• Blatter says 2010 World Cup will stay in South Africa

Blatter says 2010 World Cup will stay in South Africa

SYDNEY, Oct 29 (Reuters) - FIFA president Sepp Blatter has dismissed suggestions the 2010 World Cup could be moved from South Africa to another country, insisting the event will proceed as planned.

Rumours have been circulating in the media for months that FIFA were looking for an alternative host country because of concerns South Africa had fallen hopelessly behind in their preparations.

But Blatter, in an interview broadcast on Australian television network SBS on Sunday, said the speculation was wrong and the tournament would remain in South Africa.

"They will be ready, no problems they will be ready," Blatter said.

"The plan C and B in my opinion is still South Africa."

Australia had been suggested as a possible option after local soccer officials announced they would be willing to take over the running of the 2010 tournament, but Blatter said Australia would have to wait their turn.

The 2014 World Cup has already been promised to South America, leaving 2018 as the earliest opportunity Australia could even lodge a bid to stage the tournament.

"Australia shall be an option for organising the next World Cup after 2014," Blatter said.

"Australia can also be an option to take one of the big youth competitions of FIFA, for instance the under-20 World Cup.

"This is now something that Australia should be attached to... but definitely not from South Africa."

Updated on Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 1:41 am EST

RE: Blatter says 2010 World Cup will stay in South Africa

Bwoy Hortikal while I would love to be proven wrong and ridiculed on this topic the only people I have heard so far that sounds confident about S. Africa being ready in time are Sepp Blatter and the S.A. officials. It is going to be a very interesting development. The good thing for fifa is that they can hold off for a good while as the US can get this thing done in a short time if they choose a switch. Infrastructure is a hell of a thing and S.A. just not ready at this point. I am not as confident as Sepp I must say. We'll see. - T.K.

Well TK, the money is in place therefore it should not be too difficult for the physical plants and other infrastructure tobe put in. Hey! South Africa has 3 years to go.

Well if they can keep the majority of the event aroundCape Town, Port Elizabeth, Durban, and Pretoria-Johannesburg (forgive any spelling mistakes) they could get it done. I am sure that is what Sepp and the SA government have in mind. Security can always be supplemented from overseas. The transportation, lodging and security are the three major concerns. To be honest if you don't have all three of those you are in trouble. Keep our fingers crossed. - T.K.