caley Thistle won the match 3-1 in one of the biggest Scottish Cup upsets ever, which sparked a protest involving over a hundred Celtic fans outside the stadium. The memorable headline in The Sun newspaper the following day, attributed to a junior sub-editor read: "Super Caley Go Ballistic, Celtic Are Atrocious". Having refused to speak to the press after the match, Barnes held a press conference the next day, and implied that a dispute between him and Mark Viduka at half time had badly unsettled the team and been responsible for the defeat. Barnes was sacked the following morning.

Kenny Dalglish took over as head coach until the end of the 1999-2000 season, and brought Tommy Burns back to assist him. While Dalglish generally retained the respect of the supporters, Celtic's league form deteriorated further and the club finished 21 points behind Rangers at the end of the season. A League Cup victory over Aberdeen was the only consolation in one of the most embarrassing periods of the club's history.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
      Bradley won an MLS league title with the Chicago Fire, as well as the US Open Cup twice, before being hired to coach the USA.
      The problem with this is the MLS is just a little better than the NPL. Point is Bradley won trophies in a just about the bottom of the barrell league.

Barnes was fired before the season ended. And placing second in a two-team league is nothing to write home about.
      The problem with this later saying is any of the teams Barnes faced in his two team league would have whipped today' much improved MLS teams....and the title winning teams Bradley coached twice on any Sunday!

Orange to Apple comparison, Zeppo!

mmmm?
      Wonder if you are getting worried about the USA losing ground to the Reggae Boyz in the not too distant future

If The Captain follows through and Barnes spends upwards of 4 years with the Reggae Boyz the USA and Mexico could see their dominance in CONCACAF threatened.
      Last edited by Karl; September 16, 2008, 10:28 PM.

What you mean no comparison? Did Van Basten have the same problem with Ruud about playing time? Did Klingsman have a problem with the two goalies?

Lazie people are people and coaching is about managing people no matter what level.

You cannot be serious. You're saying that is the same comparison coaching quality players like like Miroslav Klose, Michael Ballack, Torsten Frings, to coaching players like Evon Taylor, Austin, Cummings?

JB resume has nothing on it except coaching at Celtic and lets face it the SPL with the exception of Celtic and Rangers dont have enough quality teams on their level.

the question was are they professional?

What unnu forget was when Klingsman took over Germany was VERY bad but how soon your forget.

zeppo, if you are an honest broker you would probably also take into account that since then, coaches have begun coaching with bad results or even worse and they have coached continually since.

is it the fact that he was fired from celtic enough for him not to be given a coaching job for 8 years? and it's not like he hasn't applied. furthermore, it's not as if it was YOU who effed up at celtic. as a professional player john barnes deserved a little more respect than that.

btw yuh almost blow yuh cover...did i say "almost"?

Why was Bruce Arena fired from the US Job?
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

the question was are they professional?

What unnu forget was when Klingsman took over Germany was VERY bad but how soon your forget.
                If you play "professional" in the third division in a European league vs "professional" in a top tier div like the premiership, Bundesliga, Seria A or La Liga is very different kingman. Do you understand what the term " professional" means?

And when was Germany bad in the last decade?

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                  What record of failure? the man record shows him winning more games than he lost with celtic.
                  Winning in SPL where only two teams compete in a league that quality wise is poor says something. You cannot base success on that. The facts are that he was sacked and havent coached anywhere else. Not even at a div 1 or League 2 side.

No one hired him. Even Paul Ince coached a few places at the lower level before entering the premiership this season.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                    Winning in SPL where only two teams compete in a league that quality wise is poor says something. You cannot base success on that. The facts are that he was sacked and havent coached anywhere else. Not even at a div 1 or League 2 side.

No one hired him. Even Paul Ince coached a few places at the lower level before entering the premiership this season.
                    So, because no one hired him for so long, that is evidence of failure?

You maybe correct.

PBANTA

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                        If you play "professional" in the third division in a European league vs "professional" in a top tier div like the premiership, Bundesliga, Seria A or La Liga is very different kingman. Do you understand what the term " professional" means?

