plus it was unfortunate as most of his best players were out injured.
What has John Barnes ever achieved as a coach?
How did Klingsman come into play for Germany? or Van Basten for Netherland.
None of them had the credentials to be the best coach for either teams.
You could reel of a long list of coaches who had experience to beat them but it never happen that way and their teams performed.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post1 question: how many black coaches have ever been in charge of a Scottish and how long have they last?
...and look at this...yes it is down the road, but perhaps when I said that was then and times have changed I am speaking more on hope that addressing the current reality?
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news4.html"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Assasin View PostHow did Klingsman come into play for Germany? or Van Basten for Netherland.
None of them had the credentials to be the best coach for either teams.
And let's just suppose for a moment that Barnes' early dismissal at Celtic was not entirely his fault (a player's revolt, etc.).
It would still leave a big question mark as to whether he was a competent coach or not, because he has not held a job since then.
Jamaica's current situation in qualifying is very unstable, to say the least. The margins for error are razor thin. So don't you -- at the very least -- want a coach with some kind of record of success and experience??Last edited by Zeppo; September 16, 2008, 01:12 PM."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Mi nuh understand you guys. How many good coaches you know didn't fail at sometime in their career? See Big Sam had an impressive career at Bolton and what happen at Newcastle? See the former Trini coach failed and restarted his career in Trinidad, today he is in charge of Poland.
Bradley the current US coach failed at Metro Stars and placing second in the SPL is not bad in my books.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View PostWhat record of failure? the man record shows him winning more games than he lost with celtic.
As already stated by Me, the team crashed out of the UEFA Cup in the early rounds and then was humiliated in the Scottish Cup by a tiny lower division team.
Ask any Celtic fan whether they think Barnes was a success there."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Regardless of any social tension, player not wanting a black man or anything else, John Barnes coaching stint at Celtic was a flop. Quite simple.
Unu can make all the excuses you want, he has not shown anything as a coach. Would he be a very good coach for us in the long term? I have no idea.
Originally posted by Zeppo View PostSo then why was he fired?
As already stated by Me, the team crashed out of the UEFA Cup in the early rounds and then was humiliated in the Scottish Cup by a tiny lower division team.
Ask any Celtic fan whether they think Barnes was a success there.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSee Big Sam had an impressive career at Bolton and what happen at Newcastle?
That alone differentiates him from Barnes.
See the former Trini coach failed and restarted his career in Trinidad, today he is in charge of Poland.
And you want to compare that to Jamaica hiring Barnes?!
Bradley the current US coach failed at Metro Stars...
...and placing second in the SPL is not bad in my books."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."