And when was Germany bad in the last decade?
                        ..decade?
                        Cho PBanta tek hit tuh im! Germany has never been "bad" for a very, very long time. Certainly from I started to watch serious football and World Cup football in a serious way i.e. 1966...Certainly if 'appearances at finals' is the benchmark Germany has never been bad.

World Cup - record
                        Quarter-finals 1962

Final match 1966

Semi-finals 1970

Final match 1974 - Champions

Second round 1978

Final match 1982

Final match 1986

Final match 1990 - Champions

Quarter-final 1994

Quarter-finals 1998

Final match 2002

Semi-final match 2006

Bad...Germany?

When Klingsman took over they were a bad team. The were losing games with not so respectable scores. Even the US beat them bad.

Warlord is a Division 3 player a professional? Do you have to be playing for a top tier team to be a pro?

Just in case unnu forget

sIFR_callback_0_DoFSCommand(info, args);Rudi good riddance

By FRANK PRAVERMAN
                            Published: 24 Jun 2004

RUDI VOLLER has quit as Germany coach after their humiliating failure at Euro 2004.

The former World Cup winner stood down this morning following his side's abject 2-1 defeat to the Czech Republic.
                            With Holland beating Latvia last night as well, it meant the Germans came third in Group D.
                            Voller, 44, said: “I have the feeling that only someone who is untarnished and has a certain credibility, like I had four years ago, can do the job over the next two years.
                            “I had a lot of credit when I started four years ago.
                            “It's important for the DFB and the players to have someone at the top who can protect the team.
                            “Carrying the load of a first-round exit, this would have been very tough for me.
                            “Our team is intact. I can't blame the players, everything was fine. But sometimes that isn't enough.”
                            Germany failed to win a game at Euro 2004.
                            A 1-1 draw with bitter rivals Holland offered hope of a decent tournament.
                            But they followed that with an embarrassing 0-0 against footballing minnows Latvia.
                            And last night's shock 2-1 loss to the Czech's reserve side was the final straw for Voller.
                            Germany did not win any matches at Euro 2000 in Holland and Belgium either.
                            But Voller added: “This cannot be compared to the debacle four years ago.
                            “We had our chances but it's disappointing to lose against a second-string Czech team. Despite all the dedication, it was not enough.
                            “I will neither sulk nor emigrate. I'll certainly take some time off now but I will definitely continue to support the team from the stands.”
                            Germany host the 2006 World Cup finals but this throws their preparations into disarray.
                            German federation president Gerhard Mayer-Vorfelder said: “He told us it was not a spur-of-the-moment decision taken just after the game.
                            “We regret this decision very much but we have to accept it.”

Seeit, deh nuff man weh a talk figet dat.

zeppo, if you are an honest broker you would probably also take into account that since then, coaches have begun coaching with bad results or even worse and they have coached continually since.

is it the fact that he was fired from celtic enough for him not to be given a coaching job for 8 years? and it's not like he hasn't applied. furthermore, it's not as if it was YOU who effed up at celtic. as a professional player john barnes deserved a little more respect than that.
                                Let me state that I had been warning about hiring Barnes if it was going to be the solution for getting Jamaica to the Hexagonal, as many here thought was going to be the case.

As I said, with Jamaica's unstable position in the table, and only 3 games left, it would have been extrememly unwise to bank on someone as a saviour with a coaching résumé that is so short on experience and so devoid of success. He is still a question mark, and right now Jamaica cannot afford to have a question mark in the hot seat.

At this moment in time I doubt that there is anyone who knows the current Jamaica squad better than Tappa. He was the best choice for this difficult job of managing the 3 remaining games. It's not an ideal situation for anyone, but who else would be better equipped for it than he?

But now let me state that, by hiring Barnes with a view for the long term, the JFF has made a very good decision. Because of his life and history, I don't think that there was a candidate better equipped to bridge the gap between the home-grown Jamaican players and the UB40s. I imagine that he will command the respect of both of them. And having Whitmore by his side can only add more balance to the situation. With some time and patience, good things can certainly happen.

BTW - I never disrespected John Barnes as a player. He was a great fooballer and a class act. Everyone knows that